All member reviews for Diary of a Wimpy Kid

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Adorable comedy about middle-school anxieties...and farts.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 276 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byxmril79 July 26, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

perfect for ages 6+

this movie is awsome!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old July 10, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Great Movie

A Great Family Movie
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old July 10, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old July 6, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie!

This was a very good movie that was exactly like the book. There are some gross parts in the movie which some kids might find "nasty". There is some language that small children might not want to hear. The Wii is shown. And the is fake magazine that shows a woman in a bikini that little kids should not see. But anyway, back to what I think of the movie... It is HILARIOUS!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old July 4, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Diary of a Famous Kid

This was a very close movie to the story and I love how the movie interpreted it. It was very funny and I felt like it was the book. It had some nice lessons and cool new characters and I cared about each and every one of them. You should really see this movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bycolumbusmom July 4, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

One of the best movies for tween boys... and their parents, go see it!

Loved it! My 12 year old son and I laughed our heads off in this movie. It's really very sweet and honestly, if you have a tween boy... it would probably be impossible for you not to see something in this movie that you so relate to (as a parent!) that you find yourself laughing at how funny it appears on screen. If you have a tween or a middle schooler, you really need to see this movie. My 6-year old wasn't with me, but now that I've seen it, I would be comfortable letting her see it too although she might not quite be old enough to "get" why some parts of the movie are funny.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old June 24, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

7+

I love this movie.
Kid, 8 years old June 18, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Two Words:AWE-SOME!

This movie was great!.But violence (Like Bully's Pushing Greg Around)is an issue.Some sex included.Language like c**p and fre**in and consumerism like the Wii shown in the movie.But there are highlights which includes positive messages and good role models.Just see it!.If you like the book you love the movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old June 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Really good, but don't like the uses of language

It's really good! I saw it! Although there is uses of c**p and fre***n'. They had good role models and positive messages (It's the choices who we are).
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written bytxsmoke June 13, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 31, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

One of the Best book adoptions!~!

This is a good movie for elementary students because it can relate to real things that happen (ex. older brother, new school, exc.) Rodrick owns an inappropriate magazine with clad women on the cover (none of the inside is shown). Not too bad with the language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 1, 2, 7, 9, and 10 year old Written bymommy of five May 26, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Good for all ages.

I have 5 kids and they loved it even my 2 year old sat threw the whole thing. My hubby and i also loved it , it made me laugh so hard, good message to be your self and not care what others think. LOVE IT!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old May 22, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great movie

This movie was good and exciting but in one scene Greg urinates on his brother. I heard the word crap a few times and a teenager has a sex magazine.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 21, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

its not a diary its a movie

i dont know but how could i read this story.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old May 21, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
I love it is so awsome!!!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old May 21, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Violence (white): A gang of kids threaten Rowley and Greg, Greg throws kindergardeners into a muddy pit Sexual Content (green): Greg tries to get girls to like him. Language (green): crap, a gang member says "You're so freackin dead!"
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old May 19, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

???????????????????????????!

Well, they are using the Wii wrong, first of all. Second, why is it not an animated movie?
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byironman2 May 17, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Fun for a family

Funny film and fantastic for the family.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 7 years old May 16, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Awesome Movie!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

I LOVE The Movie I Can't Wait Til' It's On DVD!!!!!!!!!!!!
Parent of a 10 year old Written bysaftyj101 May 12, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

funny

funny but not positive languae for youner veiwers
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Great messages

Pages