All member reviews for Elf

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Peppy holiday favorite for both kids and parents.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 144 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byjkw April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

I second the "not for toddlers"

I'd also heard this was suitable for toddlers, so my husband and I screened it. We're glad we checked first! It is a cute movie, but there is a lot there that our 3-year-old daughter could find disturbing, including trees catching on fire, multiple physical fights, and a lot of yelling/anger for confusing reasons. I'd say it is best for the 6-12 year old range with some parental explanations.
Parent of a 1 and 4 year old Written byagency14 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Not good for adoptive families

Very funny movie in many ways, and very enjoyable BUT a big warning to adoptive families: Buddy the elf goes off to NY to find his "real" dad, that being his biological father rather than the father who adopted him and raised him and is indeed his REAL father. Very problematic message for adoptive families or families with less traditional structures, who raise their children to understand that family is about love and who takes care of you, not biology. As much as I love this movie, it will be off limits to my son until he's much much older and more confident and comfortable with our adoptive family status.
Parent of a 5, 6, 7, 10, 10, and 17 year old Written byCharlie The Cat December 17, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

My Youngest Kid NO!!!

Perfect For My Other Kids it Made my 6, 7, 10, 10, and my 17 year old laugh.
Parent of a 7 and 7 year old Written byTwinMyself December 27, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Hilarious.

Light hearted, easy family movie. Nothing inappropriate or uncomfortable for anyone. Just sit back and enjoy. You are guaranteed a laugh!!!!!
Kid, 10 years old November 28, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Elf, an instant classic.

This is the best Christmas movie you will ever see I absolutely adored it! A instant funny classic for the whole family to enjoy. The only thing is minor ( And i mean minor.) swearing just something little kiddies should know isn't polite. But awesome movie overall
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byDMfanCassy August 31, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

VERRRRYYYY FUNNNY!!!!!

Great movie! But needed alittle less cussing.... But it would be a great Christmas movie!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byDr. Weird September 11, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good.

Messages and role models: Good. Violence: Minor Sex: A character is seen naked in the shower.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Parent Written bybabysitrcares December 31, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good for Eight and Up

Great movie, very funny! Unfortunately, some parts can get a little scary and Buddy's Dad not knowing about him may raise some questions in younger children.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Adult Written byhellomynameisgeorge November 27, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
OUTSTANDING
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 4 and 7 year old Written byM382 November 26, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

4+ okay for family holiday movie

There's nothing to be alarmed about in this movie for kids ages 4 and up. Our boys really enjoyed it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written byuncle joe December 21, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Uncle Joe says hi

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 16, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Love it!

this is great my favorite part is when he walks around new york dressed as an elf
Parent Written bylilman11 January 10, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
i'm yored about the kids
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent Written byPlague February 26, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Elf

A cute and funny movie the whole family will enjoy. Especially during Christmas.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old August 18, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Why Elf Is Great

'Elf' is a great movie for almost everybody. It does have some language, but not too much. And they aren't THAT bad. It has some vioelnce in it, but some children may find that funny or amusing. I think Buddy the Elf is a good role model because he's peppy and has a positive attitude. Usually after kids see a movie, they like to act like themain characterl if good things happened to them. So.. Buddy would be a good role model except for some of the language he used.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 6, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

best movie ever

buddy is da boss! the only reason i gave it 8+ is cuz there is one scene where buddy goes shopping and goes into the lingerine section, and ends up buying his dad a pajama bra (a bra with a translucent thingy hanging down from it. other than that itz fine for families ELF IS MUST SEE
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byabbacus June 10, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Really good!

Very funny. Will have you laughing from start to finish.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 2 and 7 year old Written byHOLLYWOODHILLSMOM April 23, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Truly funny for parents and kids!

Our whole family loved watching this together. Absolutely nothing objectionable and so incredibly funny!
Parent Written byEnns Family November 11, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written byellasmom36 December 19, 2008
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT!!!

I love this movie. It's so cute and funny. WARNING: it might make kids not believe in Santa. It's about an elf trying to find his dad in NYC. It has a great cast and is super funny!

Pages