All member reviews for Elf

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Peppy holiday favorite for both kids and parents.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 145 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 11, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Extremely Enjoyable Movie

I think that you may have to wait a little while for younger children to understand the jokes to their best but i loved this movie! this movie can make me laugh even in the toughest of times! The characters are enjoyable and very loveable. It shows a story of how you can still be loved even if you don't truly fit in. It shows that being yourself is never bad, and that you should always do what makes you happy. Some of these things in the movie should not be attempted like..jumping on beds at sears or jumping up and down in an elevator..but it's all in movie humor. This is a very enjoyable and well made movie! 5 stars! Go see it!
Kid, 11 years old March 22, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
This was a funny movie, one of the best from Will.
Kid, 11 years old December 30, 2008
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

To everyone

It shouldn't be a problem to anyone because you don't take movies literally! I mean, come on, it's a movie!
Parent of a 4 and 8 year old Written byellasmom36 December 19, 2008
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT!!!

I love this movie. It's so cute and funny. WARNING: it might make kids not believe in Santa. It's about an elf trying to find his dad in NYC. It has a great cast and is super funny!
Kid, 11 years old December 2, 2008
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

a great, very funny holiday film!

you will laugh and laugh and laugh! this is a super fun, funny movie for the holiday season! there is nothing inappropriate, the whole family will enjoy!
Teen, 15 years old Written byShinjo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

This is a funny, exciting movie that will definitely make you laugh!

This is a movie about a boy, Buddy who grows up in the north pole among Santa's elves! Buddy was adopted by "Papa Elf" when he was a small boy and for a while he thinks he belongs there. When he learns that he doesn't really fit in in the north pole and that his real father is in New York, he heads out in search of his dad! When he finally locates his father in the Empire State building, he realizes that his dad is not so welcoming to his son that he never knew he had. To learn about Buddy's adventures in New York, go see Elf in theaters today!
Adult Written byForknose April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An Instant Classic

This movie was funny almost at all times. Even my 5 year old sister thought it was funny and it was her third movie in the theatre. If you like Holiday Spirit and comedy this is for you. This proves Will Ferrell as a top-notch actor (although his role as Mugatu in Zoolander could have done that).
Adult Written bycrystal April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Will Ferrelll is adorable and funny as Buddy, a human raised as an elf, who one day finds out he's adopted and decides to go to New York City to find his biological father. This movie is extremely appealing for young children (Buddy exhibits constant joy, which should also serve as an example of good behavior), and is also entertaining for adults (so unrealistic that it's amusing); there are also some moments that are delightful for both generations (such as when Buddy finally experiences the invention of an escalator). Although there are some scary moments (Buddy's father throws a fit at him), and children might be worried about Buddy's mother's lack of appearance, this film is an ideal movie for parents to see with their children. P.S. the movie also enforces the belief in Santa Clause (is a character)
Teen, 16 years old Written bydancer917 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Elf is the best family Christmas movie out there!!!

I personally love the movie ELF!!!!!! It is a great family show. Everyone in my family loves this movie. It's funny, and well just funny!! Will Ferrel does a great job of playing the part of an innocent type of adult who doesn't really know how to live in the city. Ya, this movie does have a little bit of swearing sometimes but not too often. If you haven'tt seen ELF yet, I suggest you go rent or buy it right now before it sells out! Yep, it's that good!
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Great Family Movie!

Elf was a good family movie although it gets pretty boring at some parts in the movie but the parts that were good are really good.
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i laughed~

i love it!!!!!! :)
Teen, 15 years old Written byTnMovieFan2 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written bybethlthomson April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

i laughed

this is a FUNNY!!!!!MOVIE we this movie at home. ITS GREAT!!!!!!!!!!
Parent of a 9 year old Written bynikilj April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 14 years old Written bybandgeekl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byPoptartpm April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 15 years old Written bypurplecatroo April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Cute

Good Christmas movie for younger kids. Teens will get bored
Adult Written byjrplop April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 13 years old Written byKeds43@aol.com April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Adult Written byda_cool_mamma April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Hilarious Movie, But Talk To You Kids First!!

This is a laugh-out-loud movie! But, I would talk to your kids first if they are under the age of 7, since they have Buddy eating gum off the street, they have some bad language, and there are some mentions of Santa not being real. But this movie is great for older viewers!!

Pages