All teen and kid member reviews for Dogma

Teen, 14 years old Written byKayKayD September 21, 2009
 

Not For Younger Kids

Good role models = they all come out good in the end, While I'm not religious, this movie still attracted me, and I loved it. There's a lot of blood and violence....and LITERALLY feces (big poop monster demon), lots of mentioning of the devil and God and weighs heavily on the Christian religion, a stripper scene, and people doing crazy things like falling from the sky. Something good about it is that some of the strongest characters (i.e. Bethany, the muse, God) were all women.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 18, 2014
 

If your a strong Catholic, No Way!!

I am 12 and my mom just showed me this movie a couple months ago. Listen, EVERY ONE except me and my parents are Catholic in my family (We are no religion, except sometimes we go to church to "support" our family) so, I've had my fair share of Catholicism. Anyway, if you are a strong believer of Catholicism, then save yourself from this movie. My grandmother cannot stand this movie. Whenever she hears of this movie she thinks of destroying Kevin Smith. It did not help when she unexpectedly picked me up from school and I was wearing my Buddy Christ shirt. The only bad parts of this movie is all the swearing and crude sex talk. These two characters Jay and silent Bob, are always trying to get in bed with women, and they come right out and use the F word about it way too much. Also, all the characters go to a strip club so Jay can prove to the 13th Apostle that he isn't Gay.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bycysdelix August 13, 2012
 

My Dogma Review

Well, the movie itself, I thought, was all in all funny, but they swear every 5 seconds. there are several disscusions about Jay having 'sex' with Bethany. There is a stripper in tight langerie, although they never really show anything like 'ni.pples' or d*cks. I was a very mature child, so I got exposed to everything pretty fast. I was 10 when I saw this movie, so I did understand the language sexual use. If you are a mature child, then I reccomend this movie. The message is good, and it shows that you have to beleive in yourself, and accept any hard missions that come your way. The movie is also being 'out there', and saying that they beleive that God is a woman. I do find it sexist and annoying how everyone is saying that God is a man, so a different opinion is very nice for a change. If you or your kid is 'silly' or inmature, then do NOT let them watch the movie. There are some cases where they use the Lords name in vain, and the violence level is really high, because they show lots of blood, and I find that it is more of an adult movie, but if you or your child can handle it, then I think that it is a nice movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byChicken Whisperer December 2, 2011
 

Very good.

While Dogma may have a lot of profanity and questionable content, the film is very funny, and has a heart as well. However, think twice before watching with younger children
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byT-Rod October 16, 2010
 

What's the big f**king deal?!

I mean I'M a Christian and I LOVED this movie! Jason Lee was excellent, Alan Rickman was both brilliant an HILARIOUS, and Chris Rock was a lot less annoying than I expected! But b4 I get into my review: VIOLENCE: 7 people r murdered/shot w guns offscreen but blood is seen splatting on to the surroundings; a guys head bursts(not explodes! NOT explodes!!! Not enough blood to call it an explosion. It just kinda "POP"'s); A woman is electrocuted in the side and we see blood, a guy is stabbed; two ppl r thrown off a train("No ticket"-Indiana Jones referance XD); and in one over view shot we see many mutilated bloody bodies that were killed in all MANOR of ways. SEXUAL STUFF: Sexual and very crude dialogue throughout; a pole dancer in a bra and panties; NO NUDITY!!!!! Yeah! FINALLY an R comedy w/o nudity! I gave this movie extra points 4 that! LANGUAGE: Pervasive uses of f, s, d, gd, etc. But no uses of c...I think. CONSUMERISM: A certain "Mooby's" is OBVIOUSLY supposed to be a stand-in for a certain "McDonald's." DRINKING/DRUGS: Characters drink occasionally and smoke or talk about smoking often, but not always or pervasively. NEGATIVE ROLE MODELS: Some characters are selfish but they're all bad guys. GOOD ROLE MODELS: Bethany has to comes to term w her faith and destiny, SPOILER'S WILL B CAPITOLIZED: AND SACRIFICES HERSELF, she also has to accept that just bc she found out what she has to do, doesn't change who she is. "You're Bethany, and no one can take that away from you. You're still who u were, nothing's been taken away. This is just some extra info u can add to that." Characters act selflessly and put themselves in danger to protect one another. A villain, once he has an epiphany, tries to stop the other villain from carrying out his plans. Strong female characters. God is looked at as "inflagnable" or something meaning he is All Powerful. One villain speeches about how God gave us so much and yet we act so selfishly and some of us don't even believe he EXISTS! And though his speech leads on to worse things, it really opened MY eyes. Bc, in all honesty, I'm one selfish mofo. REVIEW: Now, this is nowhere NEAR a perfect movie, but I would've given it 5 stars if Matt Damon's character had a more climactic ending. But still, this is a pretty fugg'n funny movie! I thought the S**t Demon was kind of an immature joke, but the movie gave me a lot more than what I expected from it. I just expected some stupid raunchy rated R comedy(I was thinking, "I should watch Speed instead." But I got a surprisingly spiritual and postive movie. Yeah, the thing about the hidden 18 yr.'s thing was bulls**t. Yeah, the whole "loophole" thing in general is bulls**t. But D**N! It's an f-in comedy ppl! A rated R comedy at that! It didn't decensitize me anymore than I already am! I didn't expect to GET anything out of it, but I DID! B4 this movie, I was kinda on the fence about my Christianity, but after Bartleby's speech, it made me realize how ungrateful and selfish I was. Now there's no doubt in my mind that God exists! In conclusion, I thought this was a kick-a** movie! In fact, just bc of Alan Rickman and Jason Lee's(only cn him in Alvin and the Chipmunks 1 and 2 and Underdog, and My Name Is Earl b4 this) performances, and the fact that I actually GOT something from this movie, I'm gonna change my rating to FIVE stars! Yeah! If u liked this review then check out my others and plz, don't forget to compliment! Later!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byoctober1985 July 17, 2009
 
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bypoisonXXX April 9, 2008
 

Funny but....

It was the stupid kind of funny mostley where you kind of half groan half laugh.
Teen, 14 years old Written byJulie3000x April 9, 2008
 

Bad

This movie was actually really stupid. Dont watch it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byDman April 9, 2008
 

Yes!

Hilarious. Entertaining. Amazing. This is one of the best comedies ever made. Period. A hilarious religious satire that mostly takes stabs at catholics. Some christians will be offended, but i am one and found it pleasing anyway. Don't take it too seriously...its a comedy...
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
 

great movie with a good morale

this movie was kick @$$ it was awesome it was so funny silent bob and and all the actors from clerks omg i practicaly peed my pants i bet god is a black chick it is a must see from my point of view if your parents are really down on the whole christ thing i wouldn't see it around them then again the language is another reason for that.i think this movie deserves a 5 out of 5