All member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Adorable comedy about middle-school anxieties...and farts.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 276 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old December 20, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not that bad Nickolodeon

Well........The movie teaches a life lesson about what are the right choices in life.The movie is quirky and some of the characters show bad role models.......For instance Rodrick.he was very mean to his brother,Greg.And it also tells in the movie that a friendship can be spoiled if you dont make the right choices in life.My rating for this movie is 87 thumbs up!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old December 17, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

not a really bad film

i loved this film me and my sister whos 7 watched it and it was funny it was only a little bit unappropiate
Kid, 9 years old December 11, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

If you like funny you have come to the right place

Its a very well written movie and its rated PG for a reason , Rodrick has a magazine with a woman in her bikini on in a sexy position and Rodrick says crap a lot but there is no real swearing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 4, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
one word... FUNNY!!!! Recommended for 8 and up(;
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 7 year old Written bylucas1 December 4, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

A bummer

I saw this in on an transatlantic flight - I think the chances I would have sat through it on any other occasion are slim. The main character is a very unlikeable person, someone who doesn't 'get' the reasons why one choice is better than another. For kids under 10, an absolute disaster. For pre-teens or teens, it could be funny, but still isn't really appropriate.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 5, 7, 11, and 14 year old Written bymdpwilliams December 3, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Better suited for teen audience than younger - porn topic

I enjoyed the movie until the whole porn magazine scene happened. Why take a teen boy issue and throw it into a kid's movie? The kid never took responsibility for his bad choice in having it, announced that it made him more popular and cool by having it, and even mockingly apologized to women all over the world for looking at it. It was in very poor taste. If not for the lengthy camera shots of the magazine (you don't see anything bad, but you do know it's porn by the conversation and reaction) in two - three different shots and mocking attitude about having it, I would have loved to allow my kids to watch this movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 4, 8, and 11 year old Written byFionnros November 30, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good conversation starter about good/bad choices and there consequences

Even though the role models are not perfect and tend to make un-recommended choices, they do learn realistic conciquences to those decisions. The movie is entertainable and my 3 boys watched all the way through. Just talk with them about the choices made and the conciquences given.
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Nice Story

The movie was a comedy but did have a moral to it. Greg tried to act cool and started to be mean to rowley by telling him to "try and act cool." instead rowley stayed himself and ended up making new friends and even started to be popular. finally greg understood that friendship means more than trying to be cool. however, gregs brother did have a magazine with a picture that was not appropiate. in the end it tells u that u should just be your self and people will like u for who u are.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old November 24, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

best movie

i loved the movie it was funny i watched the movie like 10 times cause it was that good i think you should watch it anyway umm i have a wesite called andyandaileen.weebly.com and i hope you guys see it thxs and comment
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 24, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
This movie was very funny and enjoyable.
Kid, 10 years old November 13, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Read the book, don't watch the movie

Pretty bad. This just isn't memorable at all.
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Not 2 Much Animation!!!

I took my 5 year old brother to see this movie, and well, neither of us liked it. He thought it would be a cartoon because of the trailers. Just wanted to say, it's not a cartoon:)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written bycarter0617 November 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

if you want to your kid to see boys siting on the toliot and going pee dont take them to this

there is a few moment of boys peeing and siting on the toliot i think it is not that good of a movie and not good for girls to see under 6 th garde if they have all ready learn about a boy but you do not want to let you kids under 9 to see a boys private at that age in less they all ready have and you do not want theme going to school talking a bout this there is also a part where rodrick has a mageezine with a girl in a swinsuit on it only the cover is shown
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old November 1, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I love it. I always read the books.
Kid, 12 years old October 31, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

perfect for anyone whos read the book

very funny, as good as the book
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent of a 9 and 12 year old Written bycyndifug8 October 28, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Loved it!

Great movie! Our whole family loved it. My husband and kids watched it 3 times in one week. It also contains great messages about liking yourself for who you are, and friendship.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bystarscore13 October 24, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
good but nothing like the book, woman in a bikini on a bike is seen and devil worshipers...!?
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old October 14, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

pErFeCt

Hilaris movie, and email me at hannah.brown074@gmail.com and I will talk to u abou your problems, even thought I might be 9 I can still be a good role model for at least a 4 or a toddler. So I am gonna try to email you back.Thanks xoxoxoxoxox
Kid, 9 years old September 29, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Awesome tween flick

Awesome, funny movie! I was thrilled to see the DVD in my house... While a few uncalled for words were used in the movie, it still sends a positive message about friendship. While Rowley isn't always the best role model, I feel that there were some characters that sent a good message to the viewers. Watch the film, people!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old September 18, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Kids that are 10 and up can watch this mediocre movie.

I watched this movie a month ago and to be honest I didn't think it deserved as much hype as it did in the commercials. Another typical 20th Century Fox production. The book was really different from this movie, and I believe the book was better. In some scenes students working for the school newspaper (which in my school we can't do this) humiliate other students like the fight Greg had with the girl in wrestling class. Greg in this movie plays a really bad role model, acting like a jerk to his pre-mature friend, Rowley, saying that his mom is trying to get him killed in middle school and other nasty remarks. Greg gets a lesson taught to him when Rowley breaks his arm and gets the girls coo-ing over him. Greg throughout the rest of movie tries to get the girls to like him, making fake accidents or self-done pain. Other then that, the message at the end is fair.
What other families should know
Great messages

Pages