All member reviews for Beauty and the Beast

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

The ultimate makeover story has strong, positive messages.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 103 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byIsaac T January 6, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A fun movie with some violence.

This movie is fun to watch, but it has a somewhat dark climax. Belle is in love with the Beast (which almost everyone knows) and her crush leads a mob to murder him. The resulting battle is quite intense. Yet there are very positive messages, like the fact that it's never too late to repent and that "beauty is found within." Personally I thought the creepiest character was not the Beast, but Monsieur D'Arque. He is extremely sadistic and wretched, and his face always seems to be glowing green. Yet you only see him in two scenes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byHorace Williams December 1, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Amazing Disney classic.

Beauty and The Beast is a masterpiece. The animation and acting are just plain epic. Also, I loved watching it as a kid, I still have the VHS.
Teen, 13 years old Written byanimateddisneyfan November 18, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

one of my favs!

I love this movie! It has a really good story and all the characters are great such as Belle she doesn't want to marry Gaston because all he wants to marry her for is her beauty and none of her other good qualities. And I would TOTALLY recommend this movie! But there are scenes where the beast has some very loud outburst that may scare younger kids but other than that it is one of my FAVORITE animated Disney movies! :)
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written byhelsingmusique November 9, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Take it with a Grain of Salt

If you go digging in ANY disney movie there are going to be severe issues with messages they are trying to portray to children, however one movie is not going to affect how your children see the world. Nature vs nurture debate, which is important because sometimes disney likes to have odd messages, it is important to remember that if you raise your children correctly, any relatively odd messages will not hurt them. Beauty and the Beast (originally called Belle et la Bete) is a fairytale writing in 1771 which is actually very interesting to look up, however this is what disney based this movie off of therefore some of the themes are INCREDIBLY outdated. Also it is disney who likes to convince us that most women are evil so take it for what it is. As a kid's movie it is difficult to debate when we are reading too deep into things, some people have issues with the relationship between Belle and the Beast saying it is abusive, I think this is the point where people are reading too much into it, if this is the only movie your child watches, this could potentially be a serious problem, but I'm gathering your child is watching more movies than this, I do not think it is an issue we need to really freak out about. I mean Twilight has a much more horrifying message to children and few people ever freak out about that. But I'd also like to point out that this movie does have some good to it as well, I mean Gaston is the villain in the movie and he is trying to kill the beast for no justifiable reason other than he's the beast, and also when the beast is kind it also shows you cannot judge someone by how they look, they made him violent and aggressive I personally believe to showcase his frustration with what has befallen him and his human emotions, not to showcase an abusive relationship. That is solely personal opinion there, due to the fact that if you try and think in someone else's shoes, you can sometimes see such fascinating things. It's based on your personal opinions of the movie, but it will not damage your child if they see this movie.
Parent Written byshadesofhappy November 7, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good movie, BUT there are quite a few scary scenes and some disturbing adult content.

Good movie (for older kids) with lots of good songs, but could be quite disturbing for young children. My kids (3 and 5) both had nightmares for about a week after watching this. The scene with Gaston singing about Belle in the pub is extremely violent (and disturbing) with Gaston beating up on his so called "friend" over and over. There are also many intense scenes where the Beast appears angry and quite scary. The closing scene is also quite dramatic and shows the Beast being stabbed with Gaston's knife (blood and all) which is scary and disturbing (and quite frankly, has no place in a movie for young kids IMO). I would not have let the kids watch this movie if I knew about this beforehand.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old November 1, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

i know it's a good movie but...

your company spoils important parts even though parents need to know. SPOILER ALERT! THERE WAS NO NEED TO SAY the part where you said a person dies. anyone can handle this! parents DO NOT need to know about that in your video review.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byTara13 July 3, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Probably my favorite disney princess movie!!

Beauty and the Beast has been one of my favorite since i was a child! Wonderful story, music, and love! Many girls would love this film! Much better and not as scary as Aladdin, Sleeping Beauty, or The Little Mermaid. Just beautiful! Gaston gets a little violent at the end, (trying to kill the Beast), this may scare younger kids under 6 so you may not want to then to see it quite yet, but great for 8+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bySunburst99 May 24, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great movie

This is a really good movie. Belle is a good role model. She's bright and intelligent. Over all she's a very likable character. The Beast is a very well done character. His character development is very well done for the most part. The animation is also very well done. However, the Beast's design might be a little scary for really young children. The message that beauty is found within is a important one. If you're looking for a good family movie I suggest this one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old February 1, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Ups and downs of Beauty and the Beast

Beauty and the Beast is a great movie. However, there are a few intense scenes. For example, the main characters get attacked by vicious wolves. And, it was a bit scary when Gaston (a knife-wielding man) falls into a canyon and meets his death. And I hope that other children will enjoy this film as much as I did.
Kid, 11 years old November 29, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

she is my role model

bell is my favorite princess I love her she is a perfect role model and has a lesson and I love beast better than prince its perfect for young kids
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byMitchell Charleston May 25, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Classic Disney fim.

I love watching Beauty and the Beast. It the second best classic Disney film (with the best being The Lady and The Tramp). It is funny, charming, and has GOOD messages for the kids. P.S. Today is the first day of my Summer vacation. This Summer, i'm going to get a Summer job. Anyways, this is an instant classic. 5 stars for sure.
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, and 9 year old Written bymom2fourgr8kids May 17, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great movie!

To the reviewers worried about the message this movie sends young girls about men and the way they should treat women... How about making sure that Beast isn't a strong role model for your child? Make sure your child sees that dad treats mom the right way - simple fix to the problem with the movie. A brief encounter with an animated movie will not erase what a child sees everyday. Have a quick conversation with your child during the movie (hit the pause button), about how Belle shouldn't let Beast be mean like that, or Beast needs to learn better manners. I mean, really people...
Educator and Parent Written byCommonSenseChristian January 1, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A True Enchanted Disney Rose

One of the best films in the animated Disney canon. Belle broke the traditional princess mold and is a great role model for kids, particularly girls. She's intelligent, kind, and discerning enough to see beyond people's exteriors to their hearts (though the Beast does repulse her at first; we'll get to that in a minute). Her great relationship with her father is also one kids and parents would do well to observe and take to heart. As for the Beast, he provides great discussion fodder about how someone can change for the better, and how we can help people in our lives do that, even if they don't seem likeable. Gaston, for his part, is definitely a villain, but he provides cautionary messages about pride, ego, and shallow-minded thinking. The youngest kids will probably be frightened by a mob scene, as well as the Beast's early frequent roaring. As one reviewer noted, Gaston's villain song takes place in a bar, with the Disney-fied version of the beer and cleavage that entails (younger kids may notice and may not). One other caveat involves the administrator of the insane asylum; his very appearance, let alone his motives, are frightening, and kids may need reassurance he won't harm Maurice or Belle. Otherwise, this enchanted castle is a great place to let the whole family visit.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byadvocatewhat'sright December 30, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Such a classic!

In my top 11. (and I'm a guy!) 9.5/10
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus December 15, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A classic, for sure.

I love this movie! It might be a little iffy for younger kids due to violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old August 17, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Beauty And The Beast

This film sends out a great message that it's your inner beauty that matters.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous May 26, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

One of my all time favourite animated movie

This movie hold a very special place in my heart. How can I explain this movie with one word. Well I can't. It's such a breath taking, spectacular, astonishing and so much more. With it's beautiful music, colour and a great succinct storyline, its a movie that all children should watch.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byOfficial Critic May 15, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great Movie - with action and little violence, and some education

MOVIE INFO: This is one of the best films that Disney ever created. Kids and adults will love it and will want to watch it over and over again. Kids might find some scenes a bit too scary but they should be able to cope with it. VIOLENCE: Low-Medium. Some action, chases and fights. Very few small graphical/bloody scenes. LANGUAGE: None. SEX: Very low. No actual sex, just some flirting and kissing.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 11, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Best movie ever!!

I love Beauty and the Beast! I think it's the best movie of all time! It's absolutely beautiful and has a sweet and simple message: beauty is on the inside. This movie is the first animated movie ever to be nominated for an Academy Award and be put on broadway. It has amazing animation and incredible music. The story is of a prince who was turned into a hideous Beast by an old women (she wasn't selling apples, that's Snow White) who gave him an enchanted rose which would bloom until his 21st year. If he could learn to love another and earn her love in return the spell would be broken. If not, he would be doomed to remain a beast for all time. But who could learn to love a Beast? Belle is a smart bookworm who doesn't fit in in her small town. She yearns for adventure and love, all the time pursued by the annoying Gaston. When her father becomes prisoner to the Beast, Belle bravely takes his place. As Belle and the Beast become closer, with the help of the enchanted servants of the castle, the spell gets that much closer to breaking. I love Beauty and the Beast!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byXxxCookieXxx February 13, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

PLEASEEEE WATCH

People saying that the beast is Belle's abuser and that it isolates girls etc... is totally wrong and is having a wrong input on this movie. The beast is so ashamed of himself of his appearance and thinks he will never find love, but we all know he does. The beast gets nicer to Belle because he is finding hope. The beast is NOT abusing Belle. I highly recommend this movie. It teaches you beauty is found within which is the whole point of not only the movie, but in reality and that's something that's VERY hard to forget in the time we're living in now.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages