All member reviews for Extraordinary Measures

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kid, 11 years old July 14, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

=)

oh, wow! i just watched it, and it was awsome! i think it should've been pg-13 for the language, but besides that it was great! the ending made me cry!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 15 year old Written byAsfmlycnr January 31, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Inspiring

This is an excellent movie. It shows how love and determination can be driving forces behind achievement of what can seem like impossible goals.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 14 years old Written byJadenp February 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I cannot believe this movie is PG... should have been at LEAST PG-13. STRONG language throughout entire movie! uses of sh-- ever couple minutes!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byLittle movie freak June 2, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

tru story is a good movie not an extraordinary movie

(Extraordinary Measures)is a good movie that is yet not an extraordinary movie. Although like Extraordinary Measures does seem like a tear jerking true story that has no iffy content,but it (surprisingly) does. Extraordinary Measures's the plot may be confusing for younger tweens ages 9 and under,and some the scenes in the movie may be hard to follow for ages 11 - 12 (maybe 13 yr olds too), In Extraordinary Measures there is some really strong language that is sometimes used in anger.I think that Extraordinary Measures is iffy for tweens 10 - 12 years old, and ON for tweens ages 12 1/2 - 13 years old. I give Extraordinary Measures an A -.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old August 1, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Love It There is a couple of parts but if some kids close there eyes it's all right. But if you don't understand much science you won't understand it But i Loved it
Adult Written byjoshua martinez May 30, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

14 and up.

extraordinary measures is a drama and emotional movie that deals with heavy themes such as medical problems,children's life-threatening genetic disease,consequently, several scenes depict sick kids who are near death,and their inconsolable parents that maybe too much for your young kids this movie is best for older teens although the movie does not have violence but it shows very disturbing images of very sick hospitalized children there's no sex but it shows john and Aileen kiss and they make out on a couch half-dressed after she makes a seductive suggestion about helping him take off his clothes there's also some strong language used and also Adults that drink socially in a bar and at dinner the message is about a family fighting for their children.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bycross_breed February 13, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

An Unentertaining but Emotional Feature

This movie has very little entertainment value as a film. I'm sure the book "The Cure" would probably be more interesting, but as far as the movie goes, the only real selling point is the acting. When you boil it down, the main theme of the movie is about venture capitalism, which is not exciting. As far as content goes, the movie is pretty mild. A married couple have implied offscreen sex and you see the woman in a bra. The language includes fairly liberal usage of sh*t and g*dd*mn, but no f**ks or anything worse. Overall its a boring feature, but I'd rather watch this than a meaningless frag-fest like Transformers 2 or GI Joe.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byreed Carson January 9, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

No way pg. PG-13

A positive film but not for young ones. To much sex, s*** uses, and way to mature to be a PG movie. Be warned, parents and young readers, this is a sad, twisted, mature, adultlike film. A great film though, GREAT.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old June 13, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
dr robert stonehill changed someone's life by research from something so bad and stuff as complicated as that
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 8 years old March 15, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
it's sad it's a tear jerker and it's not so good
Adult Written byKrbbup May 20, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Nice Story, but Intense

This movie was intense for the longest time. My brother and I wanted to see it because of Harrison Ford mostly, however his character was unlike the ones I have seen him play before. There were several cuss words and many occasions of the Lord's Name being taken in vain. It deals with a very serious story line which would be upsetting to young children. However, minus those aspects, it was a nice message about a family fighting for their children. God is the ultimate Healer should have been the main message. It was a very interesting and nice story though. The two main children make it, which is awesome!! Thx and may GOD bless<><
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byTacoBall March 6, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Should have been rated PG-13

There was a feeling of triumph in this movie as the dying children were able to be cured by the hard work of the desperate father and scientists, but other than that, teens and tweens will probably find it boring. My 10-year-old sister just wanted to "see more of the kids" in this movie, she didn't really care about everything else. Also, don't be fooled by the PG rating--the language should definitely have earned a stronger rating, and it is not a kids' story.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages