All member reviews for Father of the Bride

Common Sense Media says

Steve Martin's sweet-natured wedding weepy.

Users say

(out of 23 reviews)
age 9+
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old October 23, 2009

Great for tweens and teens!

LOVE IT! Not for under 11, but older will love it!I I know i did!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 17 years old Written bysarah418 April 9, 2008
Parent of a 12 year old Written byTsion April 9, 2008

Great, Fun, Family Night Entertainment!

I hadn't seen FATHER OF THE BRIDE before and decided to give it a try. I was impressed. The movie follows George Banks, the average father who has to deal with his daughter Annie, who suddenly returns from studies in Rome with the news that she's marrying. The groom is perfect, the in-laws kind, and the wedding consultant Franc (a HILAROIUS Martin Short) is great, so what's there to deal with? George (Steve Martin) and his wife Nina (Diane Keaton) have to deal with letting their daughter go. And since it's Steve Martin we're talking about, we know we're in for some laughs along the way. Sex is minor, with one innuendo. When Annie and the groom Brian go for a drive, George accidentally belts "don't forget to fasten your condom" instead of seatbelt. Violence consists of some comic pratfalls, and there is no language. This is great family entertainment. There is something in it for everybody. Highly recommended.
Adult Written bypattic April 9, 2008

funny for older kids

younger kids might not get the humor. there are two scenes that made me uncomfortable in the same 5 minutes. father says"don't forget to wear a condom" and then mother and father discuss how " we did it in every room of my parents house"
Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byKelly_P October 8, 2009

Great mom & daughter movie for tweens on up

Great movie! I can't believe I haven't watched this with my 11 year old daughter yet. The main character is a great role model as a terrific big sister, smart independent daughter and very mature young woman. Only one sexual innuendo--George slips and says "be sure to fasten your condoms" as they head out for a date. Watching this is on my to-do list for this weekend.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bycoloradorich May 18, 2013

Steve Martin is absolutely hilarious as the over-anxious dad; I'd go 12 and up on this one.

CSM's review missed the fact that there are several sexual references: the parents talk about how 'we did it in every room of your parent's house when we were younger', there's a condom gag reference, and two scenes of deep kissing to be aware of.
Teen, 17 years old Written byMsMovies May 9, 2013

Sex: 3/10 - Violence 1/10 - Language 1/10 - Drinking 1/10

Another great movie for everybody! It had some mild things in it, but nothing that older kids and tweens cannot see. The sex was very mild; there were o actual sex scenes, just a few sexual lines and some kissing. *The worst and most intense part is when Steve accidentally tells his daughter to fasten her condom, meaning to say seatbelt. *In one scene, Brian and Annie kiss with passion for about ten seconds, but this is all that happens. This scene is played for laughs. *There is some mind kissing between Brian and Annie at the wedding and some kissing between Steve and Diane. *There is a scene where Brian gives Annie a blender as a wedding gift. Annie over reacts and thinks that it mean something sexual, but this is not what it means. -- There is not really any violence in this film. The absolute worst thing that happens is in a scene where two dogs growl and chase Steve into a pool, but they do not harm him or bite him. -- There is some mild language, but no sh*ts or b*tches. Very clean even for a PG rated movie. There are some moments when people say "Oh my God" and they yell at each other, but no actual swears. -- The drinking in this film is very mild. *A man takes his son in law out to a bar just to talk with him. *People drink alchohal in a few scenes. (NOTE: all the drinking in this film is done in a friendly way)
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old June 30, 2016

Phew!!!! Very close!

Very good movie only there is a tiny tiny scene where the dad tells the boy something referring to "the talk" when he meant to say fasten your seatbelt. Love it love it love it. Luckily my little brother had his headphones on at that part. Definitely recommend. The boy's parents drink some alcohol in one bit but it's fine. Hope this review helped you decide.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 12 years old February 18, 2016
Good and interesting movie. With a fun and hectic storyline and some bits that will make you laugh. In terms of content there is a lot of kissing and sex talk and at one point the main character says, "Make sure you fasten your c**dom!" out loud, something that little kids may not understand,
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 23, 2015

Great Funny Movie

Funny and cool, but you need to be old-ish to understand.
Adult Written byaidans1 March 20, 2015

Great Steve Martin film he has done it again

In this movie there is one scene were Brian and George go to a bar but nobody gets drunk they barley are shown drinking and one scene were Brian and Annie are shown making out for a couple of seconds
Kid, 9 years old September 5, 2011

romance

weird
What other families should know
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bysillywiz May 14, 2011

Family Movie

Graet movie. Great, Emphazises on growing up and getting married and letting your children go, and move on.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written bystripesanddots May 14, 2011
I LOVE this movie! It's so cute and funny. There are a few iffy lines. I think it's okay for 11+.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old October 5, 2009

perfect for all ages

I LOVE this movie!!!!! :) it is the best movie ever has great father daughter stuff! it reminds me of me and my dad except when i get married i will miss my family and my parents!!!! This was funny,cute, and sooooo sweet!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 2, 10, and 14 year old Written bypharesml October 2, 2009

Adorable family movie...

My daughters love it and want to watch it all the time! (I want the soundtrack from this!) The father/daughter relationship is so sweet! A teensy bit iffy; one sexual innuendo that I can remember.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 11 years old September 27, 2009

Perfect for 10+ or with an older sibling

I loved this movie. It's really funny and sweet. It's a very good movie!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
Teen, 15 years old Written byangze9211 April 9, 2008
Adult Written bylorif April 9, 2008

Pages