All member reviews for Bridge to Terabithia

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Beautiful lesson in friendship for young and old.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 216 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

perfect for 9+

I think it was a great movie in the beginningBut i did not like the end because it has a very sad ending and there is alot of bullying thru the movie but it is a great friendship movie
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old September 28, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Though the movie was better than i thought it would be, there is one thing that gets me. In the book, Terabithia is a world that the kids are imagining; the author clearly states that. The movie, however, seems almost like a fantasy movie, because all of their ideas are actually shown, and I think younger kids will think that there really are creatures in Terabithia, rather than appreciate the imagination of it all. I cried when Leslie dies and Zoe Deschanel is wonderful as the music teacher!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byaidanqm1996 September 4, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

I can't believe Leslie dies. That's the only part of the movie that I didn't like. (And I didn't like the swearing.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old August 11, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Though the movie was better than i thought it would be, there is one thing that gets me. In the book, Terabithia is a world that the kids are imagining; the author clearly states that. The movie, however, seems almost like a fantasy movie, because all of their ideas are actually shown, and I think younger kids will think that there really are creatures in Terabithia, rather than appreciate the imagination of it all.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old August 8, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Tweens and up.

Well, it was an OK movie but at the end the girl dies so young kids shouldn't see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byservantsam July 23, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Beware Not As Advertised

I got this movie out because it is advertised as a family fantasy giving impression of fairy tale action - It is nothing of the sort and I feel that I was tricked into watching it. Although it was a great movie, I’d like to have the option to choose a sad or happy film. The cover does not indicate any upset and I am still traumatised by the devastating events that took place in the movie. Yes it depends on what type of person you are, but if I'd have been forewarned I would not have taken it out at this time and was very disappointed. Although I can see the benefits it has to raise topics of discussion with children about life issues, this would have to be pre-planned and I found the movie content opposite to its packaged description and do not really want to see it again unless I'm in a crying mood or wish to get a subject across to my niece. Incidentally if a child has no compassion nothing not even a sad movie is going to change them.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 28, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A good Mix!

This is really a very good movie. I really didn't like the part which Jesse died. It was a pretty mix movie. I mean like I was half crying and half amazed and half laughing! Totally a good Mix of 3!
Kid, 10 years old February 23, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great Movie! I LOVED it!!!!

I love Bridge to Terabithia! It is a great movie about friendship.
Kid, 12 years old January 11, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Pretty sad ending

It's a great movie but it DOES have alot of mature themes which kids under 10 won't understand, or if they do understand they probably would cry after seeing the film, but it's goof for kids 10+.
Parent of a 11, 15, and 18 year old Written byJulieKryger1970 January 5, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Kid, 12 years old December 19, 2008
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Good movie There has been a lot of controvorsy about this... I don't think it was necessary to rate it PG-13, but I would say no kid 10 and under should watch this, it's pretty sad and slightly depressing/disturbing. If you can handle it, then it turns out to be a fun movie to watch. It makes you think.
Teen, 13 years old Written byxxsk8teDCxx December 10, 2008
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

i cried

this move was great i loved it though it was really sad when the girl died but the rest of the movie was really good and very detailed
Kid, 10 years old November 26, 2008
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

SOOOO SAPPY!

really hokey. boo hoo. boo hoo. The whole imagination-life-is-your-creation thing does'nt cut it with lame effects znd just plain silly scenes. Please, this ovieis a waste of life.
Teen, 13 years old Written byiJulia97 November 15, 2008
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I cried and I laughed!

We had to read this for school then watch the movie I laughed so hard during the movie. But then i cried too! This is a must read or watch! It teaches about friendship,death with mINOR MINOR violence. It shows how a boy anda girl fall in love with each other and create a whole new world. Until it all falls apart.
Teen, 14 years old Written bybibliophile April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Iffy

This movie was okay, but somewhat depressing. No sex, some violence, but nothing graphic (so don't go by adult reviews who say the movie should be PG-13. There is absolutely nothing graphic). Language: One use each of "jeez," "where in god's name?" and "omigosh." In moments of anger, Jess' dad blurts out "h---" once and "d--n" three or four times. Other content: it is mentioned that a girl's dad hits and yells at her, some name-calling and quite a bit bullying. I recommend ages 13+ because of the bullying situation, and the fact that there is a death.
Adult Written bymkv12162 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A sad movie, with a strong moral at the end.

Parent of a 8 year old Written bybobsax April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Was it necessary to kill the character?

The story was great until they killed the girl. It's like the sappy tear-jerker from the 1980"s , "Ordinary People" , for little kids. It's funny to me that art is one of the themes because the film (and I assume the book) could have been a beautiful story about growing up and art but instead it went off the deep end into a sea of sap. I can't for the life of me understand why anybody would make this story into a movie--twice!
Adult Written bycbirchall44 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Excellent, but too real for children dealing with tragedy

This movie was not what we expected. Parents should know one of the main characters is a child who dies...even though the death is not shown, the circumstances surrounding it are too real. This movie reminds me of Stand By Me, but with milder language and a lighter air around the movie.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

AWESOME MOVIE

this is for kids with struggles in relationships and friends. Even though I don't, the movie was moving in every way. I started to seep into it! Awesome actors. Annasophia Robbs made you feel for her.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I cried!

I Really liked this movie!

Pages