All member reviews for Blue Valentine

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Agonizing but beautiful adult drama about love and marriage.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 12 reviews)
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byperson14 February 6, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Beautiful tragic film, that is positive in the sense that it shows Dean the main male lead helping Cindy raise a child that may not be his own. Lots of graphic sex with moaning, some of it is romantic and other situations are bitter. Has some intense moments, with a verbally abusive father. But for some reason it has a sort of charm to it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written bykhan2705 February 4, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

realistic raw romantic flick, excellent.

The film centers on a contempo married couple, charting their evolution over a span of years by cross-cutting between time periods. well Blue Valentine was outstanding. was looking forward to watch this movie after hearing good reviews and all the film festival buzz about it. well the buzz was right. this movie was so scary in term of the realistic plot of it. frighteningly realistic, raw and sadly beautiful romance/drama, and also there performances were as raw as their characters. breakthrough realistic performances. direction of this movie is well done, excellent. screenplay is good but could have been slightly better. fresh and new story and idea. it takes a little time to develop but after that its very engaging and very appealing. lovely movie. editing was very good. cinematography was good too. performances wise its superb. Ryan Gosling's best performance till date after Half Nelson. he is adorable in this movie. he did that old age performance so well. Michelle Williams as always did a fantastic job. its not just her amazing beauty but her inner talent and God Gifted natural talent that you fall in love with her and the character she portrays. she is excellent. the way their story is shown is pretty good and interesting. i mean the way their love life at span of time. the way they meet, they fall in love, their own life hurdles, then they marry and their problems after that and eventually a very bitter and depressing ending. its a very bold and brave attempt, very emotional and painful to watch. i don't have words to describe my feelings for it. one of the best movie of this year. an excellent attempt. powerful and unforgettable experience. MUST WATCH.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byXboxmaster356 January 5, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

bad movie

It's like playboy!!!!!!!! who in gods name would watch this movie. Don't see this it will make your eyes bleed.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bylucylulupark January 8, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

love it!

this movie was amazing and so real and raw.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Educator Written byshashabel9 July 5, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

IT IS SEXUAL

I hate it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byBestPicture1996 January 1, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Anguishing look at one rocky relationship

I've been in a really great relationship for the past nine months, and this movie has TERRIFIED me as if I wasn't already to break up. Ryan Gosling and Michelle Williams play emotionally hurt and complex characters...you're not sure WHO to root for! I suppose the point of the movie is there is no good and bad guy, there's just got to be compromise on both ends. Dean is flirtatious and wild when he meets Cindy...and then that turns into being the "fun" parent, where he dips into immature territory sometimes. That leads Cindy to be the killjoy, this woman who's led a pretty rough life with bad parent role models. Though it is hard to understand why she criticizes Dean in the present scenes for having a job he likes, you see in the movie his annoyances wear on her. It's like for every pro to their relationship there's 2 cons. Even if you don't like the characters all the time, you'll feel like you've gotten to know them very intimately. Yes the famous NC-17 sex scenes are in here, but it's nothing glamorous. The sex in here is gritty and pretty hard to watch. Still, this is an engrossing drama, a trainwreck I couldn't stop watching. As Dean sings, "you always hurt the ones you love."
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous December 6, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NC-17 not R for that I say. (For me I Really do want to see this film.) Just that this film is not for kids.

NC-17 this Movie goes in. I do want to watch this one even if this film has the false R Rating. ...and a lot of sex Content in it. I am 25 Years old and I'm an Adult to see this but I do want to see this one. If she don't want to have sex. They just don't want it. Then I say that this scene is a rape. ...and this movie should have stayed an NC-17. An Update on 5/26/2013.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old March 28, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Blue Valentine

This movie was actually surprisingly good! The acting was extraordinary! There is nothing bad in this movie except for one intense fight scene. This movie could also be depressing for a lot of people. I really recommend it for people 11 and up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 20, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Great, cute, movie.

I think it was a great movie. Some scenes that you might need to fast forward through for kids. Language can be a problem, F-words are said a lot! One or two scenes that might be a little to much violence. And the adults do drink and smoke quite often.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byMissAimee December 20, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Horrible!

This movie is not for kids. Even as an adult I was disturbed watching the sexual acts these people did. He literally sticks his tounge into her vagina along with many other disturbing scenes of violent yelling. When they have sex it is almost as if he rapes her because, she does not seem to want to even be involved. This movie was dirty and horrible. I am not an old prude. At 28 years of age, I like to think of myself as a modern young women but, this movie disgusted me. Unless you want to go to watch porn don't see this movie and for heaven's sake do NOT bring your children!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheSuperman765 April 7, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

i rate this title IFFY for ages 17+

What to watch out for * Messages: There's lots of complicated, messy relationship stuff here, but at its heart, the movie is saying that you can't have the good without the bad. The message is that relationships are both beautiful and ugly, sometimes at the same time; they buoy you and make you question yourself. * Role models: The characters are multi-dimensional and realistically drawn; they’re flawed human beings who make mistakes and can’t always fix them. But most of them are warm, loving, and giving, too. * Violence: Three men ambush a man at work and beat him up; they’re shown kicking and punching him. Afterward, his face is swollen and bloodied. A couple argues bitterly during an intimate moment. … * Sex: This film was initially given an NC-17 rating for a scene of explicit sexual content but was re-rated R on appeal. A man and a woman are shown in a sexual position; his behind is somewhat visible, as is a side view of hers. A couple takes a shower together; her breasts are bare. A married couple is also seen bickering while trying to have sex. * Language: Frequent strong language includes "f--k," "s--t," “bi-ch,” “a--hole,” “jacka-s,” “p---y,” “motherf--ker,” “c--t," "h--l," and "godd--n." * Consumerism: Logos for Budweiser and Steinway Moving and Storage. * Drinking, drugs, & smoking: A character drinks fairly steadily, sometimes throughout the day. He also smokes often. A couple loads up on liquor that they imbibe in a motel.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byso4chaotic January 16, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Good movie for older people

I'm not a parent however I would encourage people to see it. Despite the sex scenes and some language I think it is an interesting movie to watch. By no means is this a child's movie. But if a parent is willing to see this with their younger teenager I'd suggest rent it and fast forward through the racey parts. There is some language but I don't see it as that much of a problem. The way I see it is my parents tried to sheild me from bad language etc in life I was exposed to it at school with the so called bad seeds. Gosling and Williams do smoke as well as well as cuss alot so that along with the sex can scare some people away. Also a group beats Gosling's character up leaving him bloody. Good movie over all for adults basically. I'm not so sure what else you could learn from the movie other than to respect and treat each other better than what these characters are doing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byxixshaiyaxix January 8, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Older teens

What other families should know
Too much sex