All member reviews for Dr. Seuss' How the Grinch Stole Christmas

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Heartwarming TV special true to Seuss' classic.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 31 reviews)
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written bymyab October 14, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Great Message in a Short Film

This is a not to miss movie in our house every Christmas. The Grinch goes from looking and acting like the "eel" the famous song describes him as, to a happier, more gentle Grinch when he realizes that the Who's joy isn't monetary, it's spiritual. What a lovely sentiment! Plus, poor Max's dash down the mountain as a "reindeer" still makes us laugh. FYI, he isn't run over by the sleigh, but more slides under it when the sleigh overtakes him downhill.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byreviewgirl13 July 11, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great, charming, and classic movie for all ages!

This movie is really good and I still enjoy watching it! It teaches kids great lessons and isn't spoiled by crude language or anything bad or questionable. Great family movie and classic for anyone and everyone!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bysuzylowry December 22, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
I love the Grinch and still won't miss it even at age 47!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written byCeltic1962 April 21, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byTemplar314 December 23, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

I wish I had more hands so I could give a greater number of thumbs up

Never gets old.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bynduns February 24, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Okay, what is up with the overall scores?

At first, I thought maybe people who didn't grow up during the 50's-90's just didn't realize what made this such a great classic, but no, this is something I have noticed with the site in general now. Something is seriously wrong with their overall scores because I see nothing but positive reviews for this widely appreciated classic and yet kid reviews has an average score of 1 star... how?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2 year old Written bykyogert May 3, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Classic - even for little ones.

This is a favorite in our house. The book, the soundtrack, and the movie are regulars, even though our daughter only watches 1 or 2 shows a week (on weekend mornings). She requests the music from the movie throughout the week, too. She seems to slide right over the taking presents thing and the dog falling, and waits for the end when the Grinch gets "happy," and everyone sings.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Educator and Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written bycelinac January 25, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Kid, 11 years old December 10, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

way better than the other one

i like this one alot better than the real people one! this one is cute and clever
Teen, 14 years old Written byht3696 December 3, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

...

(:
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 6, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

much less intense then the none animated version

the movie was very cute and designed for kids age 4-9. But the none animated one however was not it had lots of iffy content. The none animated one was made for a more mature audence. But this one is OK for kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 4, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good Thinking With A 12 Year Old

It shows children the real meaning of Christmas and shows kids how and how not to act in public and at the end he shows how much he cares for Christmas. Second he learns how much Christmas means to the children and have a change of heart and I LOVE THE GRINCH STOLE CHRISTMAS.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written by96grlpowrCE May 13, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Love it!

I really like this movie a lot and Christmas isn't the same if I don't see it every year with my family. (: The music is cute, the story is interesting, and all in all it's just a very good movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bymdg0421 November 25, 2008
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byjes April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
I love this show and have been watching since I was a little girl with my parents and younger brother now me and my little girl watch it every year and will continue to I just love it and so does she.
Teen, 13 years old Written bydressagehorse November 28, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect Xmas movie, great for kids!

AMAZING MOVIE! A must-see for all ages every Christmas! The best!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byschuymarch1 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Very Good

I recommend this movie for 2+.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymrbookworm01 December 10, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Great Christmas special for families!

I've seen this on TV and it's a really good Christmas special. The Grinch is shown being mean and cruel at the beginning, but he learns at the end, that Christmas means more than getting stuff, but about love and kindness. Great for families who celebrate Christmas! Violence: Some VERY mild peril, but nothing too bad for little kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byJoseph Rock February 29, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Wonderful Christmas Special.

I love this Christmas Classic! It is funny and colorful.

Pages