Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Booksmart

Common Sense says

Superb, smart teen comedy has drinking, strong sex talk.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 18 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 8 reviews
Parent of a 6 year old Written byfuninkeys June 8, 2019

Parents- PLEASE READ!!

You only have to read these two brief quotes (movie summary) by Common Sense to see how FAR we’ve descended in our current culture:
“Booksmart is a delightfully intelligent, raucously funny coming-of-age comedy about two responsible high school girls”.
AND:
“there's teen drinking, pot smoking, and other brief drug use. Language is extremely strong and nearly constant, with many uses of "f--k" "s--t," "bitch," and more. While there's no graphic nudity, audio from a porn video is heard, teen girls start to have sex in a bathroom, and there's
pretty explicit sex talk, banter, and innuendo, including mentions of masturbation, "scissoring," sex dungeons, oral sex, same-sex experiences, manual stimulation, and more. An animated sequence includes naked Barbie dolls. “ PLEASE parents! When you ask yourself WHY our children are suffering today and moody and suicidal more than ever in history? It’s the septic tank of garbage we allow before their eyes! This IS NOT FUNNY! I’ve been a counselor for years! Speak OUT! Boycott this ! Tell your friends. And Common Sense, your platform WAS a good idea. But I have to ask, WHO writes these reviews? Are they parents? I’ll return to a Christian source for the future. We are ruining our own innocent children. PLEASE listen to reason!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written byMimi37 May 31, 2019

Super funny and even tender; for older high schoolers and up

The “what parents should know” explains it all. This is a hilarious,
woman-created and female-centered movie with great messages about friendship and coming of age. It’s also super raunchy (language, drugs/drinking, sexual references) and I wouldn’t want my kid watching it until well into her own high school years. Meanwhile I’ve told all my adult friends to go see it because I loved it so much.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byjulesmcbeans May 30, 2019

Over the top

I went with a friend and our 2 daughters aged 17. I'm no prude, but the movie had me cringing with the crude jokes and content. I really wanted to like this move but left disappointed. I think the critics are liking it because it's a female comedy. Okay I get that, but it just went too far. And wasn't funny :-(

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written byDylan1226 June 12, 2019

Strange film, definitely not for kids...

My eighth grader heard about this movie and I had heard it was a little "racy" and I watched it first.
I'm glad I did, because he is not going to be watching this film any time soon. It's not a bad movie by any stretch, but it's not appropriate for anyone under 17-18. There are constant references to lesbianism, drugs. underage drinking. The language is pretty bad, but that's generally to be expected in a movie about students letting loose and partying as they prepare to graduate from high school. Again, not a bad movie, but not for kids on any level.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 9, 12, and 15 year old Written byBOBRANCHERED June 8, 2019

EVERYONE LOVED IT

Well, my 15 year old was at a friends house and couldn’t come and see it with me, so I brought my 9 year old with me. She is very mature for her age like all my daughters. So it wasn’t a stretch for a 9 year old, all kids can see it in that case but I will say it did top over with all the sex stuff, I mean drawing a penis?! That is too much for me.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMeredith Thompson May 27, 2019

Horrible

this movie was filthy. I would never recommend it. I did not know what it was about, went with a friend. She hated it also. I do not know why people cannot make movies without profanity and vulgarity. Why any of these young actors would sink so low as to be in a film like this is beyond me. I see Will Ferrell was a producer and that says a lot. He is trashy also.
Adult Written byLovelife65 May 26, 2019

Terrible attempt at comedy

This movie is terrible. Definitely not appropriate for any kid. It is a poor attempt at a female version of something similar to The Hangover maybe? It’s absolutely awful. I wish I hadn’t wasted my time watching it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 9 and 15 year old Written byfairknowledge June 5, 2019

Could be a good conversation starter!

A great coming of age story. Underlines the point about not assuming you know it all. Engaging and funny. A whole new cast that I'm looking forward to seeing more of.
Adult Written byMojojonno June 4, 2019

A new genre classic

Booksmart is an intelligent,warmhearted superb film. It is buoyed by an impressive directorial debut by Olivia Wilde, an excellent ensemble of young actors, and a sharp team of screenwriters. It is as if Clueless was combined with Broad City. The Commonsense Media review is accurate. It is definitely geared towards older teens; no nudity or violence, yet it contains very frank sexual content.
Parent Written bylindsey e. May 25, 2019
Please read the Parents Need to Know section before viewing. It is spot on.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byTxRose91 September 9, 2019

A Blast to Watch

I am surprised by how many people are offended by some of the content in this movie. Yes, there are raunchy jokes, but there is no nudity, and the only few times we see people kissing are not vulgar or offensive encounters. There is only one scene of intimacy and it’s a sweet and kind of awkward moment between two teens who are just curious about each other. No nudity is shown. The movie is genuinely funny and a complete roller coaster of fun events that made me feel like I was there with the characters. The two main girls in the movie are relatable and so, so charming and likeable. I highly recommend this movie, it’s a blast to watch. The movie even almost made me tear up in a couple moments because I cared about the characters so much and what they were going through.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bymoviemom_ June 5, 2019

Fun Coming of Age Movie

My daughter and I enjoyed this. It was a little slow at times, and I had issues with the initial premise. Even super extra A plus kids like Molly and Amy would be unlikely to get into top-tier these days, and the slackers wouldn't either (unless their parents paid someone off.) I felt like the movie really picked up steam midway through, and got better and better toward the end.

This title contains:

Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byNikoleplat September 13, 2019

The movie was fantastic, but a little overrated.

Booksmart is about friendship, relationships, and teenagers going into the real world. It also gives the message that life is too short. The acting was great and overall I liked the movie! However, all of the amazing reviews made me think it was gonna be the movie of the year. It wasn’t what I expected.
Adult Written bySnobill September 9, 2019

Completely caught off guard by the raunchiness, constant profanity, etc

I actually watched with my 15 and 17 year olds thinking this was going to be a lighthearted, fun movie. Wrong! Over the top with sexual references, a girl on girl sex scene, etc. Both my teens were uncomfortable and it was completely inappropriate. Yes, they probably see/hear as much or worse at school but that doesn't mean we have to normalize and promote to this degree. I think there was a positive message there about accepting yourself (and others) for who you/they are, but it was lost in the raunch and language. I failed by not researching this prior to watching, be a better parent than I was.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKierella July 18, 2019

Not for everyone.

I am 20. Female. I watch The Office religiously to give you a gauge of my humor. I thought this movie was going to be funny. I guess I saw the trailer briefly months ago but I had no idea what it was about. Me and my dad sat down to watch a movie and I said “I think this is gonna be a funny movie”. No. Wrong. It wasn’t funny (it had its moments) but it was more about the girls running around then the party. A lot of sexual language and very explicit about it. There really wasn’t a point to the movie. It’s been so awkward since I suggested watching it, he’s been on his phone and I have been too becuase we’ve been watching it too long to turn it on. I’d watch it by myself becuase I wouldn’t mind but not with a parent. It’s just awkward and weird. Please watch by yourself.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 16 year old Written byHenryllama June 12, 2019

This is the best movie

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byHenry E. May 28, 2019

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bymmhowards May 24, 2019