All member reviews for Duma

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Enchanting coming-of-age story for kids.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 15 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 8 year old Written byindividual1 July 30, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Well told, highly engaging story, beautifully photographed

The movie is a well told story of childhood decision-making (kids don't always make the right choices, even if choosing to do something for the right reasons) set into a sometimes stunningly beautiful tour of South Africa. Directed by Carrol Ballard (who directed one of the most photographically beautiful film made in color, The Black Stallion), with excellent use of many familiar archetypes. My 8 year old boy was fully engaged and loved it. (note on my scoring: I indicate "educational" because with a good post-viewing discussion, there is much to learn).
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old June 29, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I love it

I love this
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 year old Written byNeecie24 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 5 year old Written byhuskylover June 5, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

e.g. Engaging story, refreshing film

We watched this for family movie night with our 5.5 year old son and 2 year old daughter- everyone enjoyed it (and it's not always easy to find one that's enjoyable for kids and tolerable for parents). Everything about it was great and engaging- my kids didn't find any of the scenes with the animal predators scary but I think the father's death be difficult for more sensitive kids and might merit some discussion with your child but otherwise I highly recommend the film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 5 and 7 year old Written byifch317 March 19, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great coming of age story

Great coming of age story with the elements of life that concern children rather than adolescents (animals, parents, adult friends as opposed to opposite sex attraction or peer pressure). Beautifully filmed. Scary parts (death of father, danger from lions, near death of a friend) are not graphic, but also are not glossed over.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Adult Written bywarreng8170 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Parent Written bynmheller November 6, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 14 year old Written byWeeklybob February 13, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Wonderful

Beutifully filmed, great story, great cinematography.
Teen, 15 years old Written bychargnar February 5, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Awesome

A fantastic movie that isn't known very well. A very sad movie as well
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent Written byoes October 22, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Simply kind movie/

I don't think that this film is a masterpiece of cinema. But it's full of kindness and love, and this is more important. The boy (even a boy – actor) will not be an egoist in future and bring a love to animals from his whole life. He was able to release cheeta at wild nature, thinking about his fate, and not about his attachment. I like the movie. But there is still a beautiful African legend why Cheetah black stripes of the eye. Save animals!
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 7 years old September 24, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

perfect

a nice movie .My son loved it very much
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old February 19, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Great

Really good movie one of my favourites.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written bySapphire Fire August 10, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Beautiful, Touching Portrayal of Growing Up

Duma is a touching tale about a boy learning to let his loved-ones go when they need to be. Set in gorgeous South-Africa, Duma takes you on a colorful and engaging journey about growing up- a very enchanting story.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written byjackamers8 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A Great Movie

This movie was great. It takes place in South Africa, where a boy lives out in the savannah with a cheetah which he and his dad picked up on the road. After the dad dies, the boy and his mother must move for more financial opportunities in the city, while still taking the cheetah, which by now has become mature. It one day escapes and police are called, and the boy finds the cheetah. Knowing that the cheetah will most certainly get put in the zoo, he decides to go out into the wild where he found the cheetah originally. I don't want to reveal the rest of the story as it will surely wreck it for people who want to see it, but the ending is something not to miss.