All member reviews for Bruno

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Intentionally shocking comedy even edgier than Borat.

Age(i)

NOT FOR KIDS

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 86 reviews)
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written byKittyKlutch December 30, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Bruno . XXX or R ?

I think the sex in the 1st 15 mins could have done without . Cmon . I'm 15 . I don't wanna see a penis in a movie , That's what porn is for . I thought this would be about Bruno trying to live a life in America . With just a little sex . Not 15 mins . Sex scene . 3O mins later , More sex . I mean the Military part was the only thing that made me laugh . My mom is in her 3O's & She's got a high tolerance for movies . & She didn't get passed Bruno having sex with the pigme . I found it racist as hell because he named the baby "OJ" . Jackass is better than Bruno . I wasted money on it . & Another thing . Why put black circles & Squares over the other peoples parts but flat out put your junk out there ? Might as well show it all , Or none at all . Preferably . Steamy scenes . Not full on sex scenes . Bruno might as well be rated XXX . . .
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written bysupermonkeyrobot December 20, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

DO NOT SEE

DO NOT SEE THIS the first hour is filled with gay sex scenes and di*ks. If you don't know what sodomy is if you see this you will know and it is not even that funny see borat
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by@@@ December 16, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Gross but exeptional.

This is one of my favouite movies ever. Comedies get no better than this, but no more sexually explicit either.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag August 26, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Sacha Baron Cohen's next mockumentary. Good, yet sexual and satirically offensive.

"Brüno" is, like "Borat", a satire on America's xenophobic views. This time, Cohen has his screentime as the homosexual Bruno. He is particularly what conservative and homophobic people see in homosexuals. He particularly fits all cliches, plus some extra-shocks here and there (trading an iPod for an African baby, carrying a hacked-off elephant-foot and talking about putting babies in grave danger) The movie has many, many, many sexual jokes - all meant to offend people. Adults be warned - there is actual on-screen sexual activity, though it is censored and far away from porn. On a TV screen in the movie you can see male genitalia swinging around. Viewers should be at least 14 to handle the movie with all its sexual jokes and offensive material, and see that this is purely satirical. The movie is good, and a hilarious follow-up to "Borat", but is not as intelligent and original and its predecessor. However, it still is worth watching.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySkibbClon July 31, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

yay

My kids loved it. Little Samantha was particularly excited, she was rubbing her stomach off the arm of the sofa.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymikeisawesome123 February 3, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

THE FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!

Bruno is crude, rude, and offensive. One 30 second depict of a man's full penis swinging. Then when it gets erect, the urethra says "BRUNO!!!" and then the camera goes inside. Also lots of gay sex. In one part at a party it shows people having sex violently but is censored. Then he goes into a room with a woman and we see her bare (and rather large) breasts. Language isn't so bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byjada knows best December 18, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
I usually try to make movies not seem that bad because they really arent but this was so innapropriate! Now I will admit that therewere some funny parts but most of it was just disgusting and retarded. I like Sacha cohnan But he kind of took this to far. Espicially when He has played in kid movies and shows. Sweety you cant do both. I mean how would you feel if you knew that the same guy that plays king julien in penguins of madagascar, a show your children might watch, also put his private on tv and performed inpropriate sexual stuff on tv. Doesn't feel so great does it. Sorry but i just had to post that.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 12, and 15 year old Written bycab87670 November 27, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not my cup of tea

Sacha Baron Cohen's character Bruno is very offensive, lewd, crude and innappropriate for anyone under 18. To be frank, it was borderline pornography. So, I recommend not showing this to your children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bybradley4846 October 16, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

not as bad as people think

yes there is a ton of sexual content in this movie. i am not going to mention all the humor. but the "gay sex scene" at the begging (which looks extremly fake) and later at the swingers party there is full nudity and people having sex (black bar over worst parts). And there is also a close up of a p*nis. Yes, that sounds bad, but it was equivalent to Borat. There is swearing (normal r rated swearing). But i actually enjoyed this more then borat. Dont be afraid to see it
Kid, 10 years old October 9, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for anybody

i'm never going to watch this
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byZekeBender July 19, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
oh my god isnt a bad word
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 18, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

NOT FOR KIDS! EXPLICIT!

First of all, this is NOT FOR KIDS. And that's coming from a 12 year old kid who has seen many raunchy comedies and disturbing horror movies. Nudity GALORE! we are talking penis up close, wiggling around (Bruno has an erection.) And boobs and vaginas at a swinger party. Penetrative sex is shown full on except for the black bars covering up the genitalia. Boobs are shown clearly, though. CONSTANT offensive language, (much of it homophobic) f*g, h*mo, and many more. Many people would be offended but especially young girls. If an 11 year old girl or less saw this, she might be scarred if she's not ready for things like this. Also, d*ldos, gerbils (animal abuse) and even incredibly disturbing full S&M gear is shown. NOT FOR KIDS. They then request assistance for people to pull the d*ldo out of there anus. Disturbing and not for kids. Yet pretty funny.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byVictorfilth818 June 25, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Older Kids

I saw this movie and it was hilarious and the language they use is what almost all kids at My school use the Language so I didnt put that as a concern The thing is it had disturbing Homosexual scene whick made me laugh and Grossed me out I wouldnt want to be like Bruno but the Message he shows is actually pretty good
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 2, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
this movie is so ****ing funny. I don't care how awfully bad it is everyone should see it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Do NOT ever watch!

This movie was horrible! not even funny. explicit sex. i stopped watching it in the middle it was so bad. i give it one star. i would give it a half star but i can't do that on here...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 year old Written bynameo March 27, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

twelve

I it really that bad I have seen it three times and its funny. For twelve and over if your kids are mature they can easily take this film
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bybeccabooluvsyou March 16, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 2 year old Written byimw1984 January 26, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Depending on your teen, okay from about 14 and up

IFFY 14+ or so, ON 17+ or so. A bit over the top, definitely not something to let your younger teens watch alone, but can lead to great discussions about stereotypes, the media, fame, sex, etc. I'd probably have preferred it if it'd been a bit less sexually explicit, but it's not as if they display rape or bestiality or anything like that. All sexual acts (in which the actual penetration is blocked out) in this movie occur between consenting adults.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 7 years old December 8, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I hated the movie because they have bad language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 26, 2009
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
Recommended for 11 year olds?!?!?! Even if I was 18 I wouldn't watch this!

Pages