All member reviews for Beetlejuice

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Early Tim Burton is creepy, dark fun for tweens and teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 105 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old November 11, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

This movie is way more than meets the eye

You may remmember watching beetlejuice and remmember it as a fun and entertaining movie. Well luckily it still is, but it may be scarier than you remmember. Violence is the worst! The whole movie revolves around death and how to deal with it. Within the first 20 minutes a woman is shown hanging and rips off her own face, this scared my 9 year old sister so much she could not watch anymore. About 30 seconds later when you think everything is alright you see a woman holding a mans head with a decapitated body nearby. All of these things are played for laughs because they are bad at being ghosts. The most disturbing part of the movie is the constant refference to suicide. A woman points out she would not do what she did if she knew what would happen and wraises her slit wrists. A woman is shown with her throat slit open and many people are seen ripped in half and flat post death. In one sequence a woman licks a mans nose and in another Beetlejuice goes to a whorehouse. If your kids do see it it is not obvious he is going in a whorehouse until a woman out right says he did. There is one use of the f-word but other than that the language is not noticible. This movie is a classic but not for young children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 5, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

BEETLEJUICE, BEETLEJUICE, BEETLEJUICE!

Love it!! There is an "F bomb" and some creepiness, but nothing a mature 8 year old couldn't handle. The good message is the husband and wife staying together quite literally forever. And I loved Lydia.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byK bug October 20, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Common Sense forgot to mention some things.

Its an okay movie. There are a few funny parts but not many. There are a few monster images and of course the main characters are dead but it really not that bad. In the sexual content Common Sense forgot to mention that Bettlejuice took a stick and looked up a womans dress, you dont see anything except the actions and his googly eyes, also he hugs her and i think thouches her. But i am making it sound worse than it is, there is just now other way to explain it. When my sister watches it i go to my room.
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 August 28, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

beetlejuice

Families can talk about why Lydia was so sad. How did she deal with it, and was her way of coping effective? How do you deal with it when you're sad? Also, what do you think of this bizarre take on the afterlife? What other movie depictions can you think of? Which is the most outlandish?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old August 26, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

luv

a great halloween movie but not great for young kids.(2-6)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 19, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

ewww

I was watching this with my mom on tv, and it was so iffy that we had to turn it off. It started off with beetle juice trying to look up another man's wife's skirt. He also mad innapropriate comments. Then, he said the F word, and THAT is where we turned it off.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educator and Parent Written bychristian-witness June 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

poor

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byjts1998 June 21, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Funny and Good

i loved it! I am 13 and i watched it when i was babysitting 2 little kids. One was 5 but didn't get scared. There are some jokes that she didn't get, but it would make more sense if you were older
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bylikestowatchmovies June 13, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

good for all ages

i have loved this movie ever since i was 4. any of the sexual content would go right over kids heads and they will spend the time laughing at the funny costumes, sets , and dialouge
Teen, 13 years old Written bySockyChibi<3 May 13, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

scary for the little ones

Some scenes might be a bit scary
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old March 11, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I liked it ALOT!

Yes it is a GREAT movie, also a classic, but watch out if the littler ones watch this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old January 20, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

think

very funny
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 28, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great Movie

This is one of my all-time favorite movies! Even though there is one occurance of the f word, he movie is definatley safe for kids 8 or 9 and up, depending on your child's maturity level. here is some kissing in the biggininig of the movie, and the gothic teen Lydia (Winona Ryder) does mention the word sex, but that is really it. The movie was great.
Kid, 10 years old December 9, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good

Scary because it show's woman haning her self and pulling her face off!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old May 12, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Older kids

There is mild sexy stuff. Mild Language. Mild Violence (people get killed in a car accident) But nothing graphic. Fine for older kids
Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 March 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Hillarious Haunted Comedy

Tim Burton's Creepy Comedy delievers more laughs than screams, but a snake verision of Beetlejuice may frighten young children. However almost nothing in the film can be taken too seriously. Beetlejuice briefly says the F- Word "Nice F Model"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana March 6, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
i like this movie!!its kinda funny too
Teen, 16 years old Written byhamstergurl09 November 9, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Very Creepy Humor. This is My Kind of Movie.

Some people may find this movie disturbing. I think it's a good mix of funny and creepy. I first watched it when I was ten and really liked it. My favorite part is the afterlife waiting room. I like that everybody in the room looks the way they did when they died, especially the guy run over by a truck. It's one of those movies where you either love it or hate it, and I'm leaning towards the love side. Give it a try, maybe you'll love it, too.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 14 year old Written bysecx November 2, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

shivering moments of a crazed movie

:D i saw it an i shiverd
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old October 24, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I did not hear any instance of the F word. But ill go for thinking it has it. I saw it last night and it was AWESOME. Barbara and Adam are REALLY GOOD people, but they fall down the edge of a building (i have no idea what it is) and into the water. A women smokes out of her throat/neck.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models

Pages