All member reviews for Bridge to Terabithia

Common Sense Media says

Beautiful lesson in friendship for young and old.
 

Users say

(out of 216 reviews)
age 9+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byPEMDAS May 15, 2011
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 9, 2011
 

Kids of all ages!

GreatMovie, Extremely sad Ending (didnt like that) It has some bullying but other than that... GREAT MOVIE!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 22, 2011
 
I thought it was a pretty good movie. Nothing that scary at all. Great family movie
Teen, 13 years old Written bySeminolefreak March 25, 2011
 

Love the book and movie

My MPAA Rating, PG: Thematic elements, bullying, violence and peril, language
Kid, 11 years old March 3, 2011
 
i was so sad when leslie died... this movie is so very educational and good, i wanna watch it again...
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bybkid February 6, 2011
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old October 6, 2010
 

great movie

great movie abit boring for older kids but great for older viewers
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bybieber_fever55 August 20, 2010
 

Great Lesson For Kids.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this movie. The worst part is when the kids are on the way home from church and talk about being "d-mned to hell"... but that's it. This movie is DEFINITELY a tear-jerker! Every time I thought I was done crying I cried some more. :) Teaches kids a great lesson about friendship and is pretty much amazing. (By the way, they're relationship isn't affectionate. They're FRIENDS!! :))
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byAdriana62 July 11, 2010
 

Sensitive people beware.

It was a wonderful movie but the ending was so sad. It made me cry both times I watched it. I don't think kids should watch it - the tragedy was heartbreaking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 7 years old July 11, 2010
Teen, 14 years old Written byOldBob13 April 18, 2010
 

Overrated fantasy doesn't even come close to the greatness of the novel it was based on

Bridge to Terabithia captures the tragic scene at the end of the movie with dramatic depth. That's about the only good thing about this movie. To be completely honest with you, I loathed this movie. It's overrated (although my friend thinks it stinks too) and doesn't even come close to capturing the magic of the book it was based on. The special effects stink, the acting is sub-par, and well, the movie just stinks. It's one of the worst movies I've ever seen. I'm kind of sick of talking about it actually. Just please don't watch it. Ever. Don't believe the website on this one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bynelsi April 13, 2010
 
this movie is good
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written by9001 March 7, 2010
 

Iffy for ages 9-10

I saw this movie when I was little, it made me cry.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byActionlovesbooks January 5, 2010
 

Great eye opener

It was a great story of kids and their imagination which seems to be in a short supply lately in the world
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byMKCC December 23, 2009
 

OK

I am 8 and I watched the movie.I think it would be very hard on kids under 8.And one of the main characters die.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 17, 2009
 

Gooooood

This is a good book. A little confusing for a five year old. Also a little scary for a five year old. They might not get that the main characters are imagining the monsters,
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2009
 

GREAT STUFF

This movie has all the good stuff: friendship,trust,courage,good rolemodels ETC. But one sad thing it is also about lose of a friend. ~SPOILER~ Lezzly the little 10 year old girl drowns in a river by hitting her head on a rock (off screen) and Jess must continue to save teribithia alone.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 12 year old Written byLChan October 21, 2009
 
Like it, friendships theme appeal to kids. I will not avoid the discussion on death, because many children have such experiences. But, we need to caution them before screening this movie, and tell them that it is ok to walk away or talk to someone about the discomfort.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written byavidcritc October 18, 2009
 

chills

i just finished watching it with my brothers and my little sister. i literally had chills the entire time. and i cried when jesse was hugging his father, and my brothers were staring at me, but i cried anyhow. i read the book two times in a row and i cried both times and i think this is the best movie adaptation of a book i have ever seen.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byecs21297 October 14, 2009
 

Awesome

Really good book and movie!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages

Pages