All member reviews for Dreamgirls

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 29 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written bymiss chikki April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeds43@aol.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Jennifer Hudson!

Jennifer Hudson is amazing in this!
Teen, 15 years old Written bymercedes April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old August 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good movies

It is a really good movie. It shows that when you are down you get back up. Also fame isn't everything.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byhannerz100 June 22, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
This movie was...ok. Not my type, I thought it was boring...but I can see why other people would like it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byalexster36 January 1, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
A very good movie. It made me cry. There is alot of innapropriate language for children. Also there is a riot scene where buildings are on fire and people are shooting. One of the characters has an overdose of heroin as well. But if your 13 or up it is a must-see!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A great movie with advanced content

Very good entertaining movie. Parents need to be ready for drugs, sex, and much more then what's on the commercials.
Teen, 13 years old Written bydavidgpsp August 4, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
great movie
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byqueenb December 23, 2008
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

I loved it!

I thought this was a great movie! Much better than I thought it would be!
Kid, 11 years old October 26, 2009
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
VERY BAD MOVIEEE!!!N BORING AS HEELL and a nearly rape scene!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It was really heart touching or whatever

Its a really good movie. It made me cry.
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Dreamgirls is an amazing, extremely entertaining musical, and one of the year's best films that I've seen. Jennifer Hudson is incredible, she deserves an Oscar for her role. Surprisingly, Beyonce Knowles is also phenomenal, I think she deserves an Oscar nomination.
Teen, 13 years old Written byEZRASHUGEREVIEWS August 28, 2009
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
THE HIGHLIGHT OF THE FILM IS EDDIE MURPHY. HE IS THE INSIGHT AND HAPPY SIDE OF THE FILM AND THE REST IS A LITTLE DARKER. PERFECT FOR TEENS ON.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 10 years old July 10, 2009
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Very Soulful. Amazing Cast. Some Language.

Dreamgirls was an amazing movie, Beyonce Knowels and Jennifer Hudson gave it an amazing soulful feel to it. The language was somewhat bad, but, it was made back when people talked that way. I cliked the language box because, just tell ur child that that language is not appropriate to use in your household, and then be done with it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old March 9, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Love this movie

I love this movie and i love Jennifer Hudson!!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bycself93 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great

Love this movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written byWay2Dramatic April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Good, just not the best musical

All you need to see is the oscar nominations to see that this is a good movie. All the actors are amazing singers. Kids will like this because the music is a lot of fun. However, towards the middle, it gets into the cliched "everyone's mad but lets hug and make up" part, but is quickly redeemed by Jennifer Hudson's powerful "I am Telling You I'm Not Going." It is fun and okay for 12+, just because of some language and drug use. However, there are musicals out there that are better by far, like "Chicago" and "Rent" for the older kids, or "Little Shop of Horrors" and "The Music Man" for younger ones.
Teen, 16 years old Written byKaM April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

It was good

Jennifer Hudsome was awsome. And Eddie murphy was comical. That's about allI have to say. Oh yeah the movie was kind of long, but entertaining.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

One of the Best Movies I Have Ever Seen!

I went and saw Dreamgirls and I just loved it! Dreamgirls is about a group of singers called the Dreamettes, whose names are Deena, Lorrell and Effie (the lead). Their group is going nowhere until they become backup singers for James 'Thunder' Early. After going on tour for some time, the Dreamettes start their own act, helped by Curtis, (Early's manager). Unfortunately, the Dreamettes (now called the Dreams) have Deena as lead singer because Curtis thinks her voice will sell better. This leads to a splitting of the group, and horrible consequences. I loved this movie! Jennifer Hudson as Effie and Beyonce Knowles as Deena create some great music that will have you bouncing in you seat! There is some shooting in this movie, and some swearing, and some use of drugs, so you may not want kids under 9 to see it.

Pages