All member reviews for Django Unchained

Common Sense Media says

Tarantino's slavery tale is uneven and brutal but brilliant.
 

Users say

(out of 64 reviews)
age 15+
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bychristian2011 August 20, 2013
 

Surprisingly brilliant Tarantino film. For people 17+ due to extreme violence & profanity.

Django Unchained does give us a great insight on the use and aspects of slavery in the 1800's - especially the brutal methods and tactics that DiCaprio's character brings to the table which can be cruel and sadistic. It brings a spaghetti western feel to the screen, and contains has a smart sense of humor, common with Tarantino films. The story about Django and his vigilante/crusade adventure is exciting and compelling, bringing justice to the corrupt plantation owners. For the content advisory - this film contains sequences of graphic bloody violence where people and slaves are shot, mutilated, whipped, and tortured - where one slave is ripped apart by dogs, one is hung naked and has their genitals mutilated, and other two are forced to brutally beat each other to death on-screen. The language is pervasive and strong - multiple uses of f**k, sh*t, godd**n, b*tch, and especially n*gger. There's no actual sex in this film except for a few passionate kissing scenes and implicated acts of sex; one scene shows graphic female nudity.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byreelreviews December 29, 2012
 

Great Movie-but not for kids

This is a great film but it deals with some heavy subjects such as slavery and the prejudices that surround the 1800's. Also there is a lot of violence in the movie but most of it is exaggerated so it does not seem realistic. However there are some very intense scens in the movie that have extreme violence that will surely bother some viewers. The language in the film is not horrible but it is heavily used in certain scenes. Finally, I disagree with common sense on the "sex" category. There is no sex displayed in the movie. However there are a couple sexual pieces of dialogue and some nudity. But, the nudity that is used in the film is not sexual in nature. In conclusion the movie should not be shown to kids, but if you like westerns, B-movies, or Quentin Tarantino movies in general you will surely love it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byalwaysarealmom December 28, 2012
 

The Truth!

This movie was a good movie overall, no it is not for small children, but I think it will provoke dialogue with older children. Yes there is full frontal nudity of a male, but back during slavery times, these types if incidents happened. I think we shield our children form the truth of slavery & this movie will cause some dialogue if we are honest. Of course the violence is massive, its a Tarantino movie, that's what he's known for, but overall the story has a basis & its easy to follow; which let me say that is not common for Tarantino!.. The sad part is most of what is portrayed in the movie as it relates to slavery is real & true even though Tarantino tried to make it light & somewhat humourous. House slaves behaved that way, women were treated that way, and men were used like animals for sport!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byEnziguri12106 December 29, 2012
 

A Great Film that Condemns Slavery with a Healthy Dose of Campy, Unrealistic Violence

Tarantino shows us a take of slavery that leave no holds barred. However, the violence in this film is neither realistic, scary, nor insidious. It is a campy, over-the-top film of revenge and justice that's fine for teens. If you'd allow a child to see a classic country western film, Django is definitely fine. Sex is definitely not an issue in this film, as no love making takes place whatsoever. Without spoiling anything, Tarantino blends humor and campy, unrealistic violence to make the audience laugh at some unusual stuff. He lives up to his style in this film and lets the bad guys get it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byMikeWard January 13, 2015
 

A great not so family film

Django Unchained is a masterpiece of a film and you'd notice I've given it an average age rating. The swearing isn't the issue really (with about 30 F-words but the n-word is used copiously.) This langue would usually -in my opinion- put the rating at 13, but the gore is quite intense (in one scene a man get ripped apart by dogs). There is a small amount of mild(ish) nudity but it's very brief.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written bySteveEvets December 27, 2012
 

Fantastic movie. Not for kids.

I'll get this out of the way. Django Unchained is my favorite movie of 2012. The dialogue is fantastic. The characters are memorable. It's funny one it needs to be and serious when it's required. It's never really inappropriate and no one should be offended. Having said that, it is incredibly violent, probably the most violent mainstream film released this year. Character's faces are blown off, blood flies through the air and fills the screen and quite a few men have their genitals eviscerated. (Though that last part is never shown in detail, just a shot to the crotch and some blood) This is way too intense for many young children. The film also contains frequent use of profanity throughout, including some f-words and a few s-words. Some would include the N-word here but I would not because, in the way the film uses it, it's not really a swear as much as it is for historical context. This happened. People used this word. We can't pretend they didn't. As for sex, there's a scene with a naked woman who is dragged away. Her breast can be quickly seen but it's only on screen for half a second. There is also a scene where the main character, played by Jamie Foxx, is hanging naked with his genitals (obviously a fake prosthetic penis and testicles) fully visible. I personally wouldn't consider this a problem because it's only nudity, these are absolutely NOT sexualized scenes, but some may take issue with it. Some have called this film racist. It is not. It is a film with racist characters but the heroes, the ones we should be rooting for are all anti-slavery and anti-hate. So, you should definitely watch this if violence and language do not bother you too much but hire a babysitter if you need to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bydanconway_ May 27, 2013
 

The Best Western of the Year

This film has a lot of strong language and violence sometimes in the form of torture that children below 15 may find shocking and disturbing, however this helps to enforce the reality of slavery in the 1800's. Quentin Tarantino has made the perfect balance between a powerful message but still a balance of action and humor that people can enjoy. 10/10 :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Cheap Seats May 26, 2013
 

The "D" is Silent. Payback Won't Be.

Django Unchained is an all-around solid addition to Tarantino films. Tarantino's style is very unique if you've ever seen it and gives this film a very defined atmosphere and look. Jamie Foxx and Kerry Washington's performances are great but the stand-out is Leonardo DiCaprio who is so unlikable but pulls off this difficult role. The film's only problem is the pacing which makes the film go longer than it should, clocking in at 165 mins. A-.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byThat90sguy May 16, 2013
 

Great film, Tarantino does it again!

Django Unchained is about a slave named Django where he is rescused from a man who hates slavery and is trained in how to be a bounty hunter so he can find his wife and become a free man. It has clever writing, all the characters are interesting,the action scenes are amazing bloody, but amazingly good, and for a 3 hour film, it held my attention the entire time. Also, this movie touches on a imfamous time period in America, slavery, which is shown in a graphic way, such as whipping of slaves, 'hotboxing', and killing them. It's not the easiest movie to watch, as these scenes and more are disturbing, not to mention the big bloodly shootout that occurs near the end of the film. Language is contraversial in this film, as n***** is used a lot in this movie, (so is f--- and s---) but for the time it was pretty accurate. Overall, this movie is fun, but dark and maybe hard to watch, but give it a shot because it's cool.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byIvyLynn April 29, 2013
 

I work at a movie theater and am 17 years old. While some things in this movie, such as the score and much of the dialogue, are ridiculous, I can't help but to see the positive message this movie has: Love conquers all.

Django, fights and fights until he gets reunited with his wife. The man who helps Django is actually a good man.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byromy97 April 22, 2013
 

violent!!

extremely violent!! I had to cover my eyes at the worst places. 2 of the scenes are very intense in particular (a man is killed by the dogs and 2 men are shown fighting for amusement of their owner). but i think it is quite educational - it deals with rasism and history.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Parent of a 2, 5, and 7 year old Written byfredck April 6, 2013
 

Must see... If not a kid

A masterpiece... not for kids, definitely.
Kid, 11 years old February 2, 2013
 

great movie

Django unchained is a great movie. It was fast paced and a movie where you thought how is it already over. The violence in this movie is over the top brutal. Not only our there shootings but the african americans are treated horribly some of them our hung by there arms to a tree and were whipped for amusement, also they are forced to fight each other to the death and bones are broken, and one guy is attacked and killed by dogs. The sex in this movie is also pretty bad you see to scenes with male full frontal nudity and female nudity that includes one breast, and behind. The language uses about 110 n words and a lot of f words. Great movie but not appropriate for kids
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bymovieguy97 January 22, 2013
 

Tarantino has done it again

Very good movie about slaves
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byhagrid21 December 31, 2012
 

Off the Chain!

Having seen every single Tarantino movie there is, I was (to say the least) pumped for this movie. Saw it on the 28th. It was epic! The story line is amazing, the violence abundant, everything you would expect from Quentin Tarantino. Yes, there are excessive uses of the n word, but it is a time period movie. Get over it. A brief glimpse of a breast in a non sexual manner, as well as a penis and testicles, which are obviously fake, in a non sexual manner. The tone of the movie is for the most part humorous, but there are a few scenes where the audience gasped. Great movie! A holiday must see!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byseattle101 August 7, 2013
 

some kids parents.....

first and foremost, i'm flabbergasted that knowing that this is a tarantino film that any parent in their right mind would even consider their "9 year" watching this or any of his. plaheez people. these movies always spark conversation/controversy. it's classic tarantino. yes, there were times i looked the other way and the language became repetitive but we as a society have allowed for that. own it! thanks for the discussion quentin!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byTip yap July 17, 2013
 

Typical Tarantino

This is a Quentin Tarantino the violence is bloody... as usual but it's unrealistically bloody so it's not disturbing the Mandingo and dog and whipping scenes are disturbing and so is the way Django is forced to act so have parents guidance and your fine there's no sex and no graphic stuff
Teen, 14 years old Written byjoker87 July 3, 2013
 

Good

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old May 4, 2013
 

Good

I'm 10 i saw this movie and django was a real hero and this is an nr motion picture all of you guys are jus pt over reacting on a cool western drama of the year with lots of style and action
Teen, 15 years old Written byNo Name, for real. April 12, 2013
 

Well done over the top Tarantino gore fest.

Every gunfight or shooting involves a graphic blood spurt from the wound, with cartoonish amounts of blood flying forth. One in particular takes place in a mansion, and every wall, window, door, person, and piece of furniture ends up covered in blood due to nearly everyone in the scene being shot and killed. Men are left squirming, bleeding and screaming in anguish on scores of occasions. There are countless scenes of these shootouts, each one a bit more vicious than the last, some of them even in slow motion. A man is attacked and torn asunder by crazed dogs that rip and tear viciously at his legs and arms. "Mandingo Fighter" slaves pound each other savagely on a bloodied hardwood floor before one snaps his opponent's forearm, gouges out his eyes and uses a proffered hammer to end his opponent's screeching misery (all of this is just barely off screen). Men have their flesh flayed with whips. Dozens of KKK members are "comically" obliterated by the flame and percussion of a detonated bomb.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages