All member reviews for Dark Shadows

Common Sense Media says

Mixed-up Depp/Burton vampire comedy has blood, innuendo.
 

Users say

(out of 87 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byShadesOfRemorse June 15, 2012
age 13+
 

Okay.

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byIamfine June 10, 2012
age 18+
 

Dark Shadows - rating not age appropriate

Parents whose children are Johnny Depp fans should give it a miss. I took my two aged 9 and 12 as they are big fans and there were some pretty uncomfortable moments. One was the suggested sex scene after Eva Green pulled her dress off and asked if JD still wanted her, some of the language and the 'patient confidentiality' moment. In places it was quite good, but really not worth the effort unless you are a die hard fan. Sorry, I wanted to like it as Tim Burton, Johnny Depp and Helena BC are normally good together.
Teen, 14 years old Written bySpielberg00 May 31, 2012
age 14+
 

Not all that great...

My suggested MPAA rating: PG-13 for supernatural violence, comic sexual content, language, drug and alcohol use, and smoking. VIOLENCE: 3.5/5 - Nothing realistic, but pretty intense. Will likely scare younger children, but no one who is a teenager or older. SEX: 4/5 - One particularly rambunctious sex scene that I won't dare to describe. In another scene, a character bends over while treating Barnabas, and we assume she is performing oral sex before the camera cuts away to the next scene. Barnabas makes frequent reference to "birthing hips". LANGUAGE: 3/5 - One or two uses of "s--t" and "b---ard". A woman is referred to as a "b--ch". DRINKING, DRUGS & SMOKING: 3/5 - One character likes drinking and taking pills a lot. Otherwise, a good amount of smoking, especially among hippies in one scene.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 29, 2012
age 12+
 

A "MUST SEE" for Tim Burton fans!

Tim Burton and Johnny Depp team up for the eighth time in this movie remake of "Dark Shadows." Though it is not the best Burton/Depp collaboration, it has everything a Burton fan could ask for. The mix of Fantasy and Comedy give this film the right balance, and I highly recommend that you see it. Violence isn't too bad, most deaths are offscreen, though the film does contain blood, and a few bites in the neck(not in detail, though). Language includes sh-t, b-tch, a--hole, d--n, hell, and other uses of mild language. There is a lot of very suggestive sexy stuff, like kissing, suggestive dancing, etc(you could check the imdb website, Parents guide, for more details). I strongly recommend it to mature kids, 12 and up, and I wouldn't let anyone under that age see it(I went to see it at the cinemas with my mum, and made sure that my 10 year old sister, and 7 year old brother, weren't allowed to come, as I knew it would be innappropriate for them). Other Burton collaborators include Helena Bonham Carter, Michelle Pfeiffer(starring in her second Burton film; her first was Batman Returns), and Christopher Lee. If you are a Tim Burton fan, like me, then this movie is a MUST SEE!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byFrankinf May 28, 2012
age 10+
 

great!

it is scary funny and has some segative language and sexual jokes
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bytreat02 May 28, 2012
age 14+
 

sexual

I was VERY surprised at the amount of sexual activity in this movie. But, if you're taking your child to see this, I'd recommend, some parts you skip out. But, beware, the language isn't very well either.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byBelmarmoives May 27, 2012
age 18+
 
LEARNING

BELMAR PRESENTS

i was quite disapointed not relly good for kids 14 and under my sister started crying at some of the back stories some parts are relly funny if you get that kind of stuff the moive didnt do much for me still not a bad moive
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byBestPicture1996 May 27, 2012
age 14+
 

Odd, less impressive addition to Burton's canon

Wonderful images come to mind when you think of Burton/Depp collaborations, but this movie will likely not be in those memories. Though Depp is predictably excellent in his snooty, but elegant and funny role (maybe they'll give him a Golden Globe or something) and the rest of the cast is fine all around, the movie can't seem to decide what genre it is: horror, comedy, melodrama. And it turns out just falling flat.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byage 10+ May 27, 2012
age 13+
 

One Of My Favourites!

Kid, 12 years old May 24, 2012
age 16+
 

Yes to TV, No to Movie!

I really love the TV Sitcom of Dark Shadows but the movie? Not so much... It had too much XXX and it was very dissapointing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMusicRock668 May 23, 2012
age 14+
 

wate of money

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byNovalita May 22, 2012
age 13+
 

FANTASTIC

I LOVE THIS MOVIE SO MUCH! It's really funny and not that scary. It has a lot of innuendo in it, so I wouldn't let a little kid watch it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 6 and 9 year old Written byTuesdayBear May 22, 2012
age 16+
 

Interesting movie, not for everyone

As an adult, I think you have to go into this movie knowing that both Burton and Depp are big fans of the original Dark Shadows series. This movie stems from their love of the original. It really seems to be more of an homage to the television show than a serious movie. Prepare to suspend your disbelief on this one. The central love story really isn't well developed, which detracts from the plot. However, if you love the quirkiness that is the standard bill of fare for Burton/Depp collaborations, then you'll enjoy this movie. As far as children go, I disagree with the 13+ recommendation. During a scene between Barnabas and Angie, there is a shot of Barnabas climbing in between Angie's legs as seen from her perspective. I really felt that was too risque for anyone younger than older teens. The bottom line? See this movie if you love Burton, Depp, or Helena Bonham-Carter at their quirkiest. But leave the kids at home.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old May 21, 2012
age 12+
 

Very iffy, but very good as well

I'm gonna make this short, sweet and simple. This movie is for mature tweens and teens only, not for kids. It isn't anything horrible, most of the more sexual stuff is skimmed over and not in detail, and the violence is fine for anyone who's seen any action movie (live action, that is). One suggestion: don't make this the first thing that is sexually inappropriate. Since it browses over so much, there will be a lot of questions from your child if they don't know what is going on during that. As for quality, this truly is a Burton classic. If you're a fan of his style, this one is a must see. It is chock full of his usual eeriness, beauty in design and story, quirky humor, amazing costumes and set, and as I like to call it, "epicness", in the way that he creates a tale that feels fully fleshed out, dramatic, entertaining the whole way through, poetic, and finished in a final epic stroke of genius.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written bylittlemonster98 May 21, 2012
age 16+
 

Johnny Depp made great , hilarious movie...for older teens

Thsi movie was hilarious and of course...a look into the twisted mind of Tim Burton...this movie has some mild sex in it and a suprising amount of violence. Although it is very rare, the violence that is shown is suprisingly violent and rather bloody. This is a vampire movie though. Teens will definetely enjoy this movie. I know i did.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byBaileyKnowsBest May 20, 2012
age 14+
 

Good, but a little innapropriate.

Mostly sexual innuendo, refrences, content. Most violent scene is at the end of the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byLittle movie freak May 19, 2012
age 14+
 

Johnny Depp stars as a vampire in this funny, bizarre, and quirky vampire tale! *Expect some very bizarre and frightening action, mild suggestive innuendo, and brief mild inappropriate language/cursing*.

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old May 19, 2012
age 13+
 

dark and scary

This is the first tim burton movie i have ever watched so i was expecting crazy plots,ecentric characters and good old supernatural scares.And this dos not disapoint.yes,it maybe was not as funny as it could be and some of the sex and volienceis pretty intense for a 12a(pg-13 in america).i watched this with my mom ,my brother and his freind.we all jumped at times.But despite a dissapointing script and decindengly tacky special effects,johnny depp and eva green deliver the best sex scence ever!and the OMG finalie is awsome!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 6 years old May 18, 2012
age 12+
 

Vampire

Well this movie was good and I loved it. The whole movie is about a very old vampire named Barnevous and he has awoken from his iron box. The family at his house is related to him and the daughter is a werewolf. The movie does have some bad moments but it is a great movie. Funny thing i'm 12 hahahahaha.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byImjustsaying May 16, 2012
age 18+
 

too sexy for under 16

Too sexy for anyone under 16 at least.
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages