All member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Adorable comedy about middle-school anxieties...and farts.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 277 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old August 18, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

GREAT MOVIE!

THIS MOVIE WAS REALLY GOOD!! I'VE READ ALL OF THE BOOKS TOO!! I THINK THE BOOK WAS BETTER BUT THE MOVIE WAS STILL REALLY GOOD!!!! I ALSO RECOMMEND ALL OF THE BOOKS.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byohya August 18, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old August 15, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

i watched it on august 14th and it was so good

i love this movie but i rated it 10+ because i heard the words jerk,stupid,devil and thats it but the violence is from greg pushing kindergarteners into a pit and made rowley get suspended from the safety patrol one part was when rodrick manny the mom(known as susan) and the dad turn into the stickfigure version for 10 seconds but its good but i still rated it iffy for ages 7-9
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 9 year old Written byogerana August 10, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

PERFECT

not nooby at all its PREFECT
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
loveit
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 10, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

perfect for anyone

so much better and more respectful to God than the books. its also really funny too, and just an all around great movie that even my 45 year old parents laughed at.
Kid, 8 years old August 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byadamr2894 August 8, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

All right, better than book.

It was okay, better than the book.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 8, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
crazy middle school story will be a great family comedy.
Kid, 9 years old August 7, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

diary diary

love it
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 7, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfect for older kids and late tweens (9-10 on up)

There are some concerns, yet they are funny concerns. For example, whenever Rodrick calls Rowley a baby hippo ("Let go of my, you baby hippo!) I would says it's best for nine and up because, with younger kids, they might not know what it means. And we don't want them to learn it, that it's okay to say/do that. But, otherwise it's pretty funny... And if you don't like it, just put it up for a yardsale.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 6, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT, hate it. kinda in the middle

Greg didn't really apologize to Rowley. I still love how Rowley was loved just being himself. Hilarious!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byminaj August 6, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 11 year old Written byShry August 5, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 4, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

perfect for the 2nd and 3rd grade level

What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byScoobyDoo12 August 3, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

yawn

Didn't like it at all. After I saw this movie on the plane I was bored out of my mind. The movie is dull and nothing interesting happens. The most exciting part is when a group of teenagers go after them and even that part was lacking energy. In my opinion don't waste any time on this movie. I rated it off because for ages 13+ because seriously you can't get duller
Parent of a 12 year old Written byabaziky98 August 1, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
This movie is almost exactly like the book and is awesome. I don't know why they added the word "crap" in the movie because it isn't in the book, but maybe PG movies get more money.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old August 1, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

#1

My favorite movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old July 28, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

FUNNY!

Some of the things Fregley does are kind of gross (like the secret freckle). Most of the girls I know got grossed out, but I didn't. There was much buzz around school, with kids chatting about how funny the movie was. I can't believe anyone would call it a disappointment! It was great!
Kid, 9 years old July 27, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good

Pretty good

Pages