All member reviews for Black Swan

Common Sense Media says

Magnificent, macabre thriller too intense for young teens.
 

Users say

(out of 93 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Parent of an infant, 2, 4, and 5 year old Written byMeli B. March 26, 2011
 
The violence was a bit shocking. The language was pervasive. It included both drugs and alcohol. But what really caught me off guard was the large amount of film dedicated to sexually explicit material. It wasn't gratuitous. It was there for a reason. It is part of the character that Nina is trying to get into for the role of the Black Swan, a role not type cast, and not at all natural to her personality. But it does make for a very deep, dark web of a film. Not at all for shallow entertainment.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written bySensibleModerate March 26, 2011
 

Fine for teens

This is a rated R movie, so don't take your kids! There are some sexual moments, but it's nothing too offensive. If you blush at hearing the word 'vagina', just skip it.
Teen, 15 years old Written byredskull322 March 16, 2011
 

I cant believe what they let in R-rated movies nowadays

We have seen over the years that there has been more tolerance towards violence in our society. With graphic movies like the Saw Series, we have numbed ourselves to violence. Now, we have numbed ourselves to sex. There is a very graphic oral sex scene where it completely obvious what is going on. A 4 year old could easily tell where Mila Kunis's mouth was placed, and what she was doing. There is moaning and groaning coming from Natalie Portman, and a climax is reached in graphic detail. Not to mention, this is a lesbian sex scene. Parents, keep in mind how sexual this movie is before letting your kids see it. The scene has drawn quite the hysteria for it's almost pornographic nature.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bySCHMEEGLE98 March 11, 2011
 

Scary, Kinda Sexual

This movie was very good! In one part, my mom jokily covered my eyes, but we were both laughing. this is not a horror movie, but there are some seriously disturbing images.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old March 10, 2011
 
If you think it's going to be a cute movie about a ballerina who goes after the lead in Swan Lake, dont. I've never seen it, but I hear it has tons of f-bombs and a woman isn't wearing a bra in one part. Someone gets high, and another person masturbates. This movie is too sexual for anyone, even grownups from what I hear.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byjuderman13 March 10, 2011
 

Perfect for people with a good mind (It'll mess you up)

LOVED IT!!!!! Don't let your kids see it because, even I did have nightmares, but It was a very well made movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymgwynn224 March 7, 2011
 
Don't let your kids watch it just because of the movie title, if you've never heard of this before.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byfilmlover123 March 7, 2011
 

This is definitely not about Swan Lake, older teens and up

While it was a great movie, Black Swan was violent, overtly sexual, and had foul language. The performances were amazing and the story was suspenseful and amazing, but this one was too intense. There are scenes of clothed masturbation, lesbian oral sex, people drinking and smoking at a club, language, and the violence includes a woman beginning to go crazy over her role at her dance studio (example, her eyes turn red and she pulls a swan feather out of her back, her legs contort violently and he falls and knocks herself out, she also frequently hallucinates and in one quick scene, she sees an old lady stab herself in the face with a nail filer). The ending will confuse and shock you, but nevertheless, an amazing film
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byErrweb March 6, 2011
 

A stunning performance for Older Teens...

A stunning performance by Natalie Portman. After having watched this movie, I had no doubt that Natalie Portman would win the Oscar for best Actress as she was brilliant. In spite of that I do not suggest any teenager below the age of 16+ to watch this movie. The amount of psychology it has is too intense for a young teens to handle. Her obsession too succeed so badly in the role of Black Swan was so much much that she went crazy, the viewers of the movie start to have doubts of what is true and what isn't as her lack of diet, the pressure put upon her by her choreographer and her mother a former ballerina and her obsession to get her technique right contribute to her internal conflicts which lead her to go crazy. Apart from the sex scenes, the things that also make this film too intense are the macabre scenes of self harm and the brutal consequences of ballet when a person who trains ballet exerts himself.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written by99IsMyLuckyNumber March 5, 2011
 

What horror movie DOESN'T include insanity?

Why is it such a fuss about the lesbian scene and not so much about the other sex scenes? This should clearly be rated PG-13, because it is intriguing and I saw it on theathres. There is no cruelty, or too much working out, anorexia, or cutting herself so badly anybody CARES. Blood is shown in disney movies themselves, as well. And? Who gives a f**k? This movie has good morals, and even if she goes insane, it IS in the horror genre, and when do horror movies NOT include insanity?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byteenagerreviewer March 3, 2011
 

don't understand the fuss

guess what? i just turned thirteen, and i saw it in the theatre. i don't know what the big fuss is, because it is not explicit, scary, or very disturbing. i understood everything. anyone my age would. There is zero about anerexia, except one scene when she wants a smaller piece of cake, and nothing about making herself throwup. u never see her cut herself, and it's not gruesome to watch. there is a little blood, like her toe bleeds a bit, so does her finger and a scratch on her back , but guys! come on! were kids! who do you think we are?! grownups always completely underestimate what they think children can understand, and are afraid of. Don't listen to the others. GO SEE IT!! :) you'll have a great time, and it is really good!!!!!! In my opinion it should've been a pg13. One lesbian scene and everybody flips out. How does a normal sex scene less explicit than a lesbean one??????? ITS GREAT!!!! )
Adult Written byshamrock4 March 1, 2011
 

Great movie

Great movie for smarter kids who appreciate the performance - not the kids who would enjoy the movie Jackass 3D. The sex scene is intense but not x-rated. I personally loved the movie.
Parent of a 4 year old Written byannabellethecat February 11, 2011
 
Excellent, intense, scary drama is for older teens only. The movie is frightening, gory, and shocking, but it is very well made and keeps you on the edge of your seat.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written byBowies Starman February 9, 2011
 
Absolutely terrible. Ghastly cheap horror slash pornography masquerading as an artistic movie. Very disappointing given the reviews this movie has obtained. I walked out near the end. The plot was ridiculous. Many of the scenes descended into absurd horror.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 year old Written bycarebear5674 February 9, 2011
 

Great Parent's Night Out Flick!

While the acting in this film is absolutely excellent and Natalie Portman deserves the Oscar for this hands down, this movie is not your typical pretty and light ballet movie. The themes are very dark and while it is obvious that Nina has a mental problem, no one takes the time to deal with it and that brings about the horror and suspense aspect of this film. The whole idea of becoming the Black Swan (who in the ballet is evil and eventually pushes the swan queen to commit suicide) is a very dark idea and there are some images that even scared me and the 2 big tough men that I saw this movie with. If your teenager is looking for a dance movie with positive messages that deals with some of the same stress issues without the gory imagery, I would suggest movies such as Center Stage or Save the Last Dance which are age appropriate for younger teens and keep the positive messages and outcomes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byslasher23 February 9, 2011
 
disturbing
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3, 9, and 11 year old Written byKate1010 February 6, 2011
 

Nothing but the writer's own erotic prono fantasy he wants to share

I thought this movie was the writer's own erotic prono fantasy. There is so much masturbating in this movie I was discussed. As an adult I would not even see such filth. Don't waste ur time or money. DO NOT let kids under 18 see it...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byperson14 February 6, 2011
 
A very visually appealing film about a ballerina's quest for perfection at any cost. Very well acted, intense realistic sex sense. Graphic bloody self mutilation. Some heavy topic like drugs, cutting, and eating disorders not for the kiddies. But a very bold, tragic unique film that will have you thinking about long after you see it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 16 year old Written byJZ922 February 5, 2011
 

All you will remember is the sex and self mutilation. Not for everyone.

As an adult the frequent (YES frequent) scenes of sexual activity was not well liked by the audience. The adults made comments out loud about how "ick" it was. lesbian fantasty (nothing left to the imagination) scene, teacher violating student, a very long scene of masturbation. The rating of R for strong sexual content doesn't suite this. It is more "in your face" sex in a movie that I have seen.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byDKR725 February 2, 2011
 

Great movie, just not for young kids.

Ah, a ballerina lover's dream, to dance the black swan in a big-time production. Problem: This certain ballerina is mentally unbalanced, Literally. Overall though, I loved this film. It was very unique and interesting and a good ending. It has some scary moments involving bloody self mutilation and a murder. The f word is used a bit and other curses. But the real thing that is non-kid-freindly, is the sexual content. Short Story: the stuff you don't want little kids to see. If a mid age teen wants to see it, it's probably fine, but anyone younger shouldn't
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages