All member reviews for Fantastic Four: Rise of the Silver Surfer

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 26 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

pretty good

i enjoyed the dodge humor
Teen, 13 years old Written bynovablast101 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Awesome movie, go see it.

this movie is awesome, it's way better than the first one. some language in the movie but nothing to harsh, there is the scene where Johnny asks Ben how he and his girlfriend "you know". Other things that commonsense lists are okay for kids my age, since we already know about this stuff. I do feel that it could've gotten a PG-13 rating, but PG is cool too. Do not recommend for younger kids unless you do what PG rating suggests (cover ears, eyes, what not). Take your kids to go see this movie, it's awesome, it's way better than the first one, you'll have an awesome time.
Kid, 11 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Ehh

I think that this sequel is o.k. but the put to much stuff about 'you know' in it.
Teen, 13 years old Written byperfectionist December 19, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Okay sequel.

This movie was kind of stupid. If they wanted to make a good super hero movie they would make it for adults because they are the ones who actually read the comic books.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byVoracious Reader March 8, 2009
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Are You Kidding Me?

9+? It basically shows Jessica Alba naked!!! (fumes)
Kid, 12 years old July 25, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
this is a innapropriate movie, and i dont have the faintest idea how its pg. theres comic violence (superheros vs villans), real violence images of guns, peril(plane about to crash and kill people), scary images(the rock guy) disturbing images(a planet blowing up), threats (ill kill you)language (a bit more than mild), alchohol (lots), and consumerism (dell) in movie and out of the movie (fan 4 backpacks)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byImran April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Teen, 16 years old Written byladiesman217 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Fun super hero movie

it was a fun movie good one for most kids 10 and up if not yonger. It wasn't bad but it could have been PG-13
Teen, 13 years old Written byrobinrunner March 26, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A "fantastic movie that can proudly shatter the fact that sequels aren't as good as the origanal

You meet up with the foursome from the first fantastic four as two of the groups members, Mr. Fantastic and The Invisible Girl, have to put thier wedding on hold because of a silver alien trying to destroy Earth so he can save his own world. I noted while whatching this that thier is a lot of drinking in this movie. No one gets intoxicated or anything and little kid's probabley won't even notice. The other bad thing is when Reed Richards goes behind his fiances back to go to his wild bachlor party. There, he dances with girls who aren't his future wife. A few other things are added like when johnny (the human torch) asks the Thing how he and his girlfriend "do it" without getting cought in a rock slide.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old February 1, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Worse than prequel in both content and story

This stupid movie does NOT live up to its prequel at all. I don't know where Common Sense came up with that. Also, I don't know how it got a PG rating. There's lots of sexual innuendo, some of it fairly inappropriate. Then there's the violence, which includes a grotesque scene where a man is hit by a jolt of energy and split into pieces, left hovering in the air. Then there's a lot of swearing, some drinking, and intended advertising. It is worse than its prequel in both content and story.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymkalv February 2, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Better!

This movie is better than the first. Also, Silver Surfer appears. Great film!
Teen, 14 years old Written bybananabrain04 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old August 6, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

FANTASTIC 4: RISE OF THE SILVER SURFER

Good action-packed sequel should be rated PG-13.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byski123 April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Better than first. Summer Fun.

This was much better than the first and definitely worth seeing. It is PG rather than the first movie's PG-13 movie and is probably ok for younger kids. There are a few sexual situations and jokes but they are mostly harmless. No blood. No language other than "crap". Overall a fun movie.
Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

An okay movie

Not very violent. There isn't to much swear words either, and there isn't any type of sex situations at all. Some little kids might be scared sometimes but people my age will just like it if they liked the first one.
Teen, 17 years old Written byrobots in disguise April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

infinitely better than the first one

I believe this movie has more cussing than any other PG movie ever. I'm shocked it wasn't PG-13. I can't figure out how the director pulled that one off. If you don't mind your kids listen to some cussing(which they probably hear at school anyway) then this movie is pretty good
Teen, 13 years old Written byBubbajean April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Pretty good.

This one is better than the first.
Kid, 12 years old May 27, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Awesome Movie!

I have seen this movie before and i think that it is ok. There is some drinking, cursing and violence but otherwise it is a fine movie.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages