Common Sense Media says

Intentionally shocking comedy even edgier than Borat.

Users say

(out of 86 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old November 25, 2009

porn

porn
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byMovie Man November 20, 2009

Wow... I Am Appalled. But, Strangely, Entertained! ABSOLUTELY Not For Kids Under 18!

... Oh... my... God! This was the single, inexplicably raunchiest film I have ever laid eyes on. Half the movie I laughed because it was too rediculous and offensive not to laugh. But, readers, this is the grand-daddy of raunchiness. There were actual sex scenes; like, real pornographic sex scenes, if not for the black bars. In fact, if not for the black bars, this would be considered a funny, offensive porno. I mean, I was speechless throughout the film; I couldn't believe my eyes, ears, and, sometimes, my mind for some parts. I honestly thought a nightmarish flashback hit my mind during a portion of the film. PARENTS: *EXTREME WARNING*: This is the single raunchiest and edgiest film possibly in existance. If you saw Borat and thought that was inaproppriate, than you are in for a very crude awakening. Actually, an extremely crude and offensive awakening. Also, if you are easily or even somewhat offended by certain subject matters, than this is not for you. Extreme Irreverance could be the second title for this film, of it were renamed. Please, praents, I beg you, don't allow a teen or child to witness this film. Yes, it is funny and sometimes witty, but it is grossly offensive and completely inaproppriate, even for some adults. Well, thanks for reading - Move Man
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written bySally Mander November 20, 2009

Why not NC17?

Cohen's satire is genius, but he definitely takes things way too far. How can you not love catching really stupid people at their worst? Especially people who have run for president and questionable baseball heroes--some of this was in the deleted scenes. I love his movies because of the outrageous humor, but really would like to see them without the sheer, raw, unnecessarily blatant sex scenes which are truly tasteless.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byIronZombie75 November 18, 2009
Okay, this movie is insanely funny! But, cation to parents, this is one of the most shocking movies i've ever seen! Although most of the extreme graphic nudity is covered by black boxes, or blurred, there is a video of a penis talking at the camera (Extemely Graphic). There is also full-female nudity, although you never really see her pubic area. Also, there are actual people performing sexual acts on screen (penetration is blocked out, if this movie didn't have those black boxes, it would be an absolute NC-17!) Bruno also does constant sexual dances with extemely tight wear like thongs. This movie practically has gay porn! Does give kinda good message about gays, though, and that people shouldn't rip on them just for having a different state of mind.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bynicolybinoly94 November 8, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byDisguted by bruno November 1, 2009

16 yr olds horrified.

I'm 16 years old. I thought it was absolutely disgusting. I forced my entire group of 16 yr old friends to leave... even the guys. If you think teenage boys are inappropriate - just watch this. It's not porn. it's gay porn. It's not funny. I really didn't laugh. At all. None of my friends laughed, they were horrified. The movie had no plot and what's more, its a jip. Firstly I wasted fifteen bucks on it! Secondly it goes more 1 hr and a bit... and 1hr and a a bit too long! Thirdly the movie has now been rated R in DVD stores. However we were allowed to watch it as the dodgy cinemas changed it to MA15+ so they could sell more tickets. I wish they hadn't. I think I'm scarred for life. So if you're looking for a fiery hot sex film of gay porn with explicit sex and scenes of someone's ass being waxed... this is the movie for you.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybeph September 19, 2009

horrible

absolutely inappropriate for any age group. i was disgusted and left after 15 minutes. i tried again later on the computer and still sickend. nudity was abundant. sex was woven throughout and nothing about it was entertaining or funny. making fun of unsuspecting people isnt very funny.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycuthammer August 24, 2009
It's pretty funny but way more raunchy then Borat.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bytalkey15 August 16, 2009

I passed for a 17 year old guy and im 14

i dident think the movie was that bad it was preaty funny except theirs a part whare their are two gay guys haveing sex and you could see it. thats right i got in a r rated movie and i passed for 17. and the other sexy parts were sexy.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 14, 2009

bad movie

my mom saw this movie with my sister while i saw star trek with my dad.i didnt see this movie but my mom and sister said it was really nasty and gross and i think only 16 and up should see this movie.this stupid movie sounds like it should've be NC-17!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byGuess August 10, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old August 8, 2009
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 2, 2009

Cool movie!

My sister watched it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 2, 2009

Bad for anyone under 17

I have never seen the movie but from the reviews that I've seen it's deff not 4 kids.If u c it u c it but if ur under 15 then it's probably a bad idea.Anyway it's R so it's probably not a ok movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byUmmmmm... August 1, 2009

kool

my mom let my 7 year old sister watch it
Adult Written byJonthemoviebuff August 1, 2009

High concept "mockumentary" just doesn't work

I'll say something first, I LOVE Da Ali G Show and thought Borat was quite faithful to the show, so my dislike of this movie is not because of prudishness. The problem is that the film goes so out of it's way to shock the audience that you often don't know whether you're laughing because of uneasiness or because it's genuinely funny, a bad sign. The film has a few noticeably brilliant scenes(a segment in the Middle East for example), but if you look beneath the vulgarity, the majority of the film isn't that funny, it's just rather disgusting, crossing the boundary between raunchy and just plain gratuitous. I will say this again, I AM NOT A PRUDE. I wasn't disgusted by a penis flopping around for 30 seconds until it becomes erect and screams "Bruno" because it involved a talking penis, I was disgusted because it didn't serve any purpose other than to make people gasp. This film is supposed to be about exposing prejudices, but when Bruno is a walking stereotype who goes out of his way to flaunt his homosexuality, it justifies the bigotry of the "participants". This was why Bruno was the weakest character on Da Ali G Show, but that show had 2 brilliant characters to balance him out. If you've seen what the film is Rated R for, then I won't need to explain too much, I'll just say there's plenty of full frontal male nudity and some strong profanity.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bysierralover321 August 1, 2009

not for kids, but fine for adults(18+)

When I went to go see it I didn't think it would be that bad. But, even though there's all that nasty stuff in it, I was definitely laughing my butt off the whole freakin movie.
Parent of a 10 year old Written bymoviecritics July 30, 2009

Bruno your message sucks!

I hated it...not to say that there was nobody in the theater! I am shocked that this movie is in theaters and should be at the nearest s*x store! It is dammaging to kids and this movie has nothing that conveys something intelligent. Even I did not want to see any body parts...especially close ups and there was horrible portrayal of the sexual act and homosexual acts which no one wants to see in such a way!!! DO NOT GO IF YOU ARE UNDER 18 years of age!!! In general do not waste your time on this nonesense, go watch something else!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byToxicDreamboat July 29, 2009
Sacha Baron Cohen definitely knows how to pull reactions from people, whether it be good or bad. When I was going to see it, I expected some nudity or whatever since I had seen Borat, but there was more penis than i have ever wanted to see in my entire life. The movie was definitely funny, but I would not go see it again. It was more appalling than funny, I'd say. Do I regret seeing it? No, because I don't take offense to this type of movie. I think that the sexual content did take away from the exposure of homophobia in this country, but I was unsure as to the image Bruno was giving to homosexuals. I wouldn't ever recommend this movie in general, but it definitely did what sacha wanted it to!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 1 and 12 year old Written byDominikaRudzka July 29, 2009

Such a bad movie that they shouldnt have made it

I went to see this movie with myself and it was so bad and i saw 5 year olds in the theater i just hated the movie so much i left at the middle of it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages