All member reviews for Elf

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Peppy holiday favorite for both kids and parents.

Age

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 144 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bylivvy314 January 4, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

great movie for all ages!

halarious overall good movie! family friendly very very mild swearing, barely notice the cuss words; i go to a christian school and we still watch this movie, so its definatley an appropriate movie. great comedy for both kids and adults! im fourteen and i still love it and so does my mom and grandparents and little sisters. great to watch during the holidays!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written bybabysitrcares December 31, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Good for Eight and Up

Great movie, very funny! Unfortunately, some parts can get a little scary and Buddy's Dad not knowing about him may raise some questions in younger children.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old December 27, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
I really liked this movie and Will Ferrel is just the nicest and funniest guy in the movie. Obviously the movie is funny, no language problems that I know of really. You also see that a woman is in the shower(no body parts shown). His real dad at first shows very bad influence and is very mean to his child. But a good kids family movie and its a holiday type of movie.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old December 26, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

very very funny

very funny and well done.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 24, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

A Very Funny Movie

One of the most hulrious films there are. Like it a lot. No, LOVE it a lot. There was constant laughs. And the movie has a positive message. The only thing that pretty much bothers me are the mean characters and the language. Good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byleftbehindcrazed8 December 5, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

awesome movie!

This is a r r r r r r r e e e e e e a a a a a l l l l l l l l l l l l y y y y y y funny movie! I love it! Although there IS a lot of product placement, it's still a great family-friendly movie!!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byhannah_belle November 28, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great Christmas movie that even the adults will love!

What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old November 27, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Parent of a 4 and 7 year old Written byM382 November 26, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

4+ okay for family holiday movie

There's nothing to be alarmed about in this movie for kids ages 4 and up. Our boys really enjoyed it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written byH2O Family November 14, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Perfect Family Christmas Movie

This is my family's all time favorite christmas movie. We watch it every christmas season and quote it year round. Perfect for a family with a wide range of ages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 13 year old Written byDr. Weird September 11, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good.

Messages and role models: Good. Violence: Minor Sex: A character is seen naked in the shower.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byFrylock September 10, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Silly.

A silly film, but it's a little predictable.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byZaphrodite July 17, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Tee-hee hee

i saw this movie the year it came out so i was about 6 or 7. there was nothing i could remember with bad words or anything. just funny stuff. i watched it 8 times.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old June 17, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

go see it today

elf is an awesome movie that will charm kids and adults besides a few bad words its clean
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 13, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good

This movie is funny for all ages. I would rate it PG for crude humor and mild language.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Kid, 7 years old May 31, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

e.g. Perfect for older kids,

I hate it and love it
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educator Written byMr. Carthic May 3, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

AL AGES

What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 2 and 7 year old Written byHOLLYWOODHILLSMOM April 23, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Truly funny for parents and kids!

Our whole family loved watching this together. Absolutely nothing objectionable and so incredibly funny!
Teen, 13 years old Written bybooklover1 March 24, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
love it
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 16 years old Written bybeccabooluvsyou March 16, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Pages