All member reviews for Despicable Me

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Clever, funny, and sweet villain-with-a-heart-of-gold tale.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 306 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old February 24, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
i saw this about 7 months ago, and i think it was good
Kid, 10 years old January 31, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

One of my fave movies

This movie is sooo funny! I highly reccomend it. It is great for all ages! Gru bcomes and awesome role model at the end! The girls are good role models all through the movie! This is one of my fave movies by far!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old December 9, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
this is the best movie and i cant wait til dec 14
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byeagles4ever December 7, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Despicable Me

This movie shows an excellent presentation on how kids should work together.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old September 23, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Very good for little kids even funny for older kids I thought it was very funny myself my little brother who is 4 watched it and loved it. very good messages to kids
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old August 6, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

perfect for 7+

this is good but they use "sucker" and "oh poop" is said twice
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byKrohring July 12, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A sweet movie that will make Dad laugh and cry

Despicable Me was a movie that, in my opinion, had a great message. The girls really love Gru, and although they were once merely a piece of his plan to steal the moon, the evil 'mastermind' falls for them in the end. I loved the movie, and older teens did as well, nothing too suggestive for this age, but for your younger kids watch out for some mild cartoon violence and language. The Minions will often expess their emotions through the punching or kicking of other Minions. Also, Miss Hattie treats the orphans she 'cares' for like dirt.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 10, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 15, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great for family movie kid friendly and positive messages.

Despicable Me is one of the kid movies of all time.It's rated PG, but it's a low PG so it's not one of those older kids types.Gru is pretty much the main bad model.He's the bad guy and is pretty selfish.Punishment and Labor are visible so it's not a good thing.One of the most scary parts is when one of the adopted girls enters a ''nail box'' and looks like it's bleeding (though it really is apple juice) and no one is hurt.The army of minions cause slapstick and punches, and there's some mild weapons.The lauguage is ''Poop'' ''stupid'' ''loser'' and more insults, but it's mild so it's nothing to complain about.Great family movie, great positive messages, check it out.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old February 25, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

perfect for all ages!

i think 4+ is perfect, and iffy, why? i dont know. but, despicable me is absolutely an amazing movie, and all ages will love it! i think that despicable me is a funny movie that kids will enjoy.
Kid, 10 years old February 23, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good For any kid

Wow, This movie blew my mind! I wish I saw it in 3D but my brother is afraid of 3D and when we just walked into the theater, my brother screamed and refused to watch the movie but then it was too late to go back and get new tickets in 3D but I loved it! Then after we saw the minion movies, it was over and then my brother cried because he did not get to see the movie, but now he likes movies but still not 3D. Anyway, I loved it!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 17, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Very good
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 20, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Must See!!!!

I love this movie!!!!! It is soo cute and is a wonderful family movie! I recommend it 200%!!!!!!!
Kid, 9 years old January 12, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

good but not for little orphans

What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byboisegirl September 24, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
i love it me my sister wnt and watched it it was the best movie i've seen .and its age apor
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 10 years old August 23, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byjonasandramonaa... August 23, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Geared towards older kids

This movie was alright, I thought it was going to be better, but it was fine. The reason I saw this was because I am fond of Steve Carell who voices Gru and he did quite well. The reason I rated it iffy for age 8 was because I think they might think it was not as captivating as Ramona and Beezus, the reason was it was quite long and some heart felt moments might seem boring because there is nothing for them to laugh at but there isn't anything bad in it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 21, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

funny!

my mom was cracking up and so was I! fun for the whole family
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bybobbeta30 August 16, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
That "blood" thing had me like "Woahh this is pg?" and the thing were he's like "dogs sometimes do that" and the villian is like "Unless their dead". Better for 7 and up, I would think.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written by101movies August 11, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

e.g. Perfect for kids

this movie is perfect for kids and teens they seem to love it and Despicable me in 3D was the best
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models

Pages