All member reviews for Elf

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 103 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byilovecookiez April 7, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

A little iffy for kids, more safe for mature tweens

My entire family loves this movie! It's pretty edgy though. I'd say it's for tweens that are pretty mature. It's weird though... This has more language and alchol use then Regular show yet it's rated on for 7+. That's just unfair.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byPuppyluv13 November 29, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Terrific! Best Christmas movie EVER!

Overall a good movie, but in one scene a character gets drunk, the language is pretty tame, In one scene, a Coca Cola is shown but other than that no consumerism. Like I said, Overall, A GREAT family film for ALL ages
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp March 3, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Suggested MPAA Rating: PG for some rude humor and language.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 2, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Hillarious Christmas movie!

When I saw Elf the first time I laughed so hard I almost cried! It's so funny to watch every year at Christmastime. If you haven't seen it, you are misssing out on so much! It has very positive messages in it like how to spread the true meaning of Christmas. Great for kids!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old December 8, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

a will ferrel wonder

this is one of my favorite holiday movies of all time! Will Ferrel plays a great buddy the elf and james caan a great walter hobbs. Though in some parts there is liquor but besides that nothing serious. though little kids love it, older kids and adults will get more humor.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 24, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

funny

love it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written byHappy123 January 7, 2015
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great movie !

I love this movie . It has some mild language , and shows a girl in a shower (only shows her from neck up ) , but other than that it's great ! It keeps kids entertained throughout the whole movie.
What other families should know
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2015
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Language Anybody?

For 7 year olds? The language in this is horrible for 7 year olds. I believe you should know your 9 year old very well and take 30 minutes making the decision to watch or not watch! Buddy is awesome though and acts so innocent all the time. If your child knows about bad words though and is mature enough, at 9 they could watch this. Maybe 10.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byJimmy brew November 29, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Funny movie for the family but watch out for adult humor

My rating:PG for crude humor and mild language
Kid, 10 years old August 25, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

good christmas spirit movie

this is ok for younger kids but watch out for some swearing
Kid, 12 years old July 29, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
One of the best Christmas movies ever. Will Ferrell was hilarious as Buddy and the others were great in their roles. A sweet, funny and charming film.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old January 11, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

I love it!

It's great for all ages! Concepts held in a family friendly way that will please mature audiences, acting in a hilarious manner, for example, elf referring obliviously to a small person as an "elf"not really inappropriate!!
Teen, 13 years old Written bygloriacrystal December 22, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Okay

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bySadieDaisy138 November 30, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Excellent Movie for the Whole Family

This is an excellent film for all ages for the entire family. Buddy is a funny, creative, cheerful role model that sets a positive example for kids. There is a small amount of violence like a man flipping Buddy on a table but he isn't hurt. Buddy is also hit by a taxi but again unhurt. There is a quick kiss between Buddy and his coworker. There is wine at dinner only consumed by the adults, and also Buddy drinks out of a flask with a friend and gets drunk but only dances on a table. It is a very good movie and I watch it with my family at least five times every Christmas!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old November 16, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

awful

I love Will Ferrell but I really hate this movie it's annoying
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old October 16, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Funniest Film Ever!

Elf is the best comedy film I have ever watched and is packed full of 'Laugh Out Loud' moments! Elf contains moderate racism towards Dwarfs (Dwarfism). Elf also claims the disbelief of Santa Claus which some under aged viewers may be disappointed with and it might spoil your Christmas magic. Great family film if your children or child is over the age of ten years old. Very funny and your child will have this as their seasonal fave film!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old August 27, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

great movie

this is a great film and i think it is fine for everyone.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old August 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Super Funny

This is super funny in 3ed grade I brought and the whole class loved it even is it a Christmas movie sometimes I watch it in the summer or spring I like the part when Micheal says how are we supposed to get the star on the tree and Buddy says I will get it and then he jumps on the Christmas tree this will make you laugh so hard.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old August 14, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

okay

it is really all right! should do better!
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages