Common Sense Media says

Intentionally shocking comedy even edgier than Borat.

Users say

(out of 86 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byCiaraC July 26, 2009

Likely to offend

I saw this movie and knew that it wasn't suitable for my age group. Being older wouldn't have changed my views about it. This film really shouldn't be seen by anyone under 16. It is likely to offend some people and others may be okay seeing it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bywho75 July 26, 2009

should be over 21 they should card you at the door

the most sexcrazed movie I have ever see, it IS a Porno, this is not a funny movie, it is just shock Value with alote of nasty sex seens, this should be rated X, it is ranchy even for a porn. this is a gay porn, and most if not all gays will be affended, and disturbed. what this movie says is if you are gay, you are a sexcrazed Freak. I am not easily bothered at things of a sexual nature, but I saw this movie with a friend, and nether of us had any idea of the content of the movie this movie whent way to far. way beyond Borat. this film belongs is porn shops not in theaters, it should be rated X, I talked to a man just after seeing it who had seen it, he also did not know how sexual it was going to he and said that was a porno, I said yes a gay porno, and yes some things are blocked out but it does not matter, this was like hard core porn, they only blocked out parts so they would get away with more. on this one he should get his ass sued off, I will not watch one of his movies agin.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bysmil3yfl3isch92 July 25, 2009

17 years old at the minimum. Very dirty and offensive, only watch if you like silly, gross-out humor.

This movie is purposefully dirty and pushing the limits. Parts of it seem like extended sequences of homosexual pornography. It's essential to go into the movie with an open mind, expecting over-the-top gross-out humor and silly jokes. It is extemely hilarious in parts, given that you like the type of comedy described above. Note: It's overty sexual and may give a negative or stereotypical overview to homosexuals. It is definitly more exposed and raw than its predecessor, 'Borat,' but also more funny. Ultimately pushed the limit to it's rating. Plus, it's mainly with real, unsuspecting people, which gives you an often negative outlook on Americans. NOT FOR THOSE WHO ARE EASILY OFFENDED.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byeastside01 July 25, 2009

Bruno

Bruno is one of the most graphic films i've seen all year but it was hilarious and in my opinion better than borat. Now i'm aware this movie isn't for everyone but if you like realistic edgy humor than you'll love it.
Adult Written byPhilly30 July 24, 2009

Really funny---not for kids

Great movie for adults-not for kids. It is very sophmoric. I loved the movie---will it win awards---no.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjonathan_s July 23, 2009

Great for adults. Not for kids

It's really simple. I laughed so hard I cried. But I'm an adult. Do not take your children to see this movie. It's rated R for God sake. Again the movie was hysterical and well worth the time and money I invested in it, but I personally would not take a child under 16. Period.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byLord Voldemort July 21, 2009

Embarrassing and Crude...but it was FINE.

Bruno was oh-so inappropriate on so many levels, but it was FINE. Just because it has flopping genitals doesn't automatically make it a one-star movie, okay? People are way to edgy these days. It provides plenty of laughs, but I think it also delivers a nice message (however subtle it is). It suggests that you be yourself, and not care what others think of you.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymikeymikey July 20, 2009

Not for the weak or heart.

I thought the movie was so inappropriate I wouldn't let my parents or grandmother see it. The body parts shown on the screen were crude and completely unnecessary to be shown on such a large scale. Some parts were humorous but the main plot of the movie was for a man (Bruno) to stop being gay for the public eye. Many scenes see man-on-man sex as well as multiple orgy scenes. I felt like I was blushing the whole movie and I knew that if my mother or father had come with me they would have stood up and walked out, which many movie-goers did.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymollyfromoz July 20, 2009

BOYCOT BRUNO

Bruno was a filthy, painful waste of time. I cannot believe I was stupid enough to not read a review about it first. It was 60 minutes of vile filth, abhorrently offensive, brainless: a waste of $17. If CHILD ABUSE offends you, if graphic HOMOSEXUAL PORNOGRAPHY offends you (just a straight porn would offend someone - no Im not homophobic) and If watching real COUPLES Have SEX and S&M scenes offends you(although some may be turned on by this), and RELIGIOUS VILIFICATION and RACISM offends you, then PLEASE DO NOT SEE THIS SHOCKING MOVIE. Little Britain was funny, Summer Heights High was funny, We Can Be Heroes is funny.... This is NOT. For me who has a high tolerance to "unique" movies, I found this INHUMANE and PUTRID. It was an ASSAULT to my senses, my ears and my eyes. To see a "Black Baby" by the name of "OJ", being crucified on a cross, and a penis that fills the screen. Shame on the musos at the end who supported the Cruelty, Ignorance and Hate in this movie. It is very sad that it relies on extreme antics BOYCOTT BRUNO.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written bydragonball z July 19, 2009
movie is as funny as heck but very innapropriate
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 13 year old Written bytwzzlrgirl July 19, 2009

NO Kids....Most adults will be offended.

I am no prude, and I really do like SBC, but I couldn't stand this movie. As a 40 year old, I found myself looking away from the screen. Way too much gross-out humor for my taste that didn't add anything to the movie. This wasn't shocking...it was just over-the-top disgusting. I was sitting there with friends and was embarrassed to be in the theatre. Absolutely not for kids!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byTXSenorita July 18, 2009

OMG!!! Absolutley Distgusting!!!!!!!

Personally this movie isnt for any age only for perverts and idiots! its not a movie its porn!!!!!!!!!!!OMG!!! Me and the fam went to see this movie ( we ended up walkin right out) thinkin it would be a good comedy full of laughs and it jus distgusted me and my fam. they need to take that movie out of theaters and stop that guy from makin movies it was a complete waste of money he is a nasty perverted jerk who needs to find a career doing somethin totally diffrent this movie should really be recognized and banned! Yuck eww i hate thinkin bout it!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written bymarmot July 17, 2009
I WENT TO SEE this movie and loved it but I think this really extreme for kids it is bloody filled with profanity and coated with sex there are full frontal views of both sexes with vaginas breasts and penises also we see anuses of both sexes and in one disturbing scene a man pulls a champagne bottle out of another mans anus which is clearly visible and up close and drinks from the bottle there is also sexual intercourse that is completly visible and we see thrusting and the meeting of the genital we even see the genitals locked together and aman has a fire extinguisher stuck up his anus by a naked woman his anus and her vagina are clearly visible
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bycoolestkidyouknow July 16, 2009
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bymr. movie July 15, 2009
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byssteyer July 15, 2009
Funny at times but is extremely vulgar and obscene. Bruno is much more offensive than Borat and is definitely not appropriate for anyone under the age of 16. Some people even left in the middle of the movie!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bytexskiss July 15, 2009

DISGUSTING!

DISGUSTING! The filth in this movie is so offensive that I can't recommend anyone or any age see this movie. It makes me sick that so many teens are going to see this.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byirishguyie July 14, 2009

Great movie - not for anyone under 18 to be honest!

Intentionally Shocking. Intended to cause discomfort/offence to provoke discussion? Or just to have a laugh at others expense? Promoting or exposing Homophobia? Stereotyping homosexuality and hetrosexuality? All the answers depend on your viewpoint. I laughed my belly off at virtually everything, I was "uncomfortable" numerous times, but this is Cohen at what he does best! It didn't offend me, but it did provoke me to think about whether there IS an underlying message or not to this movie! If you don't like violence, don't go to a boxing match. If you don't like shock factor movies, don't go to this! THat said, I loved it as it did exactly what it said on the tin. I DID feel sorry for Ron Paul.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byilikemusik23 July 13, 2009

BRUNO! (ADULTS ONLY!)

I went to see this after seeing Borat which i loved and i must say it is the funniest but most shocking movie of the year! Im really suprised it wasnt rated NC-17 (which was it's orginal rating) for all the nudity and explicit sexual content in the film. It had all the sexual content you could ever imagine in a film from a talking cgi penis (funny but disturbing) to graphic sex acts. Teens will deffintly want to see this movie thanks to all the advertising its gotten and while it is hailirous, NO ONE UNDER THE AGE OF 17 SHOULD SEE THIS MOVIE!!! Im telling you people this movie has content that could be considered soft-core pornography! I also dont reccomend watching this if you are easily offended or disturbed by shocking content!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byjerkstore July 13, 2009

Perfect for adults with a generous sense of humor ONLY.

For what I saw of this movie, I can say that I didn't stop laughing but unfortunately, the projector broke about halfway through the movie. The most shocking moment in the whole evening was a family that brought their son and daughter to the movie, both of which couldn't have been over 12. When my wife and I saw them walk down the aisle and sit in the front row, we both looked at each other in surprise. This is such a gross oversight for any parent to make that have children under the recommended age. There is no excuse these days to think that a movie is safe based on the trailer you see on TV. There are countless sites like this one, print reviews, online reviews, redband trailers on youtube. Please, PLEASE take personal responsibility for your kids. PLEASE pay attention to what they're doing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages

Pages