All member reviews for Dark Skies

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old March 13, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Just okay...

I thought this movie had a bunch of loose ends in the plot and never did I get truly scared. In this movie, all there is to worry about is how mature you are. If you can get scared easily, then maybe this isn't right for you. But, there are some scenes that make you jump a little. The sexual innuendo was useless and kind of dumb. This PG-13 rating is good because it isn't so inappropriate but, you might get a little scared.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byThe Movie Watcher May 29, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Dark Skies

These kinds of movies (Science-fiction) could be taken and considered differently for many people. In this case, even though this movie is rated PG-13, it includes a lot of sci-fi violence, enough to completely disturb adult minds. I'd be careful about my sons watching this movie. It doesn't have too much bad REAL things though, but for the ones who think and believes most things they hear, this film might be completely shocking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bySouthernCutie1998 February 28, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Stupid and Trashy!

This movie was blantely stupid first off.Please do me a favor,and don't waste your money.Me and my mom went to see it and I felt awkward sitting there watching teens watch porn and touching girls breast!. I would never let my 12 yr old brother see it.The language was bad and had a memorable F**k in it, and that was very unexpected.I didn't like it at all,but maybe others will.I woudn't take your kids if your a decent parent,because watching people touch breast and watch porn isn't worth watching and this cussing!!! Don't go!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bymovie loving teen February 24, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

This Movie Absolutely Sucks!

I hate this movie. Worst of the year so far. Its not scary, its boring the preformances are awful. Keri Russel is a good actress she proved it with her show The Americans but this will make you think shes going in the wrong direction. This should be R for Horror Violence, Teen Drug Use, Langauge, and Brief Sexuality. Its just not good, this made Mama look acceptable.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byDog Bone November 2, 2013
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Ok

At times is very very creepy and some violence. Doesn't explain enough of the storyline. Fairly good, could better. Stupid sexual stuff involving teens. Some language.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byKyle1414 June 17, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Dark Skies is creepy with many confusing yet interesting twists!

This movie is quite creepy. Many scary things happen to little kids (if I say what happens it will be a spoiler) and there are scary aliens called "The Grey's" There is also a sex scene, but does not show anything explicit. There is also a scene where a 13 & 14 year old boy are watching porn, but doesn't show anything too bad
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byDC9000 March 18, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not scary, but not a bad movie...

This movie is not at all a scary movie, and all the scares are pop outs quite like the movie Insidious, the difference is the pop outs in this movie are a lot better and less stupid. I liked he fact that it was about aliens because it made it different. only ting to watch out for would be a scene or two in which the kids are seen for a few brief seconds watching porn. otherwise and ok movie but not very scary, this should be ok for a ten year old unless they are easily scared. Not something that will give nightmares, or leave you cowering at night.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheTrillionaire March 2, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Do NOT let children Under 12 watch this.

This might be iffy for teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byMike Boyle August 28, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Scariest Alien Movie I've ever seen. :O

This was the scariest alien movie I've ever seen and thats saying a lot. Pretty twisted ending and also extremely weird. Intensely scary. It also has some sexual stuff that is totally inappropriate. :P I thought it was pretty good. There is a brief drug scene and brief semi-mild porn. But its extremely scary. A little bit like Mel Gibson's Signs.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheenz June 22, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Loved it!

I watched it with my cousin and we both got scared in some bits! I wouldn't watch it by myself, definitely not! There is a few jump scares and the aliens are a little bit creepy! It is good but not recommended for little kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 18, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

good movie but dont go see it with your parents

kids under 9 shouldn't go see it because there is some sex and swearing in the movie and there is some blood.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byironkid21 March 17, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

okay alien horror flick would've been good...had it not been for the last couple of minutes

A horror flick about aliens and not ghosts or monsters? Is it awesome? Well...it's complicated. Let me explain. I was looking forward to this film because I really liked the idea and I thought it looked really cool but I was a little worried because it was coming from the director of "Legion" and "Priest". I haven't seen "Legion" but "Priest" was a mediocre film that could've had more to it and just like "Priest", this film was also mediocre but not as mediocre as "Priest". And don't get me wrong, at first it was a creepy and entertaining edge of your seat thriller. While a lot of it relies on jump scares and shocking imagery, it manages to be entertaining without making it lazily written like most recent movies like this. The characters are mostly well developed and we really care for them but they are pretty much the normal suburban family cliches. The mother that sells homes (Keri Russell, FX's "The Americans"), the father that's desperate for a job (Josh Hamilton), the tween boy that's hanging out with a bad influence (Dakota Goyo, "Real Steel", "Rise of the Guardians", "The Haunting Hour"), and the youngest boy (Kadan Rockett). The acting is okay for the most part. Keri Russell is pretty good, Josh Hamilton was okay but sort of over did it for me, and Dakota Goyo was really good and I think he's a really good actor but he has probably the most interesting story in this movie but has a reduced amount of screen time. Also at one point, J.K. Simmons has a scene where he is telling Keri Russell and Josh Hamilton about what's going on and it is definitely one of the best performances and scenes in this movie. With all this said, the film takes a big 180 spin in it's last 30 minutes or so. Right after the scene where J.K. Simmons tells them what's going on, the movie starts to get downright boring and ridiculous with an obvious lame rip off of the dinner table scene from "Signs". And there's a twist that I actually didn't expect but the way it ends...probably one of the worst endings I've seen in a while. "Dark Skies" could've been a really solid movie but had it had a better conclusion...it could've been just that but as it stands, its just another okay disposable film...2 and a half out of 5 stars
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old May 26, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

good if ur a horror fan

its really scary . some teens smoke pot and watch porn
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byShadowofchaos41 April 22, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

It was ok

It wasn't as good or as scary as I thought it would be. Just another movie you see once and that's all
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old April 16, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Rated 12... Weird.....

Not all horror movies are rated 12. 98% of them are rated 16. Well, this is rated 12, and I was kind of surprised when it was over, and it was kind of awkward watching this with mom, because of the sex scene..... and the teens with the sexual contents. This movie wasn't that scary, there was only one scary scene (not telling, sorry). This should be 14, not 12.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byblakehunter198 June 5, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Dark Skies

Great movie! Lives out PG-13 rating.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybannah March 4, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Amazing! I loved it!

I thought it was really good! It's defiantly not for the younger age groups, but I mean, I'm 15 and I watched it and I didn't find it disturbing or anything. It's a lot like the movie insidious. It had a lot of jumpy scenes. Okay-for the ratings, theres a four dot rating on violence, and I don't really agree with that. There wasn't much blood at all, and that was only once in the entire movie(And even then it was only because the main guy Daniel got a nose bleed---Though the nosebleed scene was kinda creepy) And the only other violent scene I can think of was the fie second fight between the two parents....There really wasn't much about drugs--there was only one part where you find that the son jesse was doing pot. Other than that though, nothing. Bad language---Thats mainly centered around Jesse's friend. Anyway though, I really liked it and would recommend it. Don't watch it if you don't like unfinished movies though. I'm ganna go ahead and tell you it ends on a cliff hanger....
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking