All member reviews for Brother Bear 2

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kid, 12 years old March 14, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

greater than the first!

i enjoyed this one even more than the first. and as you would exspect Keni meets a girl he likes. (figures) But this movie is less vilont then the first and there's a lot more laughs then tears.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bymdjj April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Scary too-deep concepts for under 6

My boys watched this and they completely got hung up on the brother dying, could not get the concept of the brother turning into a bear (and the fact that people could not hear him when he talked) and got completely FREAKED OUT by the spirits. They both (4 and 5.5 years old) cried - seriously cried - and they have NEVER cried over any movie - they have watched Star Wars, many disney movies, etc. They are not overly sensitive, but my younger son could not understand how the brother who died came back from "heaven" and then went back again...and my older son worried that we will die. Maybe it was just bad timing, but they asked me to NEVER EVER show them this movie again. Hmmmm.
Kid, 12 years old December 23, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

as good as the first

this movie was as good as the first maybe even better. It's funny and the story is good. There is just some mild peril.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written by4beauts March 24, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Too much intense/fast-paced imagery for a 6-yr old.

Intense fast paced imagery was too much for a 6-yr old. Frequent extreme close ups with scary distorted faces, e.g. Several full screen examples of the girl heroine screaming hysterically, also the bear's open mouth filling the screen several times and roaring so loudly my windows vibrated. The "message" of friendship and love are great for older kids, but lost on those too young to follow a story amongst this constant drama and unnecessary hysteria. Where's the good storytelling on kids movies?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byAnthonyAngrywolf January 21, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Excellent movie, deserves as TV series

I LOVE Brother Bear! In fact, I think the movie's so great, I think it deserves a TV show! And maybe Patrick Dempsey can reprise his role as Kenai. But since Jeremy Suarez is big now, maybe Bobb'e J. Thompson can voice Koda! What do you guys out there think about that?
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bySTRIDER9 April 7, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Awesome

This is a great movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 year old Written byNatasha715 July 22, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Sweet movie for all ages!

Very sweet story with a happy ending. Friendship and love endure.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byarthur16morgana March 19, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
im watching this movie right now actually! i like this movie.its funny and cute
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 21, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Perfect for the whole family to watch

I loved it. It was so passionate and caring. I loved every bit of it and I woukd love to watch it again any time soon
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byNorthernNights May 9, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not as great as the first - but okay

I like the first one better, this one isn't bad though. I would have done it differen't though. Like, it didn't seem like they worked 'very' hard on it, although I apriseate the attempt. I don't see why some people think its better than the first, but that's their view. It just sort of bored me a little. But that doesn't mean it was horrible. But I question where his villagers are, like Tananna and Denahi, those peoples. But I showed my 4 year old brother the second one because that's all I've seen, he liked it, but when I showed him the first one, he REALLY liked it. So guys, stop freaking about how the movies are "too scary" its hardly that. I guess for some kids, but don't shelter them from how the world is! Besides, the characters care, that's what matters the most for me.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written byrachelernst.com October 20, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

3 year old more scared, 5 year old like it but still didn't understand the plot, reasons for behaviors

This seemed to have more screen time devoted to peril than the Brother Bear 1. The love interest portion of the story is central and not essential for intended audience. This version seems to have lost a little bit of the general intelligence and respect of the first movie. Might be better than many of the movies out there, so if you're looking for the lesser of two evils, this may still suffice.
Teen, 13 years old Written byreviewgirl13 April 27, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
I don't see why this movie got 4 stars. It doesn't even deserve that many. It has some suggestive things, unlike the previous movie. So, that's what makes it better?! Nice...
Adult Written bywomack93 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great for the whole family!

I thought this movie had a wonderful mix of decisions for kids to learn from. What it's like to be different, how is that good. How sometimes things are not what they appear to be and you need to look deeper to find the real part of people. Loved it! And it's for all ages!!
Teen, 13 years old Written byschuymarch1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Wonderful movie...

This is one of my all-time favorite Disney movies.