All member reviews for Because of Winn-Dixie

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 25 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old March 4, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

great book butchered in terrible movie!

I read this book thinking it was wonderful, and, expecting it to be as powerful and wallop-packing, set out to see the movie. Boy, was I wrong! The movie was TERRIBLE. The storyline was butchered into a watered down canned thing, therefore seeming in my mind like one of those "Christian movies", designed only to teach kids a lesson,so the story is barely there. Not to mention the acting was atrocious. I don't reccomend this movie to ANYONE!
Kid, 10 years old August 28, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great adaption of the book.

Greatest adaption of a book until Percy Jackson!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old January 5, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

good for all kids

Cute but kind of boring if you watch it too many times
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 11, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

8 And Up

Some parts of this movie may scare little kids like when they meet the blind lady, or when the librarian tells the story of the bear breaking in. But over all it's a happy movie.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old August 6, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Well Because of Winne-Dixxie -Opal

10 year old Opal is a new kid at some small town. She has no friends. Her dad is the precher there and that is why she moves many times, but one day she went to the market store that's call Winne-Dixxie. There she finds a dog that smiles? Yes Dear Winne-Dixxie. After finding Winne-Dixxie she learns 10 things about her mother that left when she was only 2 years old. She also finds many friends and learns also the true meaning of friend ship and life lesons. It is is a great movie! i loved it! READ THE BOOK FIRST BECAUSE THERE ARE SOME MISSING PARTS AND ITS BETTER!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byAmericangirlforever August 23, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

"He's My Dog"-Opal

Wonderful Movie great actors nothing to complain about 5 out of 5
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 21, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

great movie

A great mvovie. The movie is about a young girls mother who leaves her and her father and then the little finds a dog and names it winn dixie. I think the story was grand and the content was age a[ropreat for a PG rateing. There is some swearing and two boys constintly insult a girl. For vilonce is that there is little peril and the story talks about deaths a people who were loved.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 15, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

"I Think People Forgot To Share The Joy"-Opal

This Is A great Movie! Its cute, Educational, And th outfits are cute! And its very accurate to the book. I definitely Recommend this movie and the book to anyone!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 30, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Perfect for animal lovers!

I really really love it because I love dogs. She works hard to keep her dog.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old November 28, 2008
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not as Good as the Book.

Teen, 14 years old Written bybandgeekl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

ok

it was a really cute movie. i loved the book. it followed the book pretty good
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Its alright

You don't have to worry about anything not being appropriate.But in my oppinon the movie itself was boring.I watched it with my mother she enjoyed.Maybe i thought it was boring because i was a few years younger.
Teen, 13 years old Written byKatGirl94 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A good family film!

This movie stuck very, very close to the book. There were only three differences that I noticed. There wasn't really anything wrong with this movie. Older kids might not enjoy it as much as younger kids, but if you enjoyed the book, you will LOVE the movie!!!
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 12, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

It's alright

A pretty mediocre animal movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bydancingwithmyself April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A must see movie

It is a heart warming comedy about a girl and her dog.If you like heart warming movies this is a must see movie. your sure to fall in love with it.Buy it on dvd now.

Pages