All member reviews for Elf

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 103 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byilovecookiez April 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A little iffy for kids, more safe for mature tweens

My entire family loves this movie! It's pretty edgy though. I'd say it's for tweens that are pretty mature. It's weird though... This has more language and alchol use then Regular show yet it's rated on for 7+. That's just unfair.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 16, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

great movie

Love this movie! Aws!! TOTALLY got me in the christmas spirit. i think its fine for all ages. it uses "d*mn" and "h*ll" but whatever. one scene where a buddy listens to jodie singing in the shower, and there are references to being naked and sexy but o well. so funny!!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old September 5, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

drama war

funny and witty
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp March 3, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Suggested MPAA Rating: PG for some rude humor and language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Hillarious Christmas movie!

When I saw Elf the first time I laughed so hard I almost cried! It's so funny to watch every year at Christmastime. If you haven't seen it, you are misssing out on so much! It has very positive messages in it like how to spread the true meaning of Christmas. Great for kids!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byJustino4 April 25, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good Family Movie

Elf is a good family movie with some cussing, but not serious.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Kid, 9 years old March 25, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

christmas

This is a good good good good good movie
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPuppyluv13 November 29, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Terrific! Best Christmas movie EVER!

Overall a good movie, but in one scene a character gets drunk, the language is pretty tame, In one scene, a Coca Cola is shown but other than that no consumerism. Like I said, Overall, A GREAT family film for ALL ages
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old January 16, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
it was ok
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byZaphrodite July 17, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Tee-hee hee

i saw this movie the year it came out so i was about 6 or 7. there was nothing i could remember with bad words or anything. just funny stuff. i watched it 8 times.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old November 21, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

BEST MOVIE EVER

Elf is my favorite movie ever! You'll LOVE it!!!
Kid, 9 years old April 16, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

:)

GREAT. They do say "p-ssed" "d-mn" and "h-ll" but that's all. For sex the girl is shown in the shower, drinking, Buddy gets drunk. FAMILY MOVIE THOUGH.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old December 24, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

funny

love it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Elf, an instant classic.

This is the best Christmas movie you will ever see I absolutely adored it! A instant funny classic for the whole family to enjoy. The only thing is minor ( And i mean minor.) swearing just something little kiddies should know isn't polite. But awesome movie overall
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byDMfanCassy August 31, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

VERRRRYYYY FUNNNY!!!!!

Great movie! But needed alittle less cussing.... But it would be a great Christmas movie!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byuncle joe December 21, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Uncle Joe says hi

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 16, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Love it!

this is great my favorite part is when he walks around new york dressed as an elf
Kid, 10 years old August 18, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Why Elf Is Great

'Elf' is a great movie for almost everybody. It does have some language, but not too much. And they aren't THAT bad. It has some vioelnce in it, but some children may find that funny or amusing. I think Buddy the Elf is a good role model because he's peppy and has a positive attitude. Usually after kids see a movie, they like to act like themain characterl if good things happened to them. So.. Buddy would be a good role model except for some of the language he used.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 6, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

best movie ever

buddy is da boss! the only reason i gave it 8+ is cuz there is one scene where buddy goes shopping and goes into the lingerine section, and ends up buying his dad a pajama bra (a bra with a translucent thingy hanging down from it. other than that itz fine for families ELF IS MUST SEE
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 10, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Really good!

Very funny. Will have you laughing from start to finish.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages