All member reviews for Coraline

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 306 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old August 23, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

INTENDED to be creepy! Stop whining about it.

Great movie! I hate people who keep saying it's too scary/innapropriate, because DUH. If you show a 8 year old (or under) this movie, which is intended to be creepy, they will obviously get creeped out. Jeez, people are ignorant now-a-days. Anyways, good movie. Great animation, original story. Very imaginative!
Teen, 16 years old Written byxxxemilayxxx March 20, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

For all you insane parents giving this a 17 +

Seriously, I went and saw this movie about a month ago, and it was amazing. I loved the characters and the setting. I can't believe people would rate this as "inappropriate for children under 17" because of an old lady with a huge chest wearing pasties. She's a ANIMATED CHARACTER. How disturbed do you think your kids are going to be? If you keep them sheltered like that, imagine what the real world do to them. The movie was a bit too scary for little kids, I'd say ages 8 and up.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymibblesPerson September 19, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

the reason saying this movie is okay for 9 year old's is ridiculous, is...

because the kind of story it is. what I'm saying is the movie is made to scare creative people, not normal people. sure it will disturb normal people, heck it may make them stay awake the night they watch it, but it will not scar them. I watched this movie when I was 7. BIG MISTAKE. I was terrified for a year and a half. this movie was every thing I feared most, and more. what you should know is that this movie will put ideas in your child's mind like, a pleasant world that resembles yours and every thing you wanted put in, Then the entire world trapping you and hunting you down to steal your eyes. a figure that looks just like your mother turning into a freakish monster and trying to trap you in a room for all entirety. Your parnets getting taken away way by powerful and evil force that no one knows about. dolls that watch you and keep track of what you do for a creature that wants to trap you and sow buttons were your eyes should be. ghosts of children living in a room for all entirety not being allowed to leave and go to heaven. A door in your house that leads to this horrid place, oh and there's one part were a lady is dancing with almost no clothes (she is also very ugly and old), and some blood comes out of some rats, but the blood is not to big of an issue considering I rated it for 13 .The creator of this story also said this "this story was made to scare the parents as much or more than the children." now this isn't exactly what he said, but it was to that effect. the reason Coraline keeps going to this place, and the reason no one stops her is because of her neglectful parents. will this scare a child? yes, but will it scar them? I don't know. you know your child better than me. is your child creative? if so, your child will love this movie, just make sure he (or she) is gotten to a point we they can tell real from the reality in there heads. the best thing is for you to watch the movie before them and decide if your kid can handle it or not.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byfellaZ August 16, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Great movie but really creepy

My sister seen this movie when she was 8, and she was that scared that she does not want to see it even when she is 11. I actually watch it all time even if i am 14 now and i like it. You should watch it when you are 12.
Kid, 11 years old February 28, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Okay, but creepy and partially disturbing.

I'm an 11 year old girl and I think that this movie is " iffy" for kids 11 and 10, "on" for 12+, and "off" for kids 9 and under. One scene that was partially disturbing was the one scene close to the end where Coroline is in the "other world" and she goes and watches a performance by the two elderly women. At the beginning of the show, after the first elderly woman does her first song, the elderly woman, Maurice, pops up (after a slide of the dogs running the opposite way on a giant rodent wheel) wearing a small thong ( which shows her buttocks briefly) and two small seashells covering only her nipples. Both outfits are very...,well,...revealing. The rest of that section and the torso are bare. Another reason this is disturbing is that some womens breasts are exagerated, sometimes greatly and sometimes minimumly, in size.There are one, maybe two uses of the word cr*p. I also rate this "iffy", "off", and "on", is because of the creepyness portion of the movie. One disturbing feature is the button eyes.CREEPY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I also do not like How the " Other Mother" eats bugs, and is basically a spider herself.It is kind of scary when the "Other Father" says, "So sharp you won't feel a thing" when they are talking about the ' putting buttons over the eyes buisness. My sister and I were kinda scared and I couldn't go to sleep. I had to sleep in my moms room! Remember!!! It all counts on the kid. Not really a grown-up movie at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old July 4, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

perfect movie!!!!

great movie with scares, laughs, and more!.....
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old June 22, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

its one of the best movies ever!

this movie may contain scenes that might scare children under age 7.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old June 20, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not a little kid movie

I honestly didn't like this movie very much. I'm not saying it's bad, it's just not my kind of movie; I'm not a fan of violent, action packed movies, I prefer romantic comedies and stuff like that. Parents, beware-just because it has dakota fanning and is animated doesn't mean it's appropriate for your 4 year olds. Although it was advertised mainly to the 2-8 yr old audienece, it really is more for ages 9+, and even teens. I don't think it was fair that in the previews, they didn't show the really scary parts and the "boobs" part (which was sick). Just know that if you want to rent it or see it, leave the kids under 10 at home unless you want them to have nightmares for the next few months.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 12, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

CREEPY!

Not good. i went and saw this with my dad, and man- it freaked me out! it's dark and slightly disturbing, without any of the humor or wittyness the Tim Burton adds to his films. there is some slightly racy sexual stuff- a almost naked old lady, but mostly it was just creepy! who wants to watch a movie about a girl who is being persued by these evil monsters who want to cut her eyes out and eat them? not me!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byMadelineMini April 3, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Too scary for kids under 9

When I was younger and I saw this movie it scared me, but I was pretty little. Now that I'm 13 it doesn't scare me at all, I still think it's dark and creepy though. Definitely a fun , creepy movie to watch and it's not too scary for tweens and up. Coraline is a good role model and a bad role model at the same time. She's disrespectful to her parents and Wybie at the beginning, but at the end she saves the ghost children and her parents at the end. There is nothing that is really inappropriate in the movie, it's just pretty creepy. The old ladies in bikinis scene might be a little inappropriate, but nothing too bad. The people who say it should be rated R are crazy and the people who say it's bad are just chickens who got too scared.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written by Swim3456 January 14, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

…. creepy

creepiest PG movie I have ever seen, by far. I think it should be PG-13 and that way you coulda added some swearing and it would have been much better. Even if you couldn't add the swearing, it should have been PG-13. Note to self: don't trust people with buttons for eyes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 21, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Too scary to be a PG movie!

Come on why is this a kids movie? Its the most violent movie ever right next to Saw and Monsters inc. Why isn't this movie rated PG-13 or rated R? This movie keeps giving me nightmares! Know what? I have had it with Coraline! Not the worst movie ever but very stupid!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustino4 April 23, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
This should not be a PG movie straight up. There are naked ladies dancing, there are cats that eat mice with blood gushing out of their mouthes and this movie overall is creepy as heck. This should be PG-13 all the way. The sad part is is that no one above 13 would want to see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 24, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Yikes!!!

This movie gives me the creeps! Even the book. I have had many nightmares of this movie like once, I had this dream when I failed a basketball game and my punishment for loosing was to go to the button world to see Beldam, Even Beldam is a creepy name. And She roared at me and put button eyes on me and I became her minion to stop coraline from escaping the button world but then a chihwowa came to save me by ripping the button eyes off my face before I became blind but then he got them off, attacked Beldam who is also named The Other Mother while I went to the hospital to have the doctors fix my brain and the rash I got on my eyes after ripping the button eyes! But it was a great movie!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old July 10, 2010
Teen, 13 years old Written byAetres April 24, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great plot, but even scared adults in the theater.

This movie is about a demonlike woman who tricks sad kids to thinking they are in paradise, in a world filled with clones of real people with deadpan voices and buttons for eyes. Eventually, the woman will convince them to get buttons sewn into their eyes (the father claims it doesn't hurt), but in the process, she eats their soul. This is revealed when Coraline is in a room with three eerie ghost children who tell her what happened. There is a scene involving two half-naked women in the drama theater, one of which has a bra and underwear and the other has pants but not even a bra (just small stickers covering her nipples). The demon woman transforms into a gruesome monster-like thing that leads Coraline into a scary chase scene. Watch scenes of the movie online and not the previews (they are very misleading) to decide if you would like to show someone this movie. It comes off as a kid-friendly movie, but I wouldn't advise that you show anyone under the age of 10. It scared adults in the theater.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old April 3, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

I am going to lose it i am sorry just please watch it

WHAT IS WRONG WITH YOU DUMB PEOPLE I CAN NOT BELIEVE YOU WOULD SAY THERE WAS ANYTHING WRONG WITH CORALINE WHICH I HAVE LOVED SINCE I WAS A BABY I AM SO FREAKING MAD YOU DUMB PEOPLE ON THIS SITE %%*&^%)*&()$#*#%# cough* thank you
Kid, 12 years old March 8, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

a little grim

I love this movie this is a dark movie as intended to be. Young kid will likely get scared at first toureds the end well can you blame them but in all reality it's a heart warming movie and are young hero Caroline is relatable and will soon lean a good lesson to it mite me dark but it's fun to.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 27, 2015
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

LOVE it, but creepy!

This movie is SUPER dark and VERY creepy! NOT good for little kids AT ALL. The only reason it is an "iffy 10" for me is because it is animated. Otherwise it would be a 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old February 12, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Help!!!!!!!!!!!!

This was the scariest movie I have ever seen. It should be rated R. R R R!!!!. This is a horror movie. I couldn't even finish it. Everyone said it was fine. But No. It is NOT!!! It gave me and my sister nightmares for 3 months!!! This is EVIL!! too much SCARINESS

Pages