All member reviews for Bride Wars

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Wedding comedy amuses but has inconsistent messages.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 60 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bysmartmom2879 March 6, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

No appropriate for tweens

I took my 12 yr old daughter to see this and it was the most embarrassed I have ever been. It was a cute movie till the bachellorette scene. Men dancing around in hot shorts with dollar bills haning out. Drinking and swinging on stripper ropes. Provokitive dancing, dress, and actions. That 5 minute scene ruined the whole movie.
Teen, 13 years old Written bybebefefe November 10, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

It was good but not for kids!

Overall, great movie to see with your girlfriends. But if you're thinking of letting your child watch it, think twice! The movie is overall not that inappropriate but there was a lot of drinking which doesn't seem to be a problem if you're kids are already around that or if it's okay to watch it.But the language is on and off, some of the actors may use words that for you are not okay for your children to hear, and the bachlorette party scene was not okay for kids to see in my opinion. But have fun with your friends and watch it with them!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLoveOwenWilson September 10, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

girls from 13- women!! it's cute!!

LOVE this petty movie...it's funny, cute and just fun!! Like Kate Hudson and Anne Hathaway so it was amusing to see them both be so crazy about that hotel....overall i give it a thumbs up!!! toatlly a girly *hug hug* movie...awww!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bynutmeg_7 July 19, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Shouldn't Be PG

I personally thought it was adorable, nonetheless fairly predictable...Although it should not have been rated PG. The dance scene at the bar and the bachelorette party stripper are not kid-friendly.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous March 1, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not a typical wedding movie

Interesting characters and funny situations. Lots of 'finding who you are' and learning to appreciate those around you etc, however the way the two marriages work out is unique and there is a great ending. A good chick flick.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byrabbitraiser January 4, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Very fun movie

I thought it was funny and even though it didn't necessarily teach any life lessons or have too many "positive messages" it was just a funny and pointless film that made me laugh. There are some inappropriate/adult parts that aren't too over the top but perhaps a little more than need be. Overall a funny movie that I would recommend for mature pre-teens and up.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old January 4, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Iffy.

Bride Wars is okay but it contains: Violence = There are two moderate scenes of violence which is comedic. A person describes how she'd like to kill someone else graphically. 3/10 Language = A woman says 'mothereff.' B**ch, s**t, c**p, fri**ing, fri**ing, and b****y. Frequent uses of all the words listed above. 7/10 Sex = Lots of mild sexual innuendos. There is a scene set at a strip club, which involves sexual nudity, brief lap dancing scenes, inappropriate dancing & brief sexual sex. A girl undresses on camera. 7/10 Drinking, Drugs & Smoking = There is a video of a girl drunk, making out with a boy and undressing while snorting something (we do not know what she is snorting, but it is most probably cocaine.) This scene is brief. 6/10 Overall = 23/40. Very graphic for a PG.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMusic/Movies July 25, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Some mild sexual scenes, drinking and language - but clean for tweens

Sex: *There are some male strippers but they only remove shirts and pants to reveal shorts. *Women and men dance sexually, some in bras and skimpy outfits. *There are some couples that kiss a few times, but the kisses don't last long. *Engaged couples sleep together and cuddle. *A dance teacher says he brings sex. ----- Violence: *Two brides fight for about thirty seconds. They toss and turn but nobody is harmed ----- A use of "eff" but not the actual F word, three b*tches, and some milder stuff ------ Couples drink wine and girls drink at bars, but nobody ever gets drunk or drinks too much
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old February 24, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I liked it

I liked this and so did my friend and little sister. my sister is 9 and we are 11 and 12 and i think it is good and funny for these ages.
Teen, 13 years old Written bybloomyblue1 May 14, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie! PG-13

Hmm .. its good enough for teenagers! not younger than that!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byj10a1 April 21, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great movie

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 March 10, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Mature pg romantic comedy

Mild language. Sensuality and suggestive dancing. A club scene where they have a dance-off on-stage
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old December 24, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Iffy

Bad role models, selfish messages, and too much product placement makes this movie a difficult bump in the media road. It is a funny flick, but is overcome by bad messages. I watched it in 3rd grade (WAY to young), and had trouble processing what was happening. I look upon it like an over complicated catfight of a commercial. If your looking for a funny marrige movie, go with the proposal. That ones WAY better.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byStepMomSterToo July 16, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Ugh...

Pointless chick flick. Not for younger girls and boys will flee. I just don't see the point in teaching petty, ridiculous, selfish behavior that is displayed by two over-dramatic, caricatures of women.
Kid, 12 years old July 5, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Funny but stupid.

It was a pretty mediocre movie - nothing too special. It was quite funny. The sexual behavior wasn't that bad, but there was a stripper in the bachelor party and women dance in a provocative but no intense sex scenes happen. There is a funny cat fight scene which I laughed at openly. I was watching this with a few classmates and they were all like 'PUNCH HER!'. The drinking is moderate but the brides and their friends get drunk at the bachelor party. The language is pretty mild. Overall, this is a funny but stupid movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 24, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

bride wars rocks

it is brilliant and will never no be good it is a true love stoy and that is what some people at the age of 10 like me like to be prepared for later in life when i watch more romantic one's when i am in my 30's!
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written byhelenmirrenrox May 26, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

bw

Swears B----, a--, mother eff, and some loud yells A woman jumps on a nother and wrestle a man says sex, some bad dance moves and kisses and bras podect placement dresses drinking people being sabitoged, but they make up
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old May 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I saw this movie with my friend , on DVD just one bad word and and 1 odd scene but still an ok movie for kids 10+ but when we where watching her 7 year old sister was watching it and we where fine with it so...
Kid, 12 years old April 11, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
It was funny, but there was a scene with male strippers and a strip tease. If those five minutes were not included, it would be better.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Fine for Tweens

This movie was SO funny- but there were some moments that were inappropriate. Other than that, straight-out hilarious.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages