All member reviews for Bram Stoker's Dracula

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Bloody, sexy, scary Dracula for mature teens only!

Age

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 26 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byangeloo0 January 12, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

The best movie ever!

I only saw this movie when I was about 9-10. I thought there were a few scary parts though when i first saw it. now, though I really love this movie! This movie really shows Dracula not as the hiding old dude like in other movies.
Teen, 14 years old Written byantoineisthebest May 21, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I love it

The only problem with this movie is there is a scene where see pornogrhaphy in 101 arabian night and we also see girl Breast at least 10 Time in the movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byerica921 June 4, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Don't let any kids see this!!!!!!!!

This may have lots terror for your kids to see and its way out of intense for ur kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bySilence January 2, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

I'd think twice

Though the movie itself might have been good, I never saw further than the first 20minutes. This is where religion comes in- wolves were strung on crosses and in the first part of the movie a cross was being burnt (I think) and one of the characters forsaking God. Not for people who have strong religious beliefs... Plus there's too many sex scenes.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 8, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Dude they eat babies

YO I never watched (or ever will) this movie Cmon they suck a baby's blood A CRYING ONE
Adult Written byMovieCertificate November 2, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

R-18. Not for teens and below.

Restricted to adults. Graphic violence, explicit sexual content, nudity, sexual violence, and strong horror themes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old July 14, 2009
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Perfect for 14+

An amazing movie! There are movies that are terrible, OK, good, and the masterpieces! This is a masterpiece! (dispite all the gore, sex, and nudity)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Adult Written byhelsingmusique October 30, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

This is a nicely done Dracula Movie

I really liked this Dracula movie, they did an incredible makeup job on Gary Oldman, the man that played Dracula in this movie, I saw this movie when I was about ten years old and nothing in this film bothered me at all. And keep in mind this film was done in 1992, in the 90s films took a very big sexual leap and this film does have sexualized content that likely would not have been accurate to the time period they are portraying in this film. This however is one of the best Dracula movies that has been made despite some of the inaccuracies of the time period which almost every movie has.
Parent of a 12 year old Written bycrankylibrarian January 3, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Highly sensual, atmospheric adaptation

Highly sensual, atmospheric adaptation of the horror classic, emphasizing the trippy supernatural romance between Winona Rider and bloodsucking, scenery chewing Gary Oldman. No one will be surprised by the violence, but the sexuality, especially between Oldman and his vampire happy meal Sadie Frost, is still shocking. Then there's all that absinthe drinking...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 3, 3, and 5 year old Written byjonallypugliese1023 November 4, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Dracula

My husband and I love vampire movies and this has to be one of my favorites. It is beautiful, wonderfully made movie.
Parent Written byAngieparker June 7, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Dracula 1992

Amazing, but only for very mature audiences because it donations a lot of sex, bloody images and violence
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byPrincessCharmed797 December 19, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Dracula

This movie is a true masterpiece, with brilliant writing, great acting, and a nicely adapted storyline that will leave people familiar with the "Dracula" novel hungry for more. I would definitely recommend reading the book before watching this, because there is a lot added into the movie that was not in the book and a lot in the book that was omitted from the movie. The movie contains an astonishing amount of gore and sexual content (although there is little actual sex), but it has a certain literary quality to it that is not in many modern horror movies. The deciding factor on whether or not a teen should see this movie is their motive. If their motive is that they just want to see a lot of gore and lesbian sex, then why should they be allowed to see it? And if their motive is that they want to be scared, then they should watch something that's a bit scarier than this (there's a lot out there). But if they really want to see a literary masterpiece being brought to life through innovative filmmaking, this is a great choice. But only, of course, the teen is old enough to handle the content.
Teen, 17 years old Written byyobro November 16, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

fine for 12+ with sex scene fine for 11+ without sex scene

really good. i watched it when i was 11 i thought it was not that violent besides the start were the blood it pouring. there was no violence in that scene though. i skipped the sex scene. there would be 7/10 violence 7/10 scary 8/10 sex 5/10 smoking 10/10 awesome.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byDoodle_Bug November 6, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Dracula Review

Intresting movie; An iconic masterpiece in some ways an extended scene where main character gets seduced, three women, Breasts are visible, another scene dipecting rape,etc... (OverAll . OK film)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written bycolten97 October 10, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Oldman is the Best Dracula Ever!

This is the best rendition of Dracula ever captured on film. Gary Oldman's dark and sensual personae outshines any other vampire who ever dare put on a cape. To me Gary Oldman is the most talented and underrated actor ever. He becomes who he is playing, however in this role... Dracula became him... Oldman set the bar so high it is untouchable even to Bela Lugosi. Winona Ryder's delicateness suited the role of Mina/Elisabeta nicely and Keanu Reeves played the unsuspecting and naive Jonathan with satisfaction. However the whole movie comes together because of Gary Oldman's intoxicating essence. He draws the viewers into his darkness and passion and guides them through until the end. This film is drastically romantic and hauntingly captivating- just like a real Dracula movie should be. The cinematography deserved Oldman's phenomenal performance and perfectly created a true vampire realm. Francis Ford Coppola is brilliant. This is the spirit of the vampire.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old May 4, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

rock

Sex-8/10- two women look at a book with pictures showing a man and woman doing sex. A woman asks a man " can I touch it? A werewolf does violent sex on a woman. A man is trapped in a castle with bare naked women. Language- 3/10- A few uses of the D- word violnce- very gory
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byforeverdisenchanted February 19, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

mehhh

I saw this and it wasnt scary at all, almost to the point of boring. The main issue is that this movie has alot of adult content and i would NOT advise children under the age of 14 to watch this....it would be waaaaaaaaay past awkward to watch it with MY parents... -_-
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

*NOT FOR KIDS UNDER 12*

Well this movie is great but it's not for kids under 12 years old I think.Actors are brilliand,Reeves and Oldman were really cool and they can really act!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Adult Written byRiks December 28, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent of a 16 year old Written byasoooq212 June 6, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
This movie is the MOST bloodiest gory-fest EVER,NO ONE WOULD EVER SEEN this!,This movie of only for 17 year olds!,Not for big boys or small babies!,VIEWER DISCRETION IS ADVISED!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages