All member reviews for Despicable Me

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 199 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 17 years old Written bycyberboy5red November 10, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

It should've been rated G, curse you MPAA

There is absolutely nothing inappropriate in this movie. It was the perfect family film. I enjoyed it and even laughed a little! Like my review with Toontown Online, I only said 2 and up because that was the lowest option.
Teen, 13 years old Written byTom Cruise Fan October 21, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Despicable Me movie review

"Despicable Me" was one of my favorite movies of 2010. I think that the movie is great for children. It has so many funny moments and it is very entertaining to watch. There are many positive messages that run through the film. The villain eventually turns good and I liked how it was shown. I have watched this movie so many times. After a while this movie does get very boring. The only thing I loathe about the movie is the minions. Many people like them, but in my opinion, they slow down the movie. It was one of the best animated films of 2010. I really enjoyed the movie. It is fantastic for children who like comedies. I recommend checking it out if you know a younger child.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew September 14, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Silly premised humor in sweet movie about fatherhood and aliens

My rating:PG for rude humor and mild action
Kid, 9 years old August 13, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

good movie

good movie but some weapon some scenes maybe a bit scary
Teen, 13 years old Written byHightech Redneck August 8, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great animated film.

Tons of humor and some action. The story is mediocre but the minions are awesome! The animation is average. The voice acting is very good. It has some positive messages like don't be a jerk. It has some sad moments but a happy ending. Overall, it's mostly funny and the minions are the best part.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old July 23, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Funny and different ( in a good way)

This film is appropriate for the whole family (especially kids) me and my dad watched it and we both found it hilarious! We all liked the minions that have taken over everthing at the moment. There is no language and a brilliant film!! WATCH IT!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old July 15, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Thumbs up !

Gru is a great role model , he is the world's second biggest thief and still raises 3 little girls ! The only violence in the movie is like freeze guns and stuff like that . So , cartoon violence only . There are mild swear words e.g stupid and a minion photocopying himself when he is sitting on the copy machine .This is the first despicable me movie and at the same time currently the best one .
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byWebkinzEvelyn May 13, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Cute and funny

It was really cute and funny. It is school appropriate due to me watching it in middle school. It is rated PG. But I don't know if I can approve of that I call it a pretty tame and cute film. It's funny. One of the best films I have ever seen! Yes it is very popular and I can agree with that because this film deserves a better rating than most people give it credit for. Idk the only major thing I don't like about this movie is Vector! OMG I hate this character he is terrible! Oh well that's the only complaint I have for this film is the Vector. Aside from that I don't find anything wrong with this film! :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 11, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

weird and not for kids

funny but weird
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old April 15, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good

I love it, but might be kind of sad for little kids, when Gru takes the kids back to the orphanage.
Kid, 9 years old March 7, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

This Movie will Make you Laugh out Loud (and Cry a Little, too)!

Our family enjoyed this movie so much! The humor is sophisticated, but the overall message is comprehensible for even young children. In the end, the main character, who starts out as a villain, transforms through acts of love and kindness.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 7 years old February 22, 2014
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Funny Movie

I watched Despicable Me. The characters were Gru, 3 girls, and some minions. The minions are Gru's workers. Gru is a bad guy who wants to steal the moon. But there's a better bad guy who stole a pyramid. Then Gru adopts some girls. He adopts the girls so they could help him steal the moon. But then the girls get taken back and the other bad guy gets them. But Gru steals the moon and gets the girls back. I liked it because the Minions were funny at this dance recital.
Kid, 12 years old January 18, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

On par with Pixar movies

A very well done, original animated flick that you can watch again and again without getting bored. It is quite funny and also sweet. I love it, and have since it first came out. Those minions man.. frigin' hilarious.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old January 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Amazing

Amazing
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 4, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

THE BEST

VERY FUNNY AND HEARTWARMING.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bydespicable me fan November 14, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

the bonding of a life time

i think its a super good movie it cn help you and your child bond easily she or he will cuddle up next to you and you will laugh and smile. the day you watch this movie is the day you and your child will get to spend more time together.
Kid, 10 years old August 24, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Thumbs up.

Very funny with a lot of humor! Gru is at first the world's worst villan but ends up to be a nice guy who cares for his daughters. There is a scene where Victor and Gru have a battle but it's just silly made-up weapons. Awesome movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old August 10, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Not as good as the second one, though funny.

Despicable Me is an original film based on a super villain. Gru adopts three orphans, and it appears one has a gruesome death. A little girl goes in a cabinet with spikes, and realistic blood pours out of a small hinge. Then the door opens and she says "You poked a hole in my juice box." Despite that, most violence is cartoonish, and crude humor is not too intense. (A minion grabs Gru's private part and makes him squeal.) Overall, the movie is good. But not too good. 7+
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 24, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Very funny

The reason why I like this show, it's because it's very very very very very funny. I like the yellow creatures, they are also very funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 17, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Movie, but I like the second a lot better!

Nothing wrong, love the movie, but the second is better!

Pages