All member reviews for Beauty and the Beast

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

The ultimate makeover story has strong, positive messages.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 105 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bymoviefan115 January 23, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

One of the best Disney films ever

This movie is great for everyone! It's got entertaining songs, impressive visuals, and characters that not only show positive messages, but they are lovable. My two only complaints are that it might be scary for younger viewers, and Beauty and the Beast should have won Best Picture! This truly is a great film. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old January 22, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Dazzling, with a few bad moments

I've been watching this movie over and over on a DVD since I was four, but with my mom fast-forwarding the scary parts. When I saw it in theaters with my 3 yr old sister and 7 year old brother, I was re-enchanted— but also had some concerns. Not so much about the violence, but about the brutal ways of Gaston and his abuse and blackmail of Belle, which, no matter how strong and smart Belle is, is NOT a positive message. My three year old sister took the violence well, covering her eyes and later commenting, "The beast was soo scary, but he got nicer and nicer and then he was nice!", but not all young kids would be OK with it like she was. But overall, I remember looking up to Belle as a four-year-old, as a strong girl who adored literature, and now I think that she is a better role model than ever, even if she does have a little bit of the Disney princess body type and looks. I've loved this movie for a long time, and in 3D it's absolutely stunning! Not to mention the fun songs and tender moments. Worth it— but be prepared to cover your kid's (or your) eyes.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old January 21, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

wow...

yeah...Im not into this stuff , so.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 19, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

nice movie

its a very good movie i love it
Teen, 13 years old Written bycarlisle706 January 18, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Disney classic

This movie is a disney classic. It is totally fine for young kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byCantresitthefluff45 January 18, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Even better in 3-D!

Great movie in 2-D. But even better in 3-D!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byFairyTaleParent January 17, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Fairy Tale Fantastic!!!!!

This movie is great. The story line is absolutly fantastic. It is different than other fairy tale stories because it truly stresses the importance of loving someone for their personality. Other stories, like Cinderella, while great, seem to stress the importance of just "getting the prince." Beauty and the Beast stresses the importance of understanding the people around you and no matter what being true to yourself.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written bylextaplex January 16, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

For all ages

I thought this movie was great for kids, teens, and adults! The music is great, and the whole movie was made well! its a must see for the whole family.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byDaddy HammboneGOLF January 15, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

BEST DISNEY ANIMATED MOVIE

This is the best Disney animated movie. Wonderful music, animation and story. The ballroom scene is magnificent, and the detail is stunning. I took my children to see this three times when it came out, because I couldn't get enough.
Teen, 13 years old Written bylittlemonster98 January 14, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Disney Movie goes a little overboard

I know that this is a kids movie...but it is very violent, for a disney movie. Plus it is rather scary and has some drinking in it. For older kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old January 10, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Beauty and the Beast is good

Good for anyone
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byBieberFreakinFever January 10, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

The Beast Will Scare Young Auidences

I love this movie, it's one of my all time favorite. Its has strong positive messages about doing whats right and focuses on the inner beauty in people. The beast is in some parts terrifying, so not for kids 3 and under.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Parent Written bymichelleyan January 7, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

the fillm of beauty and the beast

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bylmtrav December 28, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Timeless

If you haven't seen this movie, go do it right now. You are missing out.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Educator and Parent of an infant year old Written byFosterFan December 21, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Belle, misunderstood feminist icon

Belle is the best Disney Princess ever. She READS, she's kind, smart, doesn't give in to peer pressure and doesn't wait for her prince to rescue her. Instead, she sacrifices herself for her father, and she actually gets to know the man she loves before marrying him. Some people say Belle is a bad role model for girls, because she teaches them that, by staying by the side of the man she loves, he will change. But they both just met halfway, because Beast had to improve in order for Belle to love him. So, no, I don't think Belle's a bad role model, in fact I think she's one of the great feminist icons Disney has ever created.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written bykamiekirk December 16, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Should have been PG, not G rated. Disappointed with sexuality contained within.

Most parents and teens would balk at my rating, but having just watched it for the first time, I had an issue with how sexual the maid was with Lumiere. Also, the scene in which the villager is plucking her feathers resembles rape, which was extremely upsetting for me to see in a children's movie. Besides the issue with the maid, there were many women who had tons of cleavage. As a Disney movie, the sexuality was pointless and really bothered me. It should not have been rated G, it most definitely should have at least been rated PG for the sexuality alone, despite all the violence in the movie. There are parents who don't want to show their young children sexual things, as they are, in fact, children. I may be a teenager, but I would definitely not show this to my children until they were at least ten.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bygrizmaster1981 December 13, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A couple scenes of the beast makes this film iffy for the little ones

The fact that the beast scared me a couple times when I was a child makes this film iffy for little kids. The beast has violent outbursts and also how gaston treats belle making him a bad role model for boys learning how to treat women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 3 years old November 19, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byraquelp1234 November 6, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Watch this

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bypurplebaron October 30, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Disney Classic!!

This movie is awesome, a true Disney classic! The only problem there are some scary scenes (wolf attack, villagers attack, etc) but it should be ok for all kids 7 and over, maybe ok for some kids 5 and under.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages