Common Sense Media says

Gritty boxing saga not for the faint of heart.

Users say

(out of 20 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoviemogul April 9, 2008
Parent of a 12 year old Written bylittleone522 January 31, 2011

Mild language my a**

Although this type of movie is really not my thing, I thought I'd review it before letting my son watch. Concerns parents might have with this movie are as follows: -Some pretty intense boxing violence -People seen smoking both cigarettes and cigars -People seen drinking -Coarse Language: Use of "a_s" 6 times Use of "a_shole" 1 time Use of "sh_t" 2 times Use of "Bullsh_t" 2 times Use of "Bast_rd" 3 times Use of "son of a b_tch" 2 times Use of "god da_n" 5 times Use of "Jesus Chr_st" 4 times Use of "Chr_st sake" 2 times Use of "hell" 7 times Some positive messages in this movie include: -never give up, no matter what -and a great message on "stealing" Because of the language in this movie I feel it is not appropriate for children to watch if they are under the age of 13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bylisap April 9, 2008
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoviemogul 2.0;... April 9, 2008

I rewatched this recently, now that I am 15

I remember waiting a three months for this movie to come out and saw it when I was 14 (As is obvious if you look at the first kid review-- name look familiar?) A few months later and more movies in, this movie still stands as one of my all time favorites. I know, this sounds like I'm just some teen who likes bad movies-- don't worry, I know I'm not (seeing as my favorite movies include "A Beautiful Mind", "Schindler's List", and "The Green Mile"). Let me just say that this was THE most inspiring movie I had seen at the time, and might still be, except maybe for "Schindler's List". There really sin't much bad content. Language is basically a "s" words (I do NOT recall a mouth "f" word), and violence is your basic boxing violence, nothing serious.
Educator and Parent Written byRugbymike July 8, 2016

Good movie, good message, bad language

It's a really good movie but be aware of the language. There's multiple G**damn, as well as a**hole, shi*.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byTotally500 November 1, 2012

Cinderella Man WELL DONE!

well done movie well shot well acted well everything even i cried a bit
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 23, 2009

Its ok

I only saw the first part of it. It made my stomach hurt
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written byrobinpeggy April 9, 2008

the violence is easy to avoid

I cannot watch boxing violence, so was able to turn my head. I plan to take my 11 year old, because he can do the same thing, and the messages of this film are worth the head-turning. Honor, love, human dignity, real family values...and a portrait of life in the Depression that shaped his grandparents, but about which our kids are not taught in school.
Adult Written bydudeman123 April 9, 2008

heart pounding

THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE, I enjoyed this even more than rocky. This movie will have you standing and cheering at the end of it, its that good. A great underdog story and trust me the first time you see this movie your heart will be pounding in the last match its one of those movies
Teen, 16 years old Written bygrantk September 22, 2015

They need a separate category for blood outside of violence

Boxing is not violence. it is a sport. CSM needs a new category for blood/gore. Boxing is a legitimate sport and CSM must recognize that
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bymathewa October 28, 2014

Great film deserves PG-13 rating

Boxing violence. Moderate language. Smoking of cigarettes and cigars. Sexual insults. Boxing match promotions. Jimmy Braddock. Never give up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byRhian De Questa July 30, 2013

An underrated film.

A beautifully told story about the Great Depression and the difficulty it reflects on the Irish boxer the film centers around. He is a wonderful role model, and while the movie is violent and gritty, and uses language, the touching family scenes and lessons of determination, love and sacrifice for the people you love makes it a movie you shouldn't miss. It is based on an amazing true story, and presses the struggles of families during the Great Depression into your heart as you watch, pushing me to the point of tears in a few scenes. Russell Crowe and Renee Zellweger make a beautiful love story - and they are already married. Their acting is superb, as is that of the supporting cast members. Cinderella Man is double thumbs up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bygrayuzi August 25, 2009
We watched this at school, it is a realy good movie but lots of boxing violence, some blood too. There is also s**t, B***h, and hell.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great role models
Adult Written byMonark April 9, 2008

AWESOME!! *****

If you have a family, and have ever gone thru different periods in your life that were good then bad? I mean a very close family. A family that would do anything for each other. FOREVER & ALWAYS! This movie is AWESOME! Ron & Russell are great together AGAIN! If anyone seeing this film doesn't get a tear in their eye at least once...(WELL THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH YOU!)
Adult Written bykitode April 9, 2008

Sophisticated movie with great messages

Really depends on the child. The movie takes place in the depression and all major characters are adults. If your child can handle the violence, this is a sophisticated movie with pretty clear messages that are: * a family can lose everything material and still stick together. * most adults are responsible, and even if they make occasional mistakes they try as hard as they possibly can. * sometimes, people have really, really horrible luck. * specific examples of people struggling and the real problems that they face with varying success. * examples of conflict that arise due to circumstances. The boxing scenes are rough, but they're boxing, not gratuitous dismemberment, huge over-glamorized bombs or anything my teen son would consider "gun porn." In fact I think for teens who glamorize violence, this is a good reality check movie. It's not actually about the boxing, it's about the family struggle. I also think it's particularly good for kids who are terrified of what would happen if they became poor, or who have feelings that poor people are in some way fundamentally different than they are. I strongly recommend seeing this with your relatively sophisticated teen(s) as a shared experience that, even if you don't talk about it right away, might provide a valuable reference point in the future. Very strongly recommended for 15+. (I'm very squeamish, but it was fine.) Girls/women too.
Adult Written bybooqradely April 9, 2008

A real story

This is the best I've seen from Ron Howard. It is true that the boxing can make you cringe - that was the whole purpose. If you don't like boxing, and I don't, you can put your eyes down in parts because the story is so compelling. It brings up great dialogue about the depression and what real men with values look like. Not to mention the cinematography and the editing. If you like to watch movies for those parts of the craft, you'll find Howard's use of real time clever and appreciate his respect for the intelligence of the viewer.
Adult Written byimabookworm April 9, 2008
Adult Written byzelda dude April 9, 2008

good movie

good boxing movie some strong language f-word mouthed very violent 14+
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008

cachty movie but a lot of punching in some parts

this movie is honestly cool but there is one f word in a scene .i liked this movie
Adult Written byquest13 April 9, 2008

Good

Awesome Amazing with a passion.