Common Sense Media says

Inspiring story about brave sled dogs.

Users say

(out of 49 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Adult Written byKrbbup November 20, 2008

Horrible Tear-Jerker

I purposely did not see this movie in theaters because I knew some of the animals died. My family rented it and I could only watch about thirty minutes of it before I almost cried! I have a very soft spot for animals, so if you can handle seeing mans' best friend left behind to freeze, go right ahead. The story is about a group of people who are scientists studying the weather and climate of Alaska (I think). When a business/scientist comes to the base in search of a guide, the main character sets of with his dogs and the visitor to go and study the land. A horrible accident occures, the man is injured and the main character heads back to base with him and the dogs. Bottom line: all of the people get into a helicopter (to get the injured man to a hospitail) and leaves the dogs during an ice storm. This is where I stopped, so I do not know what happens after this. I personally would NOT recommend this movie to anyone who cares about animals or who cries easily.
Adult Written byfireech April 9, 2008
Teen, 14 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

Worst movie ever!

Teen, 15 years old Written bypurplecatroo April 9, 2008
Adult Written bypanker April 9, 2008

great family movie, for over 9-10 yrs old

A great family movie. We all loved it - however, my 8 1/2 year old ( a real dog lover) cried almost the whole movie, as soon as you could tell Jack (one of the dogs) would die. Perhaps too sad for younger kids. Otherwise, a great family-friendly movie!
Teen, 15 years old Written bybubbo April 9, 2008

Surprisingly Good

I enjoyed Eight Below alot more than I thought I would, it was an interesting and cool movie. Not quite as cute as I expected, either, the leopard seal attack was very intense for a PG rated movie. Good for kids: 9+
Teen, 14 years old Written bypotato April 9, 2008
Adult Written bymrblech April 9, 2008

Cold temperatures, warm emotions

Your basic Disney film about a likable guy, his likable friends, and some very furry heroes. Gratuitous profanity is a silly but minor drawback - it almost should be a "G" movie. There's something for everyone in the family: beautiful nature scenes, some tearjerker moments, some suspense, comic relief, and even a bit of violence (thanks to Mother Nature).
Adult Written bybethlthomson April 9, 2008

i cried

My kids love it with those's pretty dogs.
Adult Written byEverydayJoe April 9, 2008

A Very Enjoyable Flick

It's been a long time since I've seen a film I didn't have to mentally filter out some of the language, graphic scenes, or sexual content. This show is a winner. It strongly supports the virtues of loyalty and sacrifice too. It made my wife teary-eyed too.
Adult Written bysoccer girl7 April 9, 2008

I loved it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

It was a great movie. Especially if your an animal luver like me! Plus the scenery was breathtaking and really amazing and the dogs were adorable! PS: "XXX" is a great movie also
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008


OK i saw the movie it is soooo sad im a guy so if I say its sad its SAD!!And it IS!!Especially if your an animal person.
Teen, 13 years old Written byCandy Girl 101 April 9, 2008
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008


Adult Written byShilohbloo April 9, 2008
Adult Written bysurfergirl2314 April 9, 2008

This is Great

This movie is a mix of happy and sad the movie never feel's happy in the middle but 6 out of the 8 dogs surivie wich is good and bad.
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
Adult Written bysassy007 April 9, 2008
Adult Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008

"Eight Below" Should Get "Eights Stars"

I LOVE this movie i saw it with my brother it was sad yet joyful Paul Walkers Greatest Performance it eas Great for everyone
Adult Written bysss April 9, 2008

an ok movie

the movie had many scary moments which were very realistic (man falling into ice, leopard seals attacking - very loud). the movie would have also been better if disney hadn't developed a relationship between the beautiful female helicopter pilot and the lead character.