All member reviews for Coraline

Kids say

(out of 313 reviews)
age 9+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written bystfranciswashere January 4, 2014
age 11+
 

Beautiful and difficult, but not for children.

Coraline Jones is one of the best female role models in movies today. She's strong, independent, and lovably flawed. Following in the steps of the brilliant book by Neil Gaiman, this movie deals with really difficult subjects, such as the nature of the soul. Coraline is beautiful and tugs at your heart strings, but the visuals are still done by Tim Burton and they are not for children. This is not a children's movie. I would recommend it to all teens and adults, but it is absolutely not for children.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 22, 2013
age 8+
 

I've been traumatized!

I saw this movie like 5 years ago, but I STILL have nightmares about it. I was scared of my parents for two hours after the movie, and had at least two nightmares a month about it for the rest of the year or so. Now they are more rare. I couldn't even go into the bathroom alone or sleep alone.... I was sooooo freaked out that the evil,child abducting, human eating half spider half human would jump out and eat me. I hate to admit but I'm still scared of that stupid movie. Plot in my eyes: if I remember correctly, this lonely loner girl moves into a creepy apartment and is neglected by her parents and finds a trapdoor and went in and found a creepily sweet version of her mom with scary button eyes and decides to live with her instead sometimes. Her other-parents are rude and kinda suspicious at the beginning of the movie, but later.... They turn EVIL!!! Basically Coraline makes new friends in the other wold and is spoiled by her new parents, but then they ask her to cut out her eyes and replace them with buttons. That's when I really started to get traumatized! They start being kinda mean and abusive, like for example, throwing the poor girl in a dungeon with the ghosts of children the other mother murdered. Apparently the witch had the poor children's souls so they couldn't get into heaven, poor things! And the fake dad turns out to be a really really creepy robot henchman. Eventually the other mother traps Coraline in the other world and traps her parents in a snow globe and tries to kill Coraline by fighting in a spider web that you can see the ghost children's wrapped up corpses in. Coraline saves her real parents and gets out, but the black widow spider lady's disembodied arm comes after her to abduct her so she can be eaten. Eventually some dude squishes the spider lady or whatever. Please don't show your little kids this, they won't trust you and they'll have nightmares forever.I also think I remember a naked lady and some not very nice words. Not cusses that I remember, but still... Violence: 10/10 people almost are murdered! Inappropriate stuff: 3/10 I think it shows most of a lady's chest... I mean less clothes than Ariel. Language: 2/10 it says jerk and stupid a lot and people are really rude sometimes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 14, 2013
age 17+
 

SEXY STUFF AND VIOLENCE

CORALINE IS A SICKO SICK GAME THAT IS DESCUSTING
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old October 31, 2013
age 8+
 

PG-13!? REALLY!?!?!?

COME ON PEOPLE! PG-13 is NOT a good rating for this movie! Sure, there is ONE bad part. JUST ONE! You can just cover your eyes on the two women!! And the other stuff is CREEPY, but it's not THE CONJURING creepy! Sure, there is one part where the Other Mother turns into creepy stuff, and yes, the people with buttons in their eyes are really creepy! I've been through it myself! 8 and up is a good rating. Parents, teens, kids.... I think, PG is a perfect rating for this movie. Nothing higher, NOTHING LOWER!
Teen, 16 years old Written byfunkyrooster707 October 30, 2013
age 8+
 

Nothing to worry about

its a great movie with lots of cool effects the lady with the big boobies (mrs forcible) WAS JUST WEARING A ZIPPER COSTUME you know, like a barney costume..
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bynoelles04 October 29, 2013
age 10+
 

Coraline!!!

i loved this movie I saw it when I was nine and I read the book and memorized every line from the movie my parents thought I was insane but oh well. I think this movie gave me a positive message saying "things aren't always as good as they may seem" or "be careful what you wish for". I dont think its really for kids though because some scenes are a bit scary and could possibly scar young children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byKlutzy October 27, 2013
age 9+
 

Great "kid" horror movie

I love this movie! It captures your attention from the beginning all the way until the end. The moral of this movie is explained by the movies slogan "be careful what you wish for". Coraline discovers that the grass is not always greener on the other side. In this movie Coraline feels unloved and neglected by her parents, neighbors, and friend Wybie. She soon finds a little door that is bricked up. However later that night a mouse leads her to that door and a strange portal or tunnel opens up that leads to a replica of the house only everything is better. It seems as though everything is a dream come true until the "other mother" trys to keep her there forever. Coraline quickly discorvs the truth about the world she thought was paridice and quickly tries to escape from the "spiders web". Skeptical Scenes: 1. Bad language: The word Crap is used, and insults like Jerkwad, Idiot, creep, woos puss, and psycho nerd are used. 2. During Miss Spink's and Miss Forcible's play they are nearly naked. Granny panties and a bathing suit tope cover up Miss Spink. Starfish and hair cover up Miss Forcible's breasts and a small bathing suit bottom covers up the bottom half. I would recommend watching the watching the full scene before your kids do. 3. The other mother turns out to be a witch called the Beldam. She abducts kids and eats up their lives. This isn't anything that she does that is truly scar what is freighting is the frozen looks of the ghost children's faces, the deteriorating appearance of the Beldam and the characters that she created, and the concept of the beldam sewing buttons in the children's eyes (doesn't actually happen)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old October 22, 2013
age 9+
 

Derranged Children's Movie???

It's supermelonkitty204 with your top reviews. Though "Coraline" might seem like a calm movie, the whole film has a very creepy vibe. The story is about a young girl moving to an old apartment building in a quiet and mysterious little town. Coraline, the main character, travels to another dimension through a secret door in her home every night. The land is filled with succulent treats and whimsical characters. She is involved in somewhat strange activities. After several visits, her "other" parents (the ones from the other world) want to sow buttons in her eyes but she refuses. When she rebels, the so called "wondrous land" turns into a dark ruin full of hatred. Her parents are trapped and she must escape while freeing them. This strange, creepy, and might I say derranged movie is a stop for kids 9 and younger.
Kid, 10 years old October 15, 2013
age 7+
 

I think Carrie is better...

Which is better: A movie about a girl with magical powers ( bloody violence included ), OR a movie about creepy people that want to sew buttons into the girls EYES then KILL her? RATED R CARRIE SEEMS BETTER!
Kid, 12 years old September 29, 2013
age 9+
 

FREAKY FOR A KID'S MOVIE?????

Be warned, went I saw this when I was 8, I was freaked out of my freakin mind. It creeps me out to this day.......
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byTommyhead September 25, 2013
age 14+
 

Horror Movie

Agegroups: 14+
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byLiveLoveLOL August 14, 2013
age 9+
 

Scary

I watched this when I was around nine, and I freaked out. I turned it off halfway through when Coraline's real parents were gone. It was disturbing and scary to me, but I get freaked out easily. I wouldn't recommend it for kids below 7 though, and it's iffy for 8-9. If she/he is frightened easily, then I wouldn't suggest this.
Kid, 11 years old August 7, 2013
age 9+
 

what you should know

I myself think is an AMAZING movie. but I think it is not made for all children, like for ezanple my sister. when she saw the movie she was so frittened that she cried like 5 times during the movie, she even had to stay out of the theather!!! but of course she is scared of certain things. but my brother is littler than my sister and he loved it. this is a movie I would say is for kids who are brave and enjoy's a llitle scare or two. it's a movie that's exiting, triling, mystirius and obove all scary fun. but ofcourse I am just a fan, so my thoughts may be different than yours. I hope this was a help.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 9 years old July 31, 2013
age 9+
 

a bit scary but good

its just a little scary because of the fake mother and the trapping but over-all it was really good
Kid, 10 years old July 31, 2013
age 11+
 

Scary as crap!

Tim Burton is a scary guy but this is insane! Scary!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not for anyone under 10.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 25, 2013
age 9+
 

creepy but not that bad

Vitamins to me is a great movie but it is slightly creeper than most of Tim Burton's movies there are scary screens w here t h e other mother turns into spider and they show practically naked old women on a stage I do think though that parents need to stop complaining it's to scary this movie is supposed to be creepy if you think it's to scary for your kid just don't have them watch it because this movie doesn't need to be any higher than PG
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2013
age 12+
 

terrifying!

This movie is good, but really scary! When I saw it when I was about nine I kept feeling like the Other Mother was hiding in my closet. and 3girlsmom, I think what you said was very mean and uncalled for. first off, I am a nice person. Just because you're nice doesn't mean you cant enjoy scary movies. my parents are not neglectful and we do have strong morals. So I think you are the one who is not nice. I totally agree with xxxemilayxxx. If you keep sheltering kids, they're going to be in for a shock soon.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 20, 2013
age 10+
 

This is really great!

One of the best scary movies for girls and boys. Teaches an important lesson too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byomigodbecky July 16, 2013
age 7+
 

5 STARS Y NOT.

Holy crap, this is my favorite movie of all time. I watched this movie when I was real young, and it's not bad at all. There's just crap and d*mn in there, but that's really not that bad if your kids wont say it at home.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byKyle1414 June 17, 2013
age 11+
 

This movie is actually very creepy

This movie is supposed to be for kids. NO! This movie is honestly quite creepy! I saw it 4 years ago when when I was almost 10 in the year of 2009 because that's when It came out. I was pretty creeped out, especially since I was in a dark movie theater with a big screen, and I was a lot smaller. I'm almost 14 and the movie doesn't scare me at all NOW, but when I was almost 10 I was kinda sketched out. Coraline is so creepy for little kids, that it actually got me into watching horror movies. That's how creepy it is. I can watch tons of horror movies now and not get scared though. I love the woman in black, the possession, dead silence, the crazies, the haunting in Connecticut, let me in, etc. Kids who are UNDER age 11 shouldn't watch this movie. I watched it a couple of days ago now that I am older, and I liked it a lot because I'm not NEARLY creeped out by it anymore because of the actual horror movies I watch. But yes, like I said now that I'm older, I actually like it a lot.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages