Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Call Me by Your Name

Common Sense says

Strong sexual content, adult themes in gay romance.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 22 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 50 reviews
Adult Written byrhonda l. January 23, 2018

Not For Kids

Regardless of how "artsy" other reviewers describe the film, this movie is not for any child, 21 or under. It depicts and romanticizes an older man and a young boy having sex. The age difference makes the premise of the movie inappropriate. Typical Hollywood, with it's broken decency meter. Don't let your kids see it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byDarylTheStudent March 6, 2018

Call Me by Your Name

Call Me by Your Name is a well-made and fantastic film. But as good as it is, it is definitely NOT for kids. The sexual content is the strongest here, as we see a few sex scenes, both male with female and male with male sex. Some of them are graphic, featuring breast nudity at one point. A character also ejaculates into a peach. With regards to the age gap between the two male leads, the legal age of sex in Italy (where the film is set) is 14, and their relationship is consensual, so it is not child rape. There are about 7 uses of the f-word. (about half of them which are used in the scene with the peach) In conclusion, this is a film meant for older teenagers mostly due to the sex scenes and the themes of the film.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Parent Written byAd F. March 4, 2018

Pedophilia - Not appropriate for under 21

I’m trying to imagine my teenager watching this film. I would be horrified. I can’t think of anything worse than glamorizing or romanticizing pedophilia. Awful.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bykylebean August 29, 2018

A delicate masterpiece.

I strongly disagree with parents who said that this movie was inappropriate for teenagers. First, the sexual content isn’t “strong” enough for this movie to be R-rated. Children learn enough at school to already be aware of that much. Second, the movie contains a lot of meaningful and important things that our children need to know and understand. It’s a very beautiful and touching work that shows you so well the love that you can feel for someone, no matter what gender the person is of. I highy recommend this movie, to teens over 15 or any adults.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byAnna Q. August 24, 2018

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 13 and 15 year old Written byJodi Martinez August 13, 2018

wonderful romance, fine to watch with most teens

I watched this with my 15 year old and 13 year old daughters and neither of them were bothered by this movie, in fact, they both loved it! Lots of people were bothered because they think that the relationship is pedophilia (because the main romantic relationship was between a 17 year old and a 21 year old), but the age of consent in Italy was and still is 14. It's a great movie and you shouldn't write it off just because of that.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byHomeschoolIng Mom July 29, 2018

Great story about coming of age and love

Great story for everyone to see about what it is like to fall in love. Takes place in the early 80s in Italy which influences their story. Some scenes are very intimate but never graphic. My only issue is that as a Mom it is rough that Elio is only 17 but if he was older but it wouldn’t be coming of age, so keep in perspective that it’s the 80s.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byAHLeeReviews July 28, 2018

Moving Gay Drama is Suitable for Mature Audiences

Great themes and a great story accompanied by some of 2017's best performances. The sexual content is relatively strong; it isn't extremely graphic, but is definitely enough that it could make certain audience members uncomfortable. If you enjoy these kinds of movies (slow-burn, LGBTQ themes, heavy), "Call Me By Your Name" is most definitely for you. If you don't like those kinds of films, make sure to steer clear of this one.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written bySolomon E. June 30, 2018

American prudishness stems from the psychotic terror about sex brought here by the 1620 and 1630 Puritans. READ Increase and Cotton Mather.

What generated the Salem witch trials of 1692 ? Simply, the pathological guilt and shame and fear around sexuality---- even between married couples---- that were part and parcel of Calvinist Puritan attitudes to sex that finally generated murderous paranoia. This paranoia still flows through the veins of American culture like a poisonous underground river. Parents' comments here reflect the paralyzing terror of sexuality which tragically distorts so many American lives. "Call Me By Your Name" is NOT about a sexual relationship between "an adult and a child", because it takes place in ITALY, where the age of consent is 14. No self-blinding, self-righteous, self-anesthetized American can contravene that fact; the film does NOT take place in the United States, so American law does NOT apply. To me, the strange thing about the film is that the ITALIAN director does not have the 17-year-old (the sexual aggressor) in this film simply inform the skittish 24-year-old American of this simple fact. Every adolescent on the planet knows her/his country's age of consent better than his/her own name. I can only wonder: was this blatant, glaring omission simply a ploy by the Italian director to generate greater controversy among pathologically terrified American audiences (hence generating more box office) ?
Parent of a 9 and 13 year old Written byGreg.Yemen June 29, 2018

Stop being so sensitive.

There are way too many parents on here saying this movie should only be watched by teens 16+ or 18+. This is a beautiful movie which shows kids the real world, and teaches them life lessons. You cannot shelter your children from issues such as homosexuality, pedophilia, drug use, and underage drinking for their whole lives. Helping them understand these topics from a younger age is a better choice. As long as your child can understand sex and underage drinking, and can be mature with swear words, this is a great movie to watch.
NOTE - The sexual content of this movie is not as bad as some users may claim it is.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byTornadosplash44 June 16, 2018

Beautiful gay romance film, but isn't anything too special.

I loved Call Me by Your Name! I thought this was a well-made film from start to finish. I loved the acting and storyline. However, this is not a film to go crazy about. The film contains some language, but it's infrequent. Just a couple uses of f**k. The film also contains plenty of social and underage drinking and smoking too. In addition, the film contains plenty of sexual content with nudity. This includes multiple sex scenes with bare breasts and buttocks. Overall, this is a great film and is okay for teens 16 and up.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byCelestine E. June 7, 2018

Call Me By Your Name

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byJacquelyn P. May 12, 2018

Beautiful and Powerful

This movie is incredibly affecting and evocative. Mature 15 year olds could appreciate the beautiful scenery and slow build of the relationship between the two male leads. The age difference is obvious, but mostly because the visiting graduate student, Oliver, is very tall and the younger male lead, Elio, is youthfully thin. Elio is intelligent and can hold his own in sophisticated adult conversations, but lacks confidence with peers and romance. His development and coming of age is a large theme. Love won and lost is the most difficult lesson of the film. Smoking and drinking are prevalent, but part of the culture of the time period and this should be outlined for your teen. I'll talk about the sexual content first since I think most parents probably are curious about that aspect of the film. There are three homosexual sex scenes that are mild and only implied- the first shows the men taking off their shirts and beginning to undo their pants, but cuts away quickly to another scene. Twice, there are brief suggestions of fellatio. Elio used a peach to masturbate; a bit odd, but not just for comic effect. Ironically, the most explicit encounters in the movie are heterosexual sex between two older teens. One short scene shows them almost fully clothed, but clearly having very awkward intercourse outside in the grass. Another scene shows the young woman removing her bikini top with the young man cupping her breasts. Soon after, there is implied oral sex- his head is between her legs while he unties her bikini bottom. The scene cuts away before anything further happens. There is a brief flash of naked male buttocks when the men change into bathing suits and one scene in which Oliver is shown from behind standing naked. Okay- all done with the sexual content. The main focus of the film is really on the developing relationship between Oliver and Elio. They are both clearly conflicted about expressing their feelings for each other. This conflict really has more to do with the unacceptability of homosexuality in the early 1980's than it does about their age difference. A mature 14 year old could appreciate the movie, but might find it a bit slow at times. Because of the more "accepting" time they live in, they will need to have the 1980's context highlighted to help explain the reserved, but emotion-laden goodbye at the end. The fact that both men appear to have fluid sexuality is likely to be more familiar to the youth of this generation. The relationship between Elio and his parents is very accepting and supportive, but Oliver's appears to be more oppressive and unforgiving. It is not surprising that Oliver moves on to conform to heterosexual expectations while Elio is able to deeply feel and express his emotions. There are many aspects of the movie worthy of discussion, not the least of all is letting oneself experience life fully with acceptance of the sadness along with the joy.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byAmyM831 March 26, 2018

Weird & Strange

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written by[email protected] March 19, 2018

Call me by your name ... too sexual

Way too sexual to be a good, enjoyable movie. Spoiler alert, the main plot is about a gay sexual relationship with a minor.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bydomin c. March 7, 2018

Highly recommended

This title contains:

Positive role models
Parent of a 11 year old Written byMetalchick63 March 2, 2018
Parent Written bys a. February 9, 2018

Amazing, beautiful and wise.

This beautiful film will haunt you for days, weeks, maybe for the rest of your life. It's a piercingly tender love story. And beyond that it's a deeply felt coming of age story. And beyond that it's a story about parenting, kindness and love. And beyond that(!) it's about holding our experiences, thoughts, memories and feelings - whether joyful or painful - with profound compassion and love.
Agewise - a little bit of language and nudity, nothing at all offensive. Everything and everyone is treated with kindness and respect. If your child is old enough to know the facts of life - ie what two people do in bed and sometimes out of it - they're probably old enough for this movie.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Adult Written byjoaquingv January 29, 2018

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Positive role models
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byBrandon D. January 21, 2018

Brilliance

Pre-requisites: knowledge of Impressionism as an era in art and music, comfort with open sexuality, progressive parenting, but the most brilliant films I've ever scene with a theme of make the most of this life and 1st heartbreak.

This title contains:

Positive role models

Pages