All member reviews for Beetlejuice

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 73 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old October 27, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A favorite

One of my favorite movies I saw it one night on tv and i saw it on netflix it is a awsome movie I love Tim Burton . This movie is a little inappropreate for little kids. But kids ages 8+ will be able to watch it. If you don't mind creepy things you are good to go. Good for a Halloween movie marathon.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobinrunner March 26, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

a halloween movie made for mature audiences

Beetlejuice swears a lot. While first meeting two of his customers which are the main charecters he quickly touches the woman while her husbands not looking. She later calls him a p*rvert. The ghost-couple try to scare another couple by woo-ing and moaning, and the daughter thinks thier having you-know-what and tells them to keep it down. A woman smokes a ciggerate, and the smoke from it comes disgustingly out a slit in her throat
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old March 24, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

no no no for under 9

humor is good but hard to understand and crude. also could creep out some people. still its good!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byfree_weezy May 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
u cherifff person waterver u make a big deal bout lil thing beetlejuice is not that bad ( coming from a girl that that watched it at 9 years old)
Kid, 12 years old January 26, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
BeetleJuice is a fun film it is extremley fun and a large laugh hhowever the f word is usually expected in a 15 so atleast people know what to expect before they watch it also the scene where barbera rips her own face off made me jump when i watched it for the first time but it was just unexpected.furthermore i reccomend this and i think everyone who has children 12 and above should watch it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old October 23, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Teen, 17 years old Written bydavyborn September 5, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Incredibly imaginative, but dark and crude

Beetlejuice is classic Tim Burton: ingenious production design, incredibly imaginative, original and darkly hilarious. While Beetlejuice is a little easier to take in for younger audiences than Edward Scissorhands or Sleepy Hollow, it still shouldn't have been rated PG, and when I think of it, the PG-13 rating was around back than so that is a bit baffling. What makes it a strong PG rating is mainly the extremely dark story and the humor, which ranges from black to crude to sexual in a blink of an eye. The biggest reason of why it should have been rated PG-13 though, is the F-word which should have ensured the rating. Still, it's a great movie that most teens with a dark sense of humor should love.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bySpielberg00 June 25, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

The most hilarious horror-comedy ever; perfect for Halloween. On the other hand, this is far too much for a PG rating, even for 1988, because younger kids won't understand the humor and will only be scared. An absolute must-see for audiences that can handle.

My rating: PG-13 for frequent black humor involving creepy images/frightening scenes, brief smoking and some language. [NOTE: This film, like a few other 80's films (i.e. Spaceballs, Big) pushes the PG to the extremes. It has one F bomb used, but unlike the two listed films, it has a creepy sensation that could give kids nightmares--I really thought they stopped giving creepy movies PG ratings in the late 1970's or the early 1980's.]
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byHorror and sy-fi fan April 23, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Good for Tweens and will be very mild for under 9children
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustino4 April 23, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

From PG to PG-13

The sexual content and the language is unacceptable for a PG movie.Wait until your kids are going into Middle School before they can watch it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp February 15, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Suggested MPAA Rating: PG-13 for disturbing content/images, sexuality, brief strong language, and for violence.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old February 6, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
betelgeuse is kinda inappropriate in this movie but barbara and adam are good people
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bylcmlover4ever October 31, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Very iffy for tweens.

I didn't like Beetlejuice. It was honestly a bit disturbing to me. When the f-word was dropped, I was shocked. Not that I haven't heard it before, but I definitely haven't in a PG movie! When I was watching this, I didn't know the rating at the time and thought it to be rated R. This is not appropriate for children at all. Teenagers might enjoy it if they're kind of into dark, creepy things, but don't let your kids under thirteen watch it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old July 3, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Beetlejuice,Beetlejuice,Beetlejuice!

This movie rocks!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byJha80000 October 29, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for older kids

i loved this movie but my younger brother brought his friend over when we watched it and well he didn't really like it. Proves to me that tim Burton movies are really good but u either love them or hate it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bywillbarchi April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

What do you mean PG?

I live in England and it is a 15 over here! for 1 thing beetlejuice says the f-word when they are leaving the model town. he also visits a whore house that the woman with the slit throught put in there on purpose. Maybe you have the cut version because it is definately not as sugay and sweet as you say. 9 years old, gimme a break
Kid, 9 years old December 7, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good but creppy

Kids might get scared in this PG movie. It might not be the genre horror but it's scary
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 27, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

For tweens, not kids.

Lots of violence, scariness, inuendo, and swearing. Some (humorously) scary scenes. There is one jump-scare near the beggining (once you see a dead woman in a closet). Some blood. Lots of swearing and one f-bomb.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 13, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Classic Tim Burton fun

I have to say, AMAZING FILM! but this film is a bit iffy for language and frightening scenes. Then again, If your kids are not as timid as other children then it will be fine ( just make sure kid isn't afraid of a giant, ghostly snake trying to kill people then you'll be fine). So, I don't have to say much more about this film, except that it's brutally wild and iv'e never described a film like that before, so just make sure you'll notice a bunch of ghouls and demons and I hope you enjoy!
Kid, 8 years old July 2, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Parent guide

This was a good movie but some parts are inappropriate and if kids watch it by their self they will miss the joke and will see inappropriate things bad words, nasty scenes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages