All member reviews for Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (2005)

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Bright, spirited, and edgy version of Willy Wonka.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 134 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old November 13, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good-AWESOME movie!

It is a really good movie! It has good educational value because it tells you not to be greedy. The actors do really good jobs ( I also really like Johnny Depp he is really funny! )
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 15 years old Written bysamr45 October 3, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great family fun

Great film for all the family. However, some scenes of moderate peril could be upsetting or distressing to younger children. Carries a very strong positive message that should be shared.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old August 10, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

love iit

good
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byJEDI micah March 19, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Better than the original!

Although I am not a Johnny Depp fan, this is a wonderfully made movie based on a classic! With improved special effects, good acting, lovely music, and above all, yummy-looking candy, there's no doubt that kids will find this movie better than the original!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 11, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

If Rohld Dahl were alive,i'd bet he'd love this!

This is such an awesome remake! Fun to watch,great acting,based off a nice book,ect.RECOMENDED!
Kid, 12 years old August 17, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Creepy

This movie is creepy and actually made me scared when I first watched it. The performance by Johnny Depp is just plain creepy. If you want to watch a willy wonka movie, watch the old one which is fun and good for the whole family. I actually really enjoyed the old movie and I'm 12 years old, I didn't find it cheesy or stupid or anything. Watch the old movie.
Kid, 8 years old December 29, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A+ and D- at times

Quirky.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byhomealonefan123 December 17, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

awesome movie. perfect for the whole family

this is a movie for the whole family. but some intense scenes. this movie would be awesome in 3D. if you love adventure, awesome effects and chocolate then show this movie to your whole family.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 25, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great for ages 4+

AWOSOME!!!!
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byRaffyGylerSiowSiow April 22, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Kid, 8 years old March 22, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
I love this movie! This movie is sooooo funny. GOD I WISH I COULD SEE IT AGAIN!!!!
Kid, 11 years old March 20, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

good for ages 6+

this movie is pretty god and 100% better than the old one. the children are all bratty except charlie but the bad kids get it in the end the message from the movie is "don't be a brat or you'll get it!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old February 13, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Really good, and Funny!!!!!!!!!!

Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is really good. It it is funny, and Johnny Depp is really good! It is really funny too. It has no scary parts at all. Well Done Johnny Depp!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Kid, 11 years old January 15, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good but scary

Okay very scary for my little bro the dolls losing their eyeballs is horrific
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old January 7, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

ok

Its ok
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old December 5, 2009
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A 3-Star Good Family Movie

This is one of my favorite movies, although I like the older version bettter. Johnny Depp is one of my favorite actors but I think he wasn't fit out for the part of Willy Wonka. But he did really GOOD!
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 1, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

appropriate for all ages

I think charlie and the chocolate factory is a cute and funny kids movie i loved it!! it has great family values and i think it is appropriate for all ages
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old September 9, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

AHHHHHHHH

HOLY BANANAS! WHY THE HECK DID THEY PUT JOHNNY DEPP IN THIS HORRID MOVIE! STAY IN PIRATES OF THE CARRIBEAN,JOHNNY DEPP!!!!!GAHHHH! All actors are horrible,does not follow the book at all, and SUCKS!
Kid, 9 years old August 28, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Awesome

Love it sooooooooooooo much
Kid, 12 years old July 29, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Candy Crazy Movie

It's a fun movie, but it can some-what encourage children to eat lots of sweets. It's violent because of all if the mean children and how they treat Charlie. The film has bad role models because Mr. Willie Wonka ran away from home at a very young age just to taste all the candies of the world.
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages