Common Sense Media says

Magnificent, macabre thriller too intense for young teens.

Users say

(out of 99 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bymilkandhoney May 9, 2011

maturity is the key

it was actually really good some of it's sexual content is a bit over the top... but really it's mainly just a few theatrical sighs if you can be mature and focus on the movie not the "naughty words or scenes" as some people may call it it's a very engaging movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bymardoggie2013 May 6, 2011

Thrilling, captivating.

This movie is unlike any I've ever seen before. The plot is genius! It does have a ton of mature content though, so please, be prepared!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byscully1 April 13, 2011

Don't get pulled in by the hype

Incredibly overrated. Unsympathetic characters, overwrought acting, pointless uninteresting storyline. Surfeit of gory, badly executed violence and unnecessarily explicit sex scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byTotally500 April 10, 2011

Not as a Good Film as i hope it

This was trippy film. I just don't like this film. I thought this was good but not
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 4, 2011

I rate this title IFFy for 16+

What to watch out for * Messages: While Nina's dedication could be seen as admirable, it consumes her to the point of destruction. The message may be to find balance, that nothing is worth losing yourself -- not even what appears to be your dream come true. Viewers may also find themselves thinking about the concept that insanity can feed good art -- but is it necessary to make good art? * Role models: Nearly everyone is duplicitous, damaged, or manipulative, from Nina’s mother to her choreographer to Nina herself. That said, Nina’s fragility is borne out of her need to tamp down anything that appears unpleasant; she spares others, but not herself. * Violence: Characters torture themselves mentally and physically. A character purges and punishes her body with grueling workouts; she also cuts herself. When her mind starts to fall apart, she becomes delusional, sure that her skin is turning reptilian and that there are sharp objects oozing out of her wounds. She throws objects, rips drawings, screams. The movie shows the brutal aspects of ballet, including the injuries -- especially bleeding toenails, mangled feet, and achy bones. A woman is shown stabbing another with a shard of glass; the wound festers. * Sex: A woman masturbates; she’s clothed, but it’s clearly implied. A woman performs a sex act on another woman (viewers don’t see body parts, but there’s no mistaking what position they’re in). A woman makes out with a bunch of men in a drugged haze. A man touches a woman’s genitals while he’s teaching her some dance steps; he also forces her to kiss him. Bare breasts are flashed. * Language: Fairly frequent swearing, including "f--k," "s--t," "pr-ck," "d--k," "p---y," "a*s," "oh my God," and "d**n." * Consumerism: Not an issue. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: Two young women get drunk at a nightclub. They also pop pills. Another woman, embittered because she has been replaced, causes a scene after getting drunk.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 and 17 year old Written byjillisonm March 27, 2011

Should be on the Adult Pay-Per-View Channels Instead of Mainstream.

The lesbian scene in this movie is over-the-top, disgusting and EXTREMELY graphic, even if they do not actually show the genitals in this scene, the way it is done, it's almost worse! This movie should be X-rated and is not appropriate for ANY age. The movie is littered with language, sex, etc. making the whole thing garbage, regardless of how well the rest is written. If it is such a "great" movie, then why do they have to include all this other trash just to sell tickets?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, 2, 4, and 5 year old Written byMeli B. March 26, 2011
The violence was a bit shocking. The language was pervasive. It included both drugs and alcohol. But what really caught me off guard was the large amount of film dedicated to sexually explicit material. It wasn't gratuitous. It was there for a reason. It is part of the character that Nina is trying to get into for the role of the Black Swan, a role not type cast, and not at all natural to her personality. But it does make for a very deep, dark web of a film. Not at all for shallow entertainment.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written bySensibleModerate March 26, 2011

Fine for teens

This is a rated R movie, so don't take your kids! There are some sexual moments, but it's nothing too offensive. If you blush at hearing the word 'vagina', just skip it.
Teen, 15 years old Written byredskull322 March 16, 2011

I cant believe what they let in R-rated movies nowadays

We have seen over the years that there has been more tolerance towards violence in our society. With graphic movies like the Saw Series, we have numbed ourselves to violence. Now, we have numbed ourselves to sex. There is a very graphic oral sex scene where it completely obvious what is going on. A 4 year old could easily tell where Mila Kunis's mouth was placed, and what she was doing. There is moaning and groaning coming from Natalie Portman, and a climax is reached in graphic detail. Not to mention, this is a lesbian sex scene. Parents, keep in mind how sexual this movie is before letting your kids see it. The scene has drawn quite the hysteria for it's almost pornographic nature.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySCHMEEGLE98 March 11, 2011

Scary, Kinda Sexual

This movie was very good! In one part, my mom jokily covered my eyes, but we were both laughing. this is not a horror movie, but there are some seriously disturbing images.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2011
If you think it's going to be a cute movie about a ballerina who goes after the lead in Swan Lake, dont. I've never seen it, but I hear it has tons of f-bombs and a woman isn't wearing a bra in one part. Someone gets high, and another person masturbates. This movie is too sexual for anyone, even grownups from what I hear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byjuderman13 March 10, 2011

Perfect for people with a good mind (It'll mess you up)

LOVED IT!!!!! Don't let your kids see it because, even I did have nightmares, but It was a very well made movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymgwynn224 March 7, 2011
Don't let your kids watch it just because of the movie title, if you've never heard of this before.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byfilmlover123 March 7, 2011

This is definitely not about Swan Lake, older teens and up

While it was a great movie, Black Swan was violent, overtly sexual, and had foul language. The performances were amazing and the story was suspenseful and amazing, but this one was too intense. There are scenes of clothed masturbation, lesbian oral sex, people drinking and smoking at a club, language, and the violence includes a woman beginning to go crazy over her role at her dance studio (example, her eyes turn red and she pulls a swan feather out of her back, her legs contort violently and he falls and knocks herself out, she also frequently hallucinates and in one quick scene, she sees an old lady stab herself in the face with a nail filer). The ending will confuse and shock you, but nevertheless, an amazing film
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byErrweb March 6, 2011

A stunning performance for Older Teens...

A stunning performance by Natalie Portman. After having watched this movie, I had no doubt that Natalie Portman would win the Oscar for best Actress as she was brilliant. In spite of that I do not suggest any teenager below the age of 16+ to watch this movie. The amount of psychology it has is too intense for a young teens to handle. Her obsession too succeed so badly in the role of Black Swan was so much much that she went crazy, the viewers of the movie start to have doubts of what is true and what isn't as her lack of diet, the pressure put upon her by her choreographer and her mother a former ballerina and her obsession to get her technique right contribute to her internal conflicts which lead her to go crazy. Apart from the sex scenes, the things that also make this film too intense are the macabre scenes of self harm and the brutal consequences of ballet when a person who trains ballet exerts himself.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written by99IsMyLuckyNumber March 5, 2011

What horror movie DOESN'T include insanity?

Why is it such a fuss about the lesbian scene and not so much about the other sex scenes? This should clearly be rated PG-13, because it is intriguing and I saw it on theathres. There is no cruelty, or too much working out, anorexia, or cutting herself so badly anybody CARES. Blood is shown in disney movies themselves, as well. And? Who gives a f**k? This movie has good morals, and even if she goes insane, it IS in the horror genre, and when do horror movies NOT include insanity?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byteenagerreviewer March 3, 2011

don't understand the fuss

guess what? i just turned thirteen, and i saw it in the theatre. i don't know what the big fuss is, because it is not explicit, scary, or very disturbing. i understood everything. anyone my age would. There is zero about anerexia, except one scene when she wants a smaller piece of cake, and nothing about making herself throwup. u never see her cut herself, and it's not gruesome to watch. there is a little blood, like her toe bleeds a bit, so does her finger and a scratch on her back , but guys! come on! were kids! who do you think we are?! grownups always completely underestimate what they think children can understand, and are afraid of. Don't listen to the others. GO SEE IT!! :) you'll have a great time, and it is really good!!!!!! In my opinion it should've been a pg13. One lesbian scene and everybody flips out. How does a normal sex scene less explicit than a lesbean one??????? ITS GREAT!!!! )
Adult Written byshamrock4 March 1, 2011

Great movie

Great movie for smarter kids who appreciate the performance - not the kids who would enjoy the movie Jackass 3D. The sex scene is intense but not x-rated. I personally loved the movie.
Parent of a 4 year old Written byannabellethecat February 11, 2011
Excellent, intense, scary drama is for older teens only. The movie is frightening, gory, and shocking, but it is very well made and keeps you on the edge of your seat.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written byBowies Starman February 9, 2011
Absolutely terrible. Ghastly cheap horror slash pornography masquerading as an artistic movie. Very disappointing given the reviews this movie has obtained. I walked out near the end. The plot was ridiculous. Many of the scenes descended into absurd horror.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages