All member reviews for Black Swan

Common Sense Media says

Magnificent, macabre thriller too intense for young teens.

Users say

(out of 97 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byZoemily February 23, 2013

Intensely beautiful

This is a beautiful, powerful, and magnificent film. It portrays a girls dedication to ballet that becomes terribly unhealthy. There are a lot of mentally disturbing scenes. But we watched this and we're 14 (of course we watch a lot of horror movies). We recommend that you have a thick skin towards movies like this if you want to watch it. But this film is the best psychological thriller we have ever seen. There are some sexually explicit scenes to look out for but they're not the creepy ones. Have fun sleeping after this :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byZhash November 17, 2012

Black Swan

Rated R for strong sexual content, disturbing violent images, language and some drug use.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bychristian2011 November 4, 2012

Great Movie. Too intense for younger teens. 17+

Black Swan is one of Natalie Portman's greatest achievements in the movie industry, which landed her a golden globe for best actress. It's rated a hard R for good reasons. The movie has an intense, dark and unsettling atmosphere throughout, in which the main character Nina is suffering from rather severe psychological problems, experiencing bizarre yet disturbing hallucinations and being the victim of getting persuaded and controlled by other characters, inluding her demanding mother. It reminds you of the mental disorder known as Schizophrenia. The plot is about Swan Lake, one of the best ballet productions in the world, and Nina is shown being driven to the point where she's determined to obtain the position of the Swan Queen, including the stressful and psychological challenges she had to endure (manipulated and abused by her mother and her own ballet instructor; graphic self-mutilation; and accused by others as the reason how Beth lost her position). The violence is more disturbing and hard to watch than most r-rated violence, such as Nina peeling a hangnail, stabbing another woman with a shard of glass, picking at a bleeding red rash on her upper shoulder, having bloody cracked toenails from extensive use of her feet during ballet training, and hallucinations of transforming into the black swan (the darker, more sinister side of her), which can be very frightening at times. Language is infrequent but strong, uses of f**k (often sexually), sh*t, and a use of c**k vulgarly towards a woman. There are some intense sexually charged scenes which includes two women performing oral sex on another, self masturbation, and Nina making out with random strangers while high on esctasy at a club. This movie is a masterpiece, showing the evolution and downfall of the Black Swan, yet the violent disturbing content, frightening hallucinations, and the intense, dark atmosphere will be too much for younger viewers.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bywonder dove November 3, 2012

Not for everyone.....

I only found this movie excellent because I love horrors and thrillers mixed with drama. This one was quite disturbing, you have to be in the right mood to watch it. It has a very strong theme and the film seems serious. It's intense and chilling. Basically about an insecure young dancer named Nina (Natalie Portman) who competes to be chosen as the Black Swan dancing Swan Lake. When she finds out she was chosen, she develops the need to be perfect until it all gets out of hand and the dark side of her takes over. And a very over protective mother doesn't help! I did not like all the strong sexual situations, a brief scene or two is normal but this film had plenty! I remember a time when Natalie said she felt uncomfortable doing sex scenes and wouldn't go through with it, now look at her! There is one explicit lesbian sex scene that you would feel very uncomfortable watching with your kid or any family member, few scenes of female masturbation, flirting between women, heavy kissing and groping between a young woman and a much older man who takes advantage of her, lots of sex talk. Lots of violence like torturing yourself, stabbing, cutting, throwing objects, screaming, slamming doors on fingers...etc. Quite a bit of gore, Nina continuously notices a bleeding skin rash on her back like she's turning into something. Plenty of strong language (as well as sexual related). Drugs (pills) and alcohol are offered at a bar - there is peer pressure. Certainly not for kids under 18!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byPurplePalace223 September 28, 2012

Muturity is needed to watch.

In my opinion I think that this movie was one of the best I have ever seen. The only thing that really bothered me the most was the sex scene. There was no serious nudity but you knew what was going on. The most nudity I saw was probably was when the main character was in the bath tub, and it didnt show much, maybe her belly. I dont think the drinking, drugs, or smoking is all that bad. I mean who under the age of 6 hasnt seen a person drinking in the bar or smoking. (Not that I am saying a 6 year old should see this movie by any means at all.) And yes, it does have some disturbing scenes, but honestly, they call it a thriller for a reason! The swearing isnt bad considering that people at my school started swearing when they were 10. I picked 13+ because at that age (if mature) should have heard about the birds and bees, most likely has had to watch that certain health video about purberty and should know that they should not do or act upon what happens in this movie untill they are 21. So parents if your reading this, watch it first. You know your child more that I (hopefully...(joking!)) and you should know if your child is mature enough to watch this movie. It all depends on who is watching on whether or not they should watch this absolutely amazing film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byhalilmejia April 24, 2012

Extended

this movies is a ''sexual thriller'' that shock the most ... this movie also has extreme sex scenes .....one of them is when 2 same sex people have relations in a room at one of the girls house
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byMusicRock668 April 1, 2012

Very Interesting Black Swan But Lacks in Parts

Watch this movie on dvd it very interesting Story and Well Act but has many graphic scenes sexuals the story is About natalie portman is ballerina who earns role of black swan in swan lake as it moves on she becomes darkness and she dose fanastic Job at role but this movie is high Disturbing With Many Graphic scenes this is not Children More For old teens if are mature is Very Disturbing Scene with girl on girl have sex so that will be very Disturbing ! the lacks in lot of parents story is very interesting !!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byShortswald March 2, 2012

Great movie, but too strong to watch it again

This movie does teaches you about the consequences of perfection and that we are all human. It is absurd to look perfection, I think that's the message in this movie. The problem with the film is that they have a lot of unnecessary scenes like a masturbation scene and a graphic lesbian scene. I consider this as a horror movie, so stay away from this movie. DO NOT let kids under 18 years old watch this, is truly disturbing film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bybray122 December 21, 2011

Iffy For 16 & Under

I thought this movie was great and a masterpiece! i do regret seeing it, because it is not for young viewers like me. Some adults may not even like it because it is confusing, and some scenes are over the top. The only problem with this movie is the lesbian sex scene which is graphic and disgusting because there is graphic sounds and positions. Would I Watch This Again? No, it is not for my type of age and I understand that, but i am mature to watch it but i know its not good for my mind, but yet that scene is completely inappropriate. But don't get me wrong other than that scene and the masturbation scene, the movie was magnificent it might seem boring because the colors you see mostly is black and white, but it pays off and it fits the moral of the story.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag December 10, 2011

Very good thriller is disturbing, violent, sexual, full of drugs and has strong language. Absolutely not for kids!

You have to know that "Black Swan" is no average Hollywood movie, it is a movie for fans of arty pictures. Not everyone will like it, and it is not for those who like mainstream movies. "Black Swan" is propably the most shocking movie released in the last few years, and be warned that it is not for the faint of heart. The movie is great for its cinematography, its superb use of special effects, its built-up tension and, last but not least, Natalie Portman's great acting skills. "Black Swan" may is not the masterpiece that "Requiem for a Dream" is, but it is definitely far better than average movies. (SPOILERS may follow:) You need to know this movie is about a mentally insane girl. The movie is not frightning, but very disturbing and will leave you with your mouth wide open. To all those who hate sex: there is one detailed lesbian sex scene (very graphic), images of a girl masturbating and a teacher who grabs a girl's geniatals and forces her to kiss him. There is R-profanity thoughout the movie. There are hallucinations and Natalie Portman is very insane in this movie. You can not exactly discribe what it is but the movie gets you on the edge of your seat. The worst scene of violence is when a girl violently rams a nail filer into her head (more than once). This is extremely disturbing. If you see a girl who is NOT the main character holding up a nail filer, cover your kid's eyes. There are some scenes of violence that are rather gross than actually disturbing, such as a girl peels off her finger's skin (imaginary). There is one scene of murder that is rather sad then any disturbing. You see the very bloody wound several times. The movie somehow lets you feel the extreme pressure that is executed on Natalie Portman's character. You see everything the way she experiences things, so it is sometimes hard to know what is real and what is not. There is some drug abuse, but it is depicted bad because it is clearly shown it makes Nina's hallucinations even worse. I think the movie will possibly show teachers, parents and other authorities not to set people under too much pressure (therefore good messages) (END OF SPOILERS) Not a movie for kids, but VERY mature 16 year olds possibly can handle it. It will surely leave you restless for a day or two. In this case, i have to say: know your child.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byCoop° November 13, 2011

Beautiful, but lots of sex, however not really a problem

I think this movie is incredibly beautiful! I though it would be too scary for me, but it was easy. It may be a little bit of a problem with sex, but nothing is displayed. However, it is noticable what they are doing. But it's not like they have'nt seen it before; so go see this movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byJulia from Sweden October 26, 2011

Really good film - Go watch

A girl feels the pressure to succeed and ultimately goes insane. Does NOT make me want to try ballet or other competitive artforms or sports. The girls (and their families) are under constant stress and the girls in the ballet company are eating each other to get ahead. Sexual. Very good film if your kid can handle the scary atmosphere.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byJsca August 20, 2011

Worth watching once

This psychological thriller is sure to leave you thinking and wondering long after the film is over. Sexual content is inappropriate for mid-young teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bythecooldude1 July 8, 2011

For adults

I watched this movie by myself i thought it was really freaky at first thats why i watched it a second time and understanded more this movie has alot of stuff that will dramatise a kid like the scene when the girl masterbates and that sex scene with to girls was graphic and all the violence well she imagines it and all the cussing using F*** and S**t alot i think this a movie for adults
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 3, 2011

very rushing

It was a deep movie but when Nina was masturbating, a little deserving and those two girls when they made love... lesbian!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byngh98 May 28, 2011

A work of cinematic gold, but better left for older audiences.

Black Swan is a very intense psychosexual thriller, that shows characters purging, intentionally cutting themselves, and deals with insanity, and mental illness. This story is very tragic, but is magnificent. There is a sexual scene involving two girls, and characters masturbate. Overall one of the best films of the year.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySecretAgentPalin May 21, 2011

Spectacular movie, but very explicit.

This movie was haunting. It shows how the pressure of a role in a ballet deteriorated the mind of a ballerina. You do not have to like ballet to be haunted by it. But the sexual content is what makes this film only for mature teens +. The main concern is the lesbian love scene. There is somewhat regular profanity, and some violent scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bydoublea123 May 20, 2011

Black Swan: Gritty, Sensual, and Magnifect

Black Swan lived up to its reputation. This mind blowing experience will knock your socks off, and you wont be able to find them. Black Swan is violent, sensual, and thrilling. Some scenes, one in particular, borders on lesbian pornography. The dance instructor feels Nina's clothed breast and Vagina. There is also a lot of language such as, c**k, the infamous c**t, f**k (To be expected) and minors such as d**n, h**l, b***h.. This is a raw and gritty look into the mysterious world of NY ballet, all I can say is be prepared, and if you can handle it, watch it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bymilkandhoney May 9, 2011

maturity is the key

it was actually really good some of it's sexual content is a bit over the top... but really it's mainly just a few theatrical sighs if you can be mature and focus on the movie not the "naughty words or scenes" as some people may call it it's a very engaging movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bymardoggie2013 May 6, 2011

Thrilling, captivating.

This movie is unlike any I've ever seen before. The plot is genius! It does have a ton of mature content though, so please, be prepared!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages