All member reviews for Eragon

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Dragon fantasy falls flat, but kids won't care.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 162 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old June 3, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Don't Bother

If you read the book first, you will find this is a pretty crappy movie compared to to the book. It's no wonder they didn't make another.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byNEGamerT February 11, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Eragon - Is the movie good? = No, Please please please read the books then watch the movie!

I watched the movie because I loved the books and they were so interesting and full of adventure but the movie just tore it all away. The main events of the book were not even there in the movie and instead were completely removed, being left with a story that made the series look like rubbish. When I watched the movie I could not wait and was hoping for it to be even more spectacular than the books but after about 10 minutes I was ready to turn it off. The events that were in the book were twisted to make it fit in the 1 - 1.5 hour space, which I understand but they did not have to go as far as to completely throw away the books story and make a new one.SPOILERS! The parts that ruined it for me were: Saphira growing up in 10 seconds Brom being killed only after 30 mins from Eragon meeting him. The razac that are meant to die in the third book already lose one of them (there is only 2). Murtagh is met and after a min or so is already being kept as a prisoner without even the fight between him and Eragon.They reach the Varden without hardly any trouble. There are many more errors as well but it would take me all day to list them. Even the the character who played Eragon looked less than how he was described in the book than my dog. Anyway I advise you to read the books first and then make your decision but to tell you he truth I don't believe you will find many people who preferred the movie over the book! I hope this helps you. Tom
Kid, 10 years old January 9, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

epic

epic!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bymichael m.7 December 7, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

TERRIBLE

best book ever...suckish movie. one of the worst movies i have ever seen. l=D
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byZonoya November 30, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

boo eragon zzzzzzzzzzzzz

So not for kids under 8 or 6.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 19, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

CSM needs to hire better reviewers....

I don't particularly care for the movie but let me atleast set one thing straight... The relationship between Eragon and his dragon was in NOOOOOO way "romantic"! CSM talks a lot of crap.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byMovieGuy23 June 13, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Eragon: Uncreative and unwise

Eragon is a disgrace of filmmaking. Even with actors such as Jeremy Irons and John Malkovich, the movie utterly fails in any form of creative storytelling. A copy of films such as Star Wars and The Lord of the rings. But what more can you expect from a book written by a teenager and then thrusted onto the big screen? Note to parents: The violence pushes it towards PG-13, but this is not any worse than the Narnia movies.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old May 20, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

wow

very good
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byEmmaLu April 15, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I like the movie,but I <3 the book! It is 10x better than the movie!
Teen, 13 years old Written byMoeluver February 17, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

ehh

Scary violent scenes, enjoyable if you havn't read the bood, i watched the movie and a year later read the boods, two years later and disliked it (i was 3 years older). THe movie seemed shallow and was too different to be likable the second time
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp February 14, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Suggested MPAA rating: PG-13 for epic battle sequences and frightening scenes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byZara360 December 31, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
This Movie Is Really BAD, BAD, BAD.
Adult Written bytrubo December 4, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

There's no need for a second movie to be made only a remake of the first!

If anyone who watched it without reading the book it was an ok movie. I f by chance you did read the book and noticed that the plot of the book was not only screwed it was non existent and to make it worse it was the opposite of the book removing characters say for instance Jeod who is a major character not to mention they have to write a different script cause Roran pernounced Rora in the movie was Fd up in this role not to mention Eragon has brown hair as discribed in book 2. This movie should be banned and destroyed because it isn't a movie that has merrit in fact any movie made in the last 50 years could do better in fact the movie was compared to Lord of the Rings which means the movie should have been 2 or 3 hours long not barely enough to call it a movie which is the only reason Paolini agreed to the trash on screen, but the facte is the book isn't meant for 9 year olds it should be a iffy R movie where all the joy of the book was where all the language that is used in the book is cut out which makes it an a PG-13 movie even without language since there are injuries like in a real battle with blood time to put merrit in a movie not just money.
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byocie14 October 11, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Ugh

This review messed up. The movie is NOT for 9 year olds. It's dark, and scary, and violent. Just okay film.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old September 5, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I really do not like this movie.

I looovvveeedd the book but the movie sucked i think that if they did every little detail in the book it would be 7 hours long and at least rated R and it would be one of the coolest movies ever but this was awful they even said that eragon had a romance with saphira? i must have missed that part, anyway when i saw this movie my IQ dropped so much that now i have negitave 32623856088548439474894374843738 IQ and i have to eat out of a dog bowl!!!!!!!!!!!The only thing i liked in this movie is that it wasnt so long. the only bad meassage in this movie is do not make a movie like this. so all you fans of eragon out there just watch scooby dooby doo or something anything is better than this.
Kid, 8 years old July 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great for 11 and up

pretty good movie with a lot of violence that would suit older kids especially at the end. and i got kind of bored in the middle where he was just learning about his dragon and stuff. But i still kept watching it and it was worth it especially at the end there was a lot of action (i like action) But overall a pretty good movie.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written byOldBob13 July 18, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Awful fantasy movie that kids won't even enjoy; stick with the book

Fantasy movies are always trying to top each other with bigger special effects, a larger production budget, and more of a wow factor. Lord of the Rings did it great. Harry Potter, not so much. Twilight not at all. And then there's Eragon. Like all those other movies I mentioned, it's based on a book(s). And it falls face-flat. It tells the story of the titular teen boy who finds a dragon egg and raises the dragon as his own. OK, so can't we just stick with the book? The storyline isn't any different, and you'll have a better time reading for half the day than watch this garbage. I really can't stand big budget stinkers. Eragon is just one of countless numbers of big money-makers that have fallen flat. Stale acting, poor directing, and a script written by a 16 year-old? Amatuerish, to say the least. And at the end, this flick hints at a sequel. So far we have been spared, but I have a feeling it's on the way. Content issues range from scary violence to non-epic battle scenes. It's appropriate for kids who read the book, but they will probably hate this movie anyway. F
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great role models
Kid, 10 years old July 15, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
an amazing drangon ride blood but worth it some kissind and so scary people lods of stabing shoting cuting and long and sad deaths but shod have been PG-13 some crazy people made the rateing
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 12 year old Written bysweetiemarch July 8, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Mediocre With Too Many Facts Cut Out!

Our entire family thought it was okay, I think that they cut out WAY too much of the book and made up a lot of the facts! Like Saphira just doesn't disappear into the clouds and come back half grown! I mean it just became unrealistic! My daughter liked it when she was about 7, but when she watched again she thought it wasn't as great and with each watch she thought it was worse and worse! If you have absolutely nothing to watch and you are bored out of your mind you can watch this movie, but do not buy it! :D
Teen, 15 years old Written byLinkin Park vs.... June 27, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Read the books first

I am sorry but compared to the book this movie was awful.... the non positive messages in this movie is the idea of wrecking one of the best stories of all time

Pages