Common Sense Media says

Ridiculously violent grindhouse-style movie isn't for kids.

Users say

(out of 19 reviews)
age 17+
Review this title!
Adult Written bykhan2705 March 13, 2011

an awful movie, a complete failure.

1.5/5 A vengeful father escapes from hell and chases after the men who killed his daughter and kidnapped his granddaughter. Oh man what the hell is wrong with Nicolas Cage. what kind of crap movies he is opting to do. why? what? i mean he is crazy or desperately needs money so is doing these bad movies. i am being that harsh and rude just because the first movie of the year 2011 was also by him entitled SEASON OF THE WITCH which was one of the worst movies ever. this one is too even with all the blood, action and slight gore. that one lacked these things but this one even being filled with these things just felt flat. i was looking forward to bad ass entertaining movie that will revive the kind of image of Cage. but this one failed to do that. the movie is filled with action scenes as in the car chasing and car crashing, explosions etc but they are so many that your brain want's to burst. the movie has some average visual effects. 3D was just to make money out of this lifeless movie or else no use of that technology here. there is sex in it too, lol. the large part of the movie was just plain bore and torture, nothing goes in it. i mean that sucks. action scenes towards the end are very poorly done. they didn't moved me even a bit. that sudden input of so many of them towards the end feels a complete crap thing i mean the whole movie is empty an then they put all these scenes. Nicolas in this avatar was not appealing and this movie he didn't did well. he could be better. William Fichtner was god, funny and someone to look for. Amber Heard as this abusing strong girl was ok. direction of this movie was very poor. story and the concept of coming out of hell for revenge was awsome i liked it. screenplay is a complete trash. editing sucks. so written wise and technically this movie is a bad one. i would say AVOID THIS MOVIE.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byBrandon4News March 8, 2011

Cheesy and fun B-movie for mature audiences.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHHA
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bymasterofthemovies February 27, 2011
In the Grindhouse style of films, this is an over-the-top film in every way. Expect the extremes from every aspect, but done in a fun way.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byMalik1Saad2 July 7, 2015

It sucks!

My mom watched the movie on the night I downloaded it.The next day my mom deleted the movie and told us this movie is not appropriate for us she told the violence is not too much and use of bad words include f--k sh-t d-ck but there is lot of nudity in every 2/3 scenes there is nudity.There is also drinking and smoking.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 9, 2013

Awesome action movie

Awesome movie
Teen, 17 years old Written bybobbyray March 3, 2013

Great movie but...

Lots of blood and gore....graphic sex scenes and nudity and non stop language....Adults only!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byPrincessCharmed797 January 31, 2013

Older Teens only

Drive Angry is a movie made by Patrick Lussier (My bloody valentine re-make) and stars Nicholas Cage (Lord of War, Kick-Ass, 8mm, Wicker man remake). and Amber Heard (All the boys love mandy lane, The informers, Never back down). This movie is unquestionably violent, and has lots of sex and drugs. It definetly receives it's R-rating for a reason. But the violence is pretty much tongue-in-cheek. And nothing serious like Hostel or Saw. Expect your basic Arnold Schwarzenegger or Sylvester Stallone action movie. The violence is quiet frequent and has lots of blood and gore. There's a scene which involves killing bad guys, drinking JD, having sex with a nude woman. I would say this title is good for 17+ people since it's quiet graphic and very adult film. Just don't take it seriously and you'll be fine :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byStevie111 March 3, 2012

Extremely violent/ not for kids

This is an extrmely mature movie packed with graphic sexual content and nudity in detail, gruesome violence with loads of blood and brutality, and nearly constant vulgarity from start to finish. This movie is for adults only, unless you reallt trust the maturity of your teen.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byMSFFL January 18, 2012

THEY CALL THIS A MOVIE!!!!

When I sat down to watch this I was expecting a good movie. I WAS WRONG. This movie has so much blood, gore, language, and sex that it is sick. (Positive Messages and Role Models:) I'd hardly call Milton a positive role model. The only thing positive is that he was trying to save an infant but to do so he had to kill plenty of people and this is show in great detail. Their really is no positive messages escape for the mission to save the infant. Milton is chased by a man who calls himself the Accountant, and who makes dire comments to individuals about how soon he'll be seeing them again; an occult cult, its leader, and a sacrifice of a child are all part of the storyline; references to literal elements of @#!*% on earth; a character states her fear of devil worship and those involved with it; @#!*% is said to be a place where images of those you love, but can't help, are played endlessly; a man has a pentagram engraved on his chest; those shot with a certain weapon are said to cease existing; the idea that the meek will inherit the earth is called a lie. (Violence:) Drive Angry isn't a slasher film per se, but it's certainly a first cousin to the genre. And its explicit, over-the-top violence has enough screen time and presence to be considered a primary character itself—especially since the movie was shot in 3-D. Several men's eyes are shot, stabbed or gouged out—up close and bloodily—by bullets, crowbars or garden tools. A man's shoulder is impaled to a wall. Later his head is split open by a hurtling rod. Another man's hand is blown off, and the "miracle" of 3-D sends the pieces into your lap. A woman's throat is brutally slashed (offscreen), and we see copious blood spatter across a wall, as well as onto the murderer's face. He savors the spillage, licking his mouth and fingers. Milton's eye is injured, and its "healing" process is just as gory as the wound. Machetes, sledgehammers, garden tools, etc., are repeatedly thrust into people's heads, chests and other body parts. A man's flesh melts off as his jaw (among other things) breaks off. Multiple people are graphically shot in what feels like continual gunfire. A woman is decimated by a car that hits her at high speed—and the vehicle's bloodied grill is shown as a joke. Men brutally beat up women and other men. Women do the same—sometimes while naked. Another constant are reckless driving and car wrecks that result in apocalyptic explosions. People fall out of moving vehicles and crash through walls. Violent satanic rituals are mentioned. It's said that Jonah broke a woman's leg in three places with a tire iron. A woman threatens to bite a man's penis in half. Milton and a vulnerable woman he's holding are tasered. Slo-mo bullets graze The Accountant's face. I could go on. But there's really no need. (Sex:) Piper's no-good fiancé is shown having sex with another woman. Nothing about her body (and several other women's bodies, for that matter) is left to the imagination. We see the two in a sexual position, moving and moaning. Later, Milton hooks up with a cocktail waitress, and as in My @#!*% Valentine, the nude woman is abused onscreen for an entire scene—not for mere seconds. She and Milton (who is fully clothed apart from a lowered fly that her body covers) are having boisterous sex when a shootout erupts. While still coupled with her, he moves around a motel room, murdering baddies. When the shots finally falter, she's left terrorized and cruelly battered. And for the record, the audience at the screening I attended laughed at her trauma. Milton callously orders her to calm down. Nude women dance at an orgy-like satanic ritual. A passerby takes a cell phone picture of a naked female who has been beaten up and is lying on a sidewalk. Piper's boss touches her suggestively. A breakfast item is vulgarly named, as is a bar that has a sexually graphic neon sign. A waitress comes on to Milton, using innuendo. Sex toys are mentioned; masturbation is alluded to. (Language:) (A*s 6; F**k 76; SOB 21; S**t 12; H**l 16; D**k 3; T**s 2; There is a mention of each bal*s, pus*y, N**s) Male genitalia is obscenely referred to repeatedly. An obscene gesture is made. Consumerism: Milton smokes and drinks frequently, including during sex; more drinking during satanic ritual. Horrible movie NOT WORTH SEEING.You'd be better off watching Dora the Explorer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bycallofduty5 November 8, 2011

17+ only

Drive Angry is a movie made by Patrick Lussier (My bloody valentine re-make) and stars Nicholas Cage (Lord of War, Kick-Ass, 8mm, Wicker man remake). and Amber Heard (All the boys love mandy lane, The informers, Never back down). This movie is unquestionably violent, and has lots of sex and drugs. It definetly receives it's R-rating for a reason. But the violence is pretty much tongue-in-cheek. And nothing serious like Hostel or Saw. Expect your basic Arnold Schwarzenegger or Sylvester Stallone action movie. The violence is quiet frequent and has lots of blood and gore. There's a scene which involves killing bad guys, drinking JD, having sex with a nude woman. I would say this title is good for 17+ people since it's quiet graphic and very adult film. Just don't take it seriously and you'll be fine :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byage 10+ October 16, 2011

NOBODY under 16

This movie is not for ANYONE under the age of 16 because it contains truckloads of violence and swearing. It also contains a litle bit of nudity but not much.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byJahvonify96Sincerely September 14, 2011

NC-17 rating for ''Drive Angry''

My rating for this movie is rated NC-17 for extreme strong brutal violence,grisly images,some graphic sexuality including a situation,extreme strong language and drug content
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byspecialteachergl July 30, 2011

explicit-probably pornagraphic; this one desrves more than an R rating

not appropriate for anyone of any age; horrible film; After a few minutes my husband said"If I had picked this one you would have told me to turn it off". I wish we would have turned it off then. The nude sexually acts, language and violence just kept getting worse. We did finally turn it off after about 30 wasted minutes of our life. Cage has done some good movies and bad ones. This one was awful.I've seen a few grindhouse movies, this one is by far worse.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byArmyWifeArmyMama2211 June 4, 2011

Definitly NOT for Kids

First of all, I've seen some interesting reviews from both children and parents on this movie. If you're letting your children watch this kind of movie, you're a moron. So to the 13 year old kids reviewing this....um...you're to young. This is a very violent, very sexual, very explicit movie. This is not a movie for children under the age of 17. I say 17 because lets face it, by that age you've heard everything/said everything in this movie. The language is bad. There really is no positive attitude. There are no role models. But is very action packed and fun, but it is not for children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byjoshua martinez June 1, 2011

not for kids.

Drive Angry is a great action movie stars with Nicolas cage but this movie is only for adults and parents you need to know that drive angry has a lot of strong intense bloody violence a few sex scenes and graphic nudity shown a lot of constant strong language used and some drinking and drugs used.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byantoineisthebest March 27, 2011

NOT FOR KIDS

sex and gore (we see many naked women foe short moment) and the same thing as commensense media said not for kids
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybananalover March 6, 2011

Nic Cage just failed his acting career...

i am very sad for nick cage
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnthony_B March 2, 2011

Sex, Drugs, Language, and MAJOR Violence, not for some people, not for most kids.

I just saw this movie and thought it was a good movie. However, I gave it OFF for children my age because of the sex scenes, although I don't get offended by it, also, kids who are not good with gore should ABSOLUTELY not see this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bySynchronicity February 27, 2011

(3.5 stars) As over-the-top as humanly possible, but with amazing 3D and even a bit of (hypocritical) emotion; NOT FOR KIDS!

A trashy grindhouse flick set in the modern era, Drive Angry 3D is perfect cult fodder and better than most of Nick Cage's recent material (*cough*Season of the Witch*cough*), but only because of its extreme content. Like Piranha 3D before it, Drive Angry relies on every gimmick in the book to make B-film lovers rejoice. And it's definitely not for kids. In Drive Angry, a man named John Milton comes up from Hell to save his baby granddaughter from being sacrificed by a cult leader who sacrificed his daughter. He is joined by a sexy waitress named Piper, whose boyfriend had just recently left her. Together in her Dodge Charger, they travel cross-country to stop the cult. Yeah, this is a pretty basic plotline, but it's trashy enough to make you smile. And, once again, this isn't a kiddie flick. Everything in the books abounds here. One of the most hilariously sleazy (and offensive) scenes occurs when Milton is simultaneously having sex with a woman, blowing the heads off of about 10 men with a shotgun, chomping on a cigar, and drinking a bottle of Jack Daniel's whiskey. It's all in hilariously bad taste, and tame by grindhouse standards, but it's still pretty offensive. Violence also abounds, with limbs getting blown off, stabbings, beatings, car crashes, explosions, cop-killing, and a gun from Hell that can make pretty much anything spontaneously combust. And that's in the first thirty minutes. There's also comically exaggerated gore and blood spurts, but again, that's to be expected. On the sex front, there's quite a bit of nudity and sex throughout, and there's some sexualized threat and violence aimed at Piper. Language is raw, with about 75 f-bombs and other miscellaneous profanity. I think I even heard a c-word used somewhere. There's also a bit more product placement than CSM mentioned, including the aforementioned Jack Daniel's, Milton clearly wearing Oakley sunglasses, and LOADS of cars. Dodge Chargers, Chevrolet Chevelles, and the like lovingly adorn the screen. Finally, there are several scenes that have characters with a cigarette or cigar in their mouth. All of this content is not only a hallmark of the entire grindhouse genre, but also portrayed in a self-aware and downright hilarious way. Even so, some scenes may be too much for some. But if you're looking for a great piece of trash to waste a couple hours in without checking your brain at the door, Drive Angry 3D might just be the ticket.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great role models