All parent member reviews for Beetlejuice

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 31 reviews)
age 12+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 year old Written byzareta January 10, 2015
age 7+
 

Amazing

I'm 10 and i thought the movie was amazing. But it's also a little scary, it gave me a nightmare that i was dead and came back to life and had a hard time "living". I suggest you watch it with a parent but nothing else is really that scary. It's an old movie so you can tell everything is fake and are things are made out of clay. I suggest you watch it
Parent Written bywittymom November 1, 2013
age 14+
 

Not for 9 year olds

You should be aware that during the movie BeetleJuice has a brief reference to him masturbating. Also - there are several references to suicide, one being the daughter wishing to die and another with a beauty queen who shows that she slit her wrists. My child immediately picked up on this and wanted to know if you could die that way. Uggg. There are several scenes with a man who has clearly hung himself as he is still attached to the noose. There are several curses in addition to the one mentioned by common sense. I was really taken aback when all these negative things occurred as I wasn't expecting them based on the previous reviews.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byBringBackCleanMovies October 21, 2013
age 18+
 

This is NOT a PG Movie

This is one of my all time favorite movies, but really nobody under 18 or older should see this. There is a reference to suicide with the receptionist, Juno the case worker is a heavy smoker with her throat slashed. the daughter Lydia wants to commit suicide, and beetlejuice is very perverted, gross and crass. He has a foul mouth and is self proclaimed murderer in the name of pest removal. Not a good movie for any kid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 August 28, 2012
age 18+
 

beetlejuice

Families can talk about why Lydia was so sad. How did she deal with it, and was her way of coping effective? How do you deal with it when you're sad? Also, what do you think of this bizarre take on the afterlife? What other movie depictions can you think of? Which is the most outlandish?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written bychristian-witness June 28, 2012
age 10+
 

poor

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 14 year old Written bysecx November 2, 2010
age 6+
 

shivering moments of a crazed movie

:D i saw it an i shiverd
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 2, 3, and 8 year old Written byMom0f4Blessings September 15, 2010
age 8+
 

Not For Tiny Tots

This movie does have the f word-once, but it is still there so I wouldn't let little ones watch it.It is classic Tim Burton-Creepy and a little odd but oddly comfortable and a great movie.My son loves Beetlejuice and I think the couple in this movie sends a good message with the love they have for Lydia.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 1, 3, 8, and 10 year old Written byJacobyShaddix32 January 2, 2010
age 9+
 

good movie

good movie to see with the older kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bybrennafly April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

creative, original movie

I think that this movie should be ages 10 plus. If parents watch this movie with young children they should be ready to censor. (there is 1 f word) I really enjoyed this movie, it's very different from anything else out there. I thought it was very funny and an overall good movie. Be careful of the age of the child though, the characters are scary looking.
Adult Written byBobslob April 9, 2008
age 0+
 

Beetle juice is a movie you want to see!

Michael Keeton and his pals have a ball when he comes back to life in this funny movie. He has to teach two other dead people how to act in the afterlife. They end up learning to live with the new people who live in their house and they sing and dance a lot. Im amazed that this movie was made so long ago!

Pages