All member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid

Common Sense Media says

Adorable comedy about middle-school anxieties...and farts.

Users say

(out of 277 reviews)
age 8+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old January 23, 2011
This movie has some funny parts that will crack you up at first. Some rude humor was added, so the younger kids should have a parent supervise them.
Teen, 14 years old Written byMillyMolly January 21, 2011
I loved this movie, one of my favorites. I love lots of the scenes, like when the kid are audicianing for the school play. It's really funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymasonlackey January 15, 2011

good movie

good movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bygoodperson4 January 8, 2011
good message
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byHuntress4455 January 2, 2011

This movie is better than the books!!!!

For kids starting middle school, this is a great movie for them. Even thought Greg doesn't do the right things sometimes, he will often fix up at the end. Some language and violence are in the movie, so younger kids probably should not watch it. Other than that, there are some very funny jokes and scences in the movie that make me LOL!! For example, Greg peeing on Rodrick was pretty funny!!!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 1, 2011

Okay..

The movie was fine (: but the books are way better if you ask me
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 10 year old Written bykeys2luvtruth December 30, 2010
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old December 20, 2010

Not that bad Nickolodeon

Well........The movie teaches a life lesson about what are the right choices in life.The movie is quirky and some of the characters show bad role models.......For instance Rodrick.he was very mean to his brother,Greg.And it also tells in the movie that a friendship can be spoiled if you dont make the right choices in life.My rating for this movie is 87 thumbs up!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old December 17, 2010

not a really bad film

i loved this film me and my sister whos 7 watched it and it was funny it was only a little bit unappropiate
Kid, 9 years old December 11, 2010

If you like funny you have come to the right place

Its a very well written movie and its rated PG for a reason , Rodrick has a magazine with a woman in her bikini on in a sexy position and Rodrick says crap a lot but there is no real swearing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 4, 2010
one word... FUNNY!!!! Recommended for 8 and up(;
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 7 year old Written bylucas1 December 4, 2010

A bummer

I saw this in on an transatlantic flight - I think the chances I would have sat through it on any other occasion are slim. The main character is a very unlikeable person, someone who doesn't 'get' the reasons why one choice is better than another. For kids under 10, an absolute disaster. For pre-teens or teens, it could be funny, but still isn't really appropriate.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 5, 7, 11, and 14 year old Written bymdpwilliams December 3, 2010

Better suited for teen audience than younger - porn topic

I enjoyed the movie until the whole porn magazine scene happened. Why take a teen boy issue and throw it into a kid's movie? The kid never took responsibility for his bad choice in having it, announced that it made him more popular and cool by having it, and even mockingly apologized to women all over the world for looking at it. It was in very poor taste. If not for the lengthy camera shots of the magazine (you don't see anything bad, but you do know it's porn by the conversation and reaction) in two - three different shots and mocking attitude about having it, I would have loved to allow my kids to watch this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 4, 8, and 11 year old Written byFionnros November 30, 2010

Good conversation starter about good/bad choices and there consequences

Even though the role models are not perfect and tend to make un-recommended choices, they do learn realistic conciquences to those decisions. The movie is entertainable and my 3 boys watched all the way through. Just talk with them about the choices made and the conciquences given.
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2010

Nice Story

The movie was a comedy but did have a moral to it. Greg tried to act cool and started to be mean to rowley by telling him to "try and act cool." instead rowley stayed himself and ended up making new friends and even started to be popular. finally greg understood that friendship means more than trying to be cool. however, gregs brother did have a magazine with a picture that was not appropiate. in the end it tells u that u should just be your self and people will like u for who u are.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old November 24, 2010

best movie

i loved the movie it was funny i watched the movie like 10 times cause it was that good i think you should watch it anyway umm i have a wesite called andyandaileen.weebly.com and i hope you guys see it thxs and comment
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 24, 2010
This movie was very funny and enjoyable.
Kid, 10 years old November 13, 2010

Read the book, don't watch the movie

Pretty bad. This just isn't memorable at all.
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2010

Not 2 Much Animation!!!

I took my 5 year old brother to see this movie, and well, neither of us liked it. He thought it would be a cartoon because of the trailers. Just wanted to say, it's not a cartoon:)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written bycarter0617 November 7, 2010

if you want to your kid to see boys siting on the toliot and going pee dont take them to this

there is a few moment of boys peeing and siting on the toliot i think it is not that good of a movie and not good for girls to see under 6 th garde if they have all ready learn about a boy but you do not want to let you kids under 9 to see a boys private at that age in less they all ready have and you do not want theme going to school talking a bout this there is also a part where rodrick has a mageezine with a girl in a swinsuit on it only the cover is shown
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages