All member reviews for Bruno

Common Sense Media says

Intentionally shocking comedy even edgier than Borat.

Users say

(out of 87 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bycerealkiller189 March 25, 2012

Ughhhh...

Saw this movie last year in theatres ewww it's sick but good laughs otherwise it's just a brainless comedy
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old March 15, 2012

Parents: You have got it ALL WRONG!!!

You've got it all wrong! This is a movie that mature kids SHOULD watch. Even though there is ALOT of very explicit sexual content, you have to ask yourself: Does your children really get affected by sexual content? What is it about adults way to express love that isn't appropriate? Why is for example James Bond more appropriate, picturing a man killing many people wihout caring? If you let your kids watch James Bond movies, (which i think you should), this movie isn't a problem. I think that this thing that parents get all stressed out about bad language and sex is weird. kids don't get like nightmares from that. This movie is good for children that are mature enough to get the message to watch. It pictures the worlds homophobia and racism in a good and educational way. Parents, this is a great movie to watch with your children if you can talk about it and it's mature themes afterwards. But aware. Kids that won't get this movie should NOT WATCH IT! They can get disturbed by the great amount of sex, if they aren't used to it, and the movies racist themes. They can get confused and think that it's weird if they don't get that Brüno (Sacha Boron Cohen) is a imaginary character that does weird and mean things in order to deliver a important message. WATCH THIS MOVIE TOGETHER WITH YOUR CHILDREN ANY TIME YOU GET IF THEY ARE MATURE ENOUGH TO GET THE MESSAGE!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Parent Written bybrojackthe3rd February 18, 2012

Mayby

its not violent all it is is they use cause language and its sexual not for kids under 10 but not THAT bad
Teen, 17 years old Written byKittyKlutch December 30, 2011

Bruno . XXX or R ?

I think the sex in the 1st 15 mins could have done without . Cmon . I'm 15 . I don't wanna see a penis in a movie , That's what porn is for . I thought this would be about Bruno trying to live a life in America . With just a little sex . Not 15 mins . Sex scene . 3O mins later , More sex . I mean the Military part was the only thing that made me laugh . My mom is in her 3O's & She's got a high tolerance for movies . & She didn't get passed Bruno having sex with the pigme . I found it racist as hell because he named the baby "OJ" . Jackass is better than Bruno . I wasted money on it . & Another thing . Why put black circles & Squares over the other peoples parts but flat out put your junk out there ? Might as well show it all , Or none at all . Preferably . Steamy scenes . Not full on sex scenes . Bruno might as well be rated XXX . . .
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 15 year old Written bysupermonkeyrobot December 20, 2011

DO NOT SEE

DO NOT SEE THIS the first hour is filled with gay sex scenes and di*ks. If you don't know what sodomy is if you see this you will know and it is not even that funny see borat
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written by@@@ December 16, 2011

Gross but exeptional.

This is one of my favouite movies ever. Comedies get no better than this, but no more sexually explicit either.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byevolinag August 26, 2011

Sacha Baron Cohen's next mockumentary. Good, yet sexual and satirically offensive.

"Brüno" is, like "Borat", a satire on America's xenophobic views. This time, Cohen has his screentime as the homosexual Bruno. He is particularly what conservative and homophobic people see in homosexuals. He particularly fits all cliches, plus some extra-shocks here and there (trading an iPod for an African baby, carrying a hacked-off elephant-foot and talking about putting babies in grave danger) The movie has many, many, many sexual jokes - all meant to offend people. Adults be warned - there is actual on-screen sexual activity, though it is censored and far away from porn. On a TV screen in the movie you can see male genitalia swinging around. Viewers should be at least 14 to handle the movie with all its sexual jokes and offensive material, and see that this is purely satirical. The movie is good, and a hilarious follow-up to "Borat", but is not as intelligent and original and its predecessor. However, it still is worth watching.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written bySkibbClon July 31, 2011

yay

My kids loved it. Little Samantha was particularly excited, she was rubbing her stomach off the arm of the sofa.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymikeisawesome123 February 3, 2011

THE FUNNIEST MOVIE EVER!!!!!

Bruno is crude, rude, and offensive. One 30 second depict of a man's full penis swinging. Then when it gets erect, the urethra says "BRUNO!!!" and then the camera goes inside. Also lots of gay sex. In one part at a party it shows people having sex violently but is censored. Then he goes into a room with a woman and we see her bare (and rather large) breasts. Language isn't so bad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byjada knows best December 18, 2010
I usually try to make movies not seem that bad because they really arent but this was so innapropriate! Now I will admit that therewere some funny parts but most of it was just disgusting and retarded. I like Sacha cohnan But he kind of took this to far. Espicially when He has played in kid movies and shows. Sweety you cant do both. I mean how would you feel if you knew that the same guy that plays king julien in penguins of madagascar, a show your children might watch, also put his private on tv and performed inpropriate sexual stuff on tv. Doesn't feel so great does it. Sorry but i just had to post that.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6, 12, and 15 year old Written bycab87670 November 27, 2010

Not my cup of tea

Sacha Baron Cohen's character Bruno is very offensive, lewd, crude and innappropriate for anyone under 18. To be frank, it was borderline pornography. So, I recommend not showing this to your children.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bybradley4846 October 16, 2010

not as bad as people think

yes there is a ton of sexual content in this movie. i am not going to mention all the humor. but the "gay sex scene" at the begging (which looks extremly fake) and later at the swingers party there is full nudity and people having sex (black bar over worst parts). And there is also a close up of a p*nis. Yes, that sounds bad, but it was equivalent to Borat. There is swearing (normal r rated swearing). But i actually enjoyed this more then borat. Dont be afraid to see it
Teen, 14 years old Written byZekeBender July 19, 2010
oh my god isnt a bad word
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byVictorfilth818 June 25, 2010

Older Kids

I saw this movie and it was hilarious and the language they use is what almost all kids at My school use the Language so I didnt put that as a concern The thing is it had disturbing Homosexual scene whick made me laugh and Grossed me out I wouldnt want to be like Bruno but the Message he shows is actually pretty good
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 2, 2010
this movie is so ****ing funny. I don't care how awfully bad it is everyone should see it
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2010

Do NOT ever watch!

This movie was horrible! not even funny. explicit sex. i stopped watching it in the middle it was so bad. i give it one star. i would give it a half star but i can't do that on here...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 12 year old Written bynameo March 27, 2010

twelve

I it really that bad I have seen it three times and its funny. For twelve and over if your kids are mature they can easily take this film
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bybeccabooluvsyou March 16, 2010
Parent of a 2 year old Written byimw1984 January 26, 2010

Depending on your teen, okay from about 14 and up

IFFY 14+ or so, ON 17+ or so. A bit over the top, definitely not something to let your younger teens watch alone, but can lead to great discussions about stereotypes, the media, fame, sex, etc. I'd probably have preferred it if it'd been a bit less sexually explicit, but it's not as if they display rape or bestiality or anything like that. All sexual acts (in which the actual penetration is blocked out) in this movie occur between consenting adults.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 7 years old December 8, 2009
I hated the movie because they have bad language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models

Pages