All member reviews for Dr. Seuss' The Cat in the Hat

Common Sense Media says

Too mature for the kids who are reading the book.

Users say

(out of 114 reviews)
age 10+
Review this title!
Parent of a 4 and 6 year old Written byadpace December 29, 2009
I sat down to watch this movie with my 6 year old and my 4 year old thinking a Dr. Seuss-based movie had to be great for the kids. I was so terribly wrong! Most of the nasty stuff went over my kids' heads (thankfully), but I almost turned it off anyway. It has so much crude humor, sexual references and language references that I could hardly believe this would be movie marketed to kids! I will never assume a movie is appropriate for my kids again regardless of how appropriate it may seem by the appearance. Personally, I wouldn't allow my kids to watch it even if they are bit older because there is very little positive I can say about it. Too much gratuitous junk in it. When I turn on a kid's movie, I expect it to be appropriate for them. :(
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byVix66 April 9, 2008

Not for my five year old

This movie only proved that I need to not trust the PG rating where my six year old is concerned, and need to do some research before I take him to a movie. A group of kids beat the Cat in the Hat with bats. The Cat in the Hat says "son of a ....". The Cat in the Hat takes aim at one child's head with said bat. The cat picks up a garden hoe and says "dirty ho". Then, just to further drive the point home for those of us who might have missed it, he calls it, "baby." This made my son look at me with wide-eyes. This is a terrible movie for any age. It's not funny even at an adult's level, and it's completely inappropriate for anyone under the age of 12, yet it doesn't have enough smarts or humor to keep anyone older than 8 interested. FLOP. I bet it'll make a ton of money.
Educator and Parent Written byMommyLove4Ever May 13, 2011
I HATE IT! I think Dr. Suess would roll over in his grave with this movie. It's a shame that a classic children's book has been made into garbage. Shame on Mike Myers for participating in this production! I thought my 7th grade students would like it, but it should not be shown in a 7th grade classroom. It promotes cursing, has a beer brand clearly shown, and has way too many perverted and sexual inuendos. NOT RECOMMENDED FOR KIDS OF ANY AGE!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old March 31, 2011

the cat is in the hat

I love the movie i have it on vcr. i have been watching it about every night i think it is hilarious. i dont hink the language is crude or the humor. there are only two time when son of b**** was said and the dirty hoe part i think kids wouldnt know the difference. ohh and when he gets hit in the crotch. it was humor to ry and break a pinata. it is a great move i recommend it for ages 2-13
Educator and Parent Written byNxxgaBixxxSingleaf July 26, 2015

Lol this can't be PG !

Theres no positive messeges to this film, and no role models.. too much tail cutting, cat growing to puberty and attraction & bad words like "godd*mn" "bugg*r" "son of a bit*h" "a*sw*pe" "dirty h*e" and "fr*aking", all of which triggered the csm profanity filter. don't buy this movie for anyone under 15; such violence and language isn't suitable for them. it's probably bordering on hard pg-13 or even an R rating imo, this rly shouldn't have been pg (too extreme for such)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byembeau October 20, 2010

Disappointed at age inappropriateness of cat in hat

I think this movie is way beyond the scope of what anyone under the age of 8 should be seeing. I am not really a prude (my daughter started on Barbie DVD's at two and loved them), but this movie is NOT a cutesy "cat in the hat" show.
Parent of a 2 and 7 year old Written byRose Upstate NY November 3, 2009

I have never hated a movie till this one!

Even if you ignore the slaughter of a good book- this movie is disgusting. It has the humor level of drunk college men, but marketed for children? This movie does't have any redeeming qualities.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byhannahs2 May 17, 2015

Hate this movie like these creators can think about it

More sex than the original version. More violence than the original version. More consumerism than the original version. More swearing (bad words, PHEW I HATE THIS MOVIE BAD) than the original version. More drinking/drugs/smoking than the original version. Can these people make it what God wants? Can these people make it what kids should watch? Rating: R Movie Title: The Terrible Cat in the Terrible Hat DreamWorks, quit pissing this movie to adult and mature moments! Can they quit creating that stuff? Jesus does not want bad words, sex, violence, consumerism, drinking/drugs/smoking. THIS IS JUNK DO NOT SEE THE MOVIE STICK TO FROZEN, HOME, ANNIE, PADDINGTON, THE LORAX, HORTON HEARS A WHO, TOY STORY 3, AND EVEN CHARLOTTE'S WEB Families should turn The movie off As I do ask No one will watch The Cat In The Hat I call this the worst Movie for adults only. Hit the road and stop watching the junk. Bad words: "you dirty hoe" and the s word. More to it. Teach your children to behave. And I know I trust you that kids now need a stop on the movie when you see that stuff God doesn't like. See? Not for kids. I trust you. Say no to this movie. Well, this movie is not ideal for family and kids, but adults can. The wrecking PG rating is not good for a movie like this. Huh? Not for children 17 and under. Adults only. Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, this movie is for ages18+!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 4, 9, and 11 year old Written byjohnthree16 March 12, 2011

Super for all the family

As I write this my almost 5 year old and her 9 and 11 year old brothers are watching it. I can hear the laughter almost continuously! I am very strict about the movies my kids watch. specially regarding violence. This is just plain funny. Yes there are some innuendoes but the younger kids just wont get it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byKristen0929 February 4, 2013

Please read before you watch!

I was very dissapointed in this movie. In the first 10min of the Cat arriving at the start of the movie, he had already called another character stupid, threatened to kill another with a meat cleaver, cut off his own tail and yelled out son of a b!@#$! The neighbour character also is shown drinking beer and there is a ton of dirty humor that is not appropriate for children of any age. I was so shocked. I couldn't believe what I was seeing and hearing. Dr Seuss is my most favourite author of all time and I read his stories to my two year old son everyday. I am truly disgusted at how this movie has preverted such a beloved character/story for our children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byCheetah-Licious0900 November 22, 2012

Want a reason?? Here's one!!

I do not think this movie is appropriate for any child because it may lead them into thinking the wrong thing. For example, your child hear's the Cat call the garden utensil a"dirty hoe." Then your child may go out into the world, not having any clue what a "dirty hoe" is, and say it to the wrong person and end up in serious trouble. There are many other reason's why your child (depending on the age) should not watch this movie. And this is only 1 reason, out of many.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent Written by4thgradeteacher November 3, 2011

Disapproving Teacher

I was celebrating Dr. Seuss' birthday by showing this film during state testing week; as a break to us all. I could NOT believe all of the inappropriate remarks throughout this moving. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time as bad language and sexual induendoes rolled out of the mouth of Mike Myers. I had to explain to parents the reason why their children were coming home asking what a "dirty hoe'' was. They were asking me what it means. This is the 4th grade and they DO pick up on the "adult humor." I was SO disappointed that such a sweet children's book would be turned into a trashy film. The Grinch and Horton Hears a Who are SO much better.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written byrabbithilldays April 9, 2008

Horrible Movie

The Dreamworks people should be shot for what they did to Cat in the Hat. You can definitely tell that Dr. Seuss is dead. It made me furious to watch this movie. It was inane, offensive and bad, bad, bad.
Adult Written bymaili April 9, 2008

Why Bother?

Why did they bother to put in a crude joke "you dirty hoe" when they knew they were making a movie for children? This really makes me angry. I don't need to hear stupid stuff like that and I certanly don't want children in my care to hear this stuff either!
Adult Written byreby23 November 3, 2014

It's awful.

It's not appropriate for children. It's boring for adults. It also should have gotten a PG-13 rating. Better watch a movie intended for adults than this.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bycelias69 October 12, 2014

disgusting n perverted

Dirty ho? Can someone plz explain to me what was the purpose of that comment? How will we ever get our children to respect women and stop referring to them as ho's and b's? Even if all the sexual references go over ur child's head; they will get the subliminal messages. What kind of perverted people made this movie and rated it PG? I am still trying to get over shock... It was very good to see that so many people felt the same way. Thank goodness some people still have a good sense of what's right n horrifically wrong.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byMr. King December 20, 2012

BOO!!!!!!!!!!!

UGH! I really hate this movie! It's SO hard to believe that they would act vulgar in a movie based on a CHILLDRENS BOOK!
Adult Written byTimTheTVGuy October 19, 2012

NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This movie almost ruined my childhood.It was SO horrible,I only watched 20 minutes of the movie,and I will never watch the rest! The reason why I don't like it is because the humor was very VERY corny! I'd rather watch a crappy 1930s movie than watch this!
Adult Written bysnes64dsi October 13, 2012

Horrible movie!!!! Watch Horton instead or the original special!

This has got to be one of the WORST movie adaptations ever made!! The writers/producers obviously tried to hard to make it appeal to all ages, when it just didn't! Alec Baldwin grabs some beer, the cat makes numerous sex reference, has an erection from looking @ a sexy portrait of Kelly Preston, and spells out foul language (one is cut off)! Definitely not for kids. if you want your movie to appeal to kids, teens and adults, don't go overboard, use the Ice Age franchise and Toy Story movies, they have a G or "low-end" PG rating. Pixar and Blue Sky made minor adult jokes and they've become popular. Whatever you do, avoid this trash at all costs, watch "Horton Hears a Who!" instead, it's G-rated, has Jim Carrey and didn't go over the counter with adult humor.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 8 years old November 28, 2011

Cat in the Hat is not is not for young children

Inappropriate movie alert!!! This movie is PG but it should be PG - 13.A kid hit Cat in the privates with a baseball bat. Cat picks up a hoe and says to it "dirty h*e" Not a good movie for kids!!!( It's nothing like the book! I like the book better!)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages