All member reviews for Dark Shadows

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 62 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old September 1, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Dark Shadows

Gotham meets Johnny Depp with Tim Burton makes yet again a messey, cleshay and cheesey entry to the Depp & Burton mash up with some corney laughs. Dark Shadows brings nothing new to the table with some really uneeded peformers and plot wholes, and has a very messey and stupid tone switching from Dark to Funny and on and on. Overall Dark Shadows does deliver a few chuckels at best with some ok peformances (Johnny Depp) and some awful peformances (Eva Green & Chloe Grace Moretz).
Teen, 17 years old Written byPeopleschamp1995 August 15, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

I want Ilwatch more of the show now

It was very Good better than the show
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byMovied14 August 8, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Dark Shadows(2012)

It's very underwhelming and it's not bad by any means it's just not that good.
Teen, 13 years old Written byBritneyBritney July 20, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Terrible movie

For me dark shadows=worst movie ever. I expected a funny movie, but the funniest parts of this movie were in the previews. It was more creepy than anything, but the gore was corny and the whole movie was downright stupid. Might be a good first scary movie, if even that, but overall, it was just terrible.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMissKarissimo June 27, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

READ THIS, NOW. I TELL THE TRUTH!

This film was really good, funny and full of action. The storyline was good and at times it was a bit rude. Some of the people's reviews you will read are not true. Yeah, don't take kids under 10, but kids over 10 would really enjoy it. Most people see Johnny Depp as a pirate and all that and don't like to see him different, but he was a really good vampire. A review you may read says that Burton could not choose whether to make the film a comedy or twilight movie, but maybe he was trying to mix them together, bringing both lots of fans to watch this film. That is the intelligence of this man. He is just amazing. So I think you should watch it if you are over 10/11 and enjoy, because it's a really good combanation of comedy, vampires and action (and a little bit of romance.) ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bySpielberg00 May 31, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Not all that great...

My suggested MPAA rating: PG-13 for supernatural violence, comic sexual content, language, drug and alcohol use, and smoking. VIOLENCE: 3.5/5 - Nothing realistic, but pretty intense. Will likely scare younger children, but no one who is a teenager or older. SEX: 4/5 - One particularly rambunctious sex scene that I won't dare to describe. In another scene, a character bends over while treating Barnabas, and we assume she is performing oral sex before the camera cuts away to the next scene. Barnabas makes frequent reference to "birthing hips". LANGUAGE: 3/5 - One or two uses of "s--t" and "b---ard". A woman is referred to as a "b--ch". DRINKING, DRUGS & SMOKING: 3/5 - One character likes drinking and taking pills a lot. Otherwise, a good amount of smoking, especially among hippies in one scene.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 29, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

A "MUST SEE" for Tim Burton fans!

Tim Burton and Johnny Depp team up for the eighth time in this movie remake of "Dark Shadows." Though it is not the best Burton/Depp collaboration, it has everything a Burton fan could ask for. The mix of Fantasy and Comedy give this film the right balance, and I highly recommend that you see it. Violence isn't too bad, most deaths are offscreen, though the film does contain blood, and a few bites in the neck(not in detail, though). Language includes sh-t, b-tch, a--hole, d--n, hell, and other uses of mild language. There is a lot of very suggestive sexy stuff, like kissing, suggestive dancing, etc(you could check the imdb website, Parents guide, for more details). I strongly recommend it to mature kids, 12 and up, and I wouldn't let anyone under that age see it(I went to see it at the cinemas with my mum, and made sure that my 10 year old sister, and 7 year old brother, weren't allowed to come, as I knew it would be innappropriate for them). Other Burton collaborators include Helena Bonham Carter, Michelle Pfeiffer(starring in her second Burton film; her first was Batman Returns), and Christopher Lee. If you are a Tim Burton fan, like me, then this movie is a MUST SEE!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byBelmarmoives May 27, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

BELMAR PRESENTS

i was quite disapointed not relly good for kids 14 and under my sister started crying at some of the back stories some parts are relly funny if you get that kind of stuff the moive didnt do much for me still not a bad moive
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestPicture1996 May 27, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Odd, less impressive addition to Burton's canon

Wonderful images come to mind when you think of Burton/Depp collaborations, but this movie will likely not be in those memories. Though Depp is predictably excellent in his snooty, but elegant and funny role (maybe they'll give him a Golden Globe or something) and the rest of the cast is fine all around, the movie can't seem to decide what genre it is: horror, comedy, melodrama. And it turns out just falling flat.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old May 24, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Yes to TV, No to Movie!

I really love the TV Sitcom of Dark Shadows but the movie? Not so much... It had too much XXX and it was very dissapointing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byNovalita May 22, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

FANTASTIC

I LOVE THIS MOVIE SO MUCH! It's really funny and not that scary. It has a lot of innuendo in it, so I wouldn't let a little kid watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 21, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Very iffy, but very good as well

I'm gonna make this short, sweet and simple. This movie is for mature tweens and teens only, not for kids. It isn't anything horrible, most of the more sexual stuff is skimmed over and not in detail, and the violence is fine for anyone who's seen any action movie (live action, that is). One suggestion: don't make this the first thing that is sexually inappropriate. Since it browses over so much, there will be a lot of questions from your child if they don't know what is going on during that. As for quality, this truly is a Burton classic. If you're a fan of his style, this one is a must see. It is chock full of his usual eeriness, beauty in design and story, quirky humor, amazing costumes and set, and as I like to call it, "epicness", in the way that he creates a tale that feels fully fleshed out, dramatic, entertaining the whole way through, poetic, and finished in a final epic stroke of genius.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bylittlemonster98 May 21, 2012
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Johnny Depp made great , hilarious movie...for older teens

Thsi movie was hilarious and of course...a look into the twisted mind of Tim Burton...this movie has some mild sex in it and a suprising amount of violence. Although it is very rare, the violence that is shown is suprisingly violent and rather bloody. This is a vampire movie though. Teens will definetely enjoy this movie. I know i did.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byBaileyKnowsBest May 20, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good, but a little innapropriate.

Mostly sexual innuendo, refrences, content. Most violent scene is at the end of the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old May 20, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Don't bother

When I saw the trailer for Dark Shadows, I thought it was going to be a funny vampire movie spoof. Turns out they took the only funny parts of the movie and put them into the trailer to make it seem like it was going to be a comedy. With Johnny Depp, I'm used to funny movies and this wasn't funny. It had a couple funny parts, but I expected much more. There was constant killing and two women committed suicide by falling off a cliff. Frankly, it was quite frightening. There was a disturbing image of a ghost. When a little girl was taken away to a mental asylum, she was screaming for her parents. Then she had electric shock treatments which were very disturbing to me. The constant sexual references made me uncomfortable and made me want to leave the theater. There was one sex scene in which you didn't actually see anything but made me uncomfortable anyway. The swearing wasn't too bad, but there were some pretty bad words in there, ex. wh--re, bas--rd. The violence was horrible. The women fell off the cliffs and you see them smashing onto the pointy rocks below. There was an excessive amount of killing. I wish I hadn't gone to see it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byLittle movie freak May 19, 2012
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Johnny Depp stars as a vampire in this funny, bizarre, and quirky vampire tale! *Expect some very bizarre and frightening action, mild suggestive innuendo, and brief mild inappropriate language/cursing*.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 19, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

dark and scary

This is the first tim burton movie i have ever watched so i was expecting crazy plots,ecentric characters and good old supernatural scares.And this dos not disapoint.yes,it maybe was not as funny as it could be and some of the sex and volienceis pretty intense for a 12a(pg-13 in america).i watched this with my mom ,my brother and his freind.we all jumped at times.But despite a dissapointing script and decindengly tacky special effects,johnny depp and eva green deliver the best sex scence ever!and the OMG finalie is awsome!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 6 years old May 18, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Vampire

Well this movie was good and I loved it. The whole movie is about a very old vampire named Barnevous and he has awoken from his iron box. The family at his house is related to him and the daughter is a werewolf. The movie does have some bad moments but it is a great movie. Funny thing i'm 12 hahahahaha.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovieguy97 May 15, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

This Generations Addams Family

Pretty good movie
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovie_Lover123 May 13, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

P.G 13???????

It was a ok movie. I thought it was kinda creppy though! Barnabus kills alot of pepole (nothing is shown). Some sexy stuff. If your use to stuff like that you can handle it :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex

Pages