All member reviews for Dr. Seuss' Horton Hears a Who!

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 64 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old November 8, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A GREAT MOVIE THAT WILL MAKE LITTLE KIDS LAUGH OUT LOUD!!!!!

This movie is a very funny movie to watch with your family. Young children are garetied to like it. Even some adults will get atleast one laugh out of it. SOME MILD PERIL MAY BE SCARY FOR VERY YOUNG VIEWERS NOT FOR KIDS UNDER THE AGE OF 4.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old April 28, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Not My Favourite

Well, It isn't my favourite movie. But maybe for a small child(5,6,7).
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A pretty good movie

The only bad parts are when they try to boil the speck. They gab Horton with sticks and try to put him in a cage. It is a pretty good movie, but not a very good first movie for your child.
Kid, 5 years old May 13, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

We may finish watching this in a couple of years...

I watched half of this with my five year old and I thought the whole idea of the Whos' world being destroyed was a little dark and heavy for a preschooler (although I know it all ends happily). I also didn't see the point of featuring a dental office with horrible screams of pain, big needles etc. I also thought it odd that when the movie's villian, a scary, bone-knawing vulture, asked the mother kangaroo for her child in payment for going after Horton, she said she was considering it. I understand that way they slip dark humor geared towards adults into this type of movie to keep parents interested, but it has to be very subtly and carefully done. A preschooler that catches this comment won't get any humor out of it--only a dose of confusing darkness.
Kid, 10 years old March 20, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A great family movie.

I liked it. SUPER FUNNY. It teaches lessons of looking at people in the inside, not outside.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byholly525 March 11, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!

LOVE IT!! I asked for it for Christmas before I had even seen it and I was not disappointed. It kept me laughing from start to finish, and has great messages. I love that Horton won't deny what he knows is true even if his life is at stake.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byYeah. February 27, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Check my page for other great recommendations.

I'm not here to give a review because if it shows up on my page its a 5 star movie and so therefore you know what i think about it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old February 3, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

1 bad thing.

There is one bad thing... the evil vulture. Really a good movie. Iffy for 0+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old December 30, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
I like this movie alot I just watched it in the car, I hope that everyone reading this review sees it I Like it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bytangled October 10, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Good movie, but one teensy thing I notiiced....

The mayor had dozens (forget actual number. Think it's 99.) of daughters and 1 son (Jo-jo.) As seen when the mayor is introduced you will see all his daughters waiting in line to talk to him for a few seconds each. Jojo on the other hand, gets all his father's attention. Even though he's the soon to-be mayor and he saves the day in the end, I sort of thought that the mayor was a) Choosing favorites or b) Is simply being sexist (they can be girl mayors.) Also, the villain is a lady too.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old May 5, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
This is hilarious! Jim Carrey was funny in this.
Kid, 11 years old February 1, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

FINE MOVIE

I KNOW YOU GUYS THINK IS A LITTLE KIDS MOVIE BUT WHEN I SEE IT WHEN I WAS 6 I FOUND THIS FINE AND A LITTLE SCARY
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 7 years old January 31, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

It's ok

DggfdvhseggrfdfswWVygvygvtxxrs
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 7 years old January 29, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Awesome

Family can be so mean that's how the mother kangaroo is like and brothers can be mean to but there's no one like that in this movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old January 25, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Horton Hears a HAHA

I LOVED the movie cause my family like the part where he was dancing weirdly and my brother likes it too that he started laughin. XD
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 9, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Really good!

Surprisingly really good! Laugh-out-loud funny and great for kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byFILMCRITIC500 May 6, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

horrible adaption of childrens book is sometimes scary

this extremely bland book adaption does send out some possitive messages. there are a few near death scenes and some scary moments.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 8 years old March 4, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Fine for kindergardeners,but not PreK s

Well I have the dvd and my family has seen it many times and we always end up laughing hard. Here is what I think Violentnes and scaryness: Well at mid time the mauor of whoville has to get a Root Canal And gets the novicane shot in his arm. The bird is scary but funny. Bad Language: The Kangeroo tells the mouse Martin to shut up! Thanks for reading(:
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 5, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Hilarious for all ages

This is maybe one of the most tame animated features out there. The remotely bad thing I can think of Is one of the characters calling the main character a boob.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old January 23, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great but scary for little kids

I first saw this movie when I was 8 and I still love it! Younger kids may find it a bit scary- the eagle Vlad and the monkeys are creepy- and so is Vlad's cave- nd the Whos are nearly killed, but nothing more than that. Lots of positive messages and kids will love it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence

Pages