All member reviews for Fiddler on the Roof

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Epic musical story of Jews facing religious persecution.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 16 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Best Musical of All Time

Absolutely the best musical ever written! The songs are unbelievable, the messages and morals are inspiring and thought-provovking, and there's even a touch of humor. An instant classic.
Teen, 15 years old Written byWayward Girl September 6, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

GREAT film

This is such a powerful and amazing movie. It rocks. It has many inspiring messages in it, it has catchy songs, and it's even kind of funny. It's great. Just great. You can watch it, no problem, from the day you are born, however I wouldn't recommend it. Kids below at least the age of 10 will get bored and be confused the entire time. Wait until they mature and can fully appreciate it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old July 19, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

A Must-see for ages 9+!

This is a funny, joyful musical about a family of Jews who have 5 daughters 3 are old enough to get married. There is lots of traditional dancing, there is a part were the father gets drunk but it's not to,to bad. There are also some parts were the Russians invade the city and the Jews are forced to leave. Children under 8 may not understand it or may get scared. There is NO suffering or gruesome parts were you have to close your eyes. There is a lot of humor, dancing and there are tons of songs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bywhateverfloats September 14, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written bytommysportsgirl April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

simply fantastic

The best musical movie ever made!! The soundtrack is amazing!
Kid, 9 years old September 15, 2013
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

this is good!!!!!!!!

A good film to watch with your family
Kid, 11 years old May 2, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

best movie ever!

this is a great movie but little ones might get a little bored.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byCommonSenseChristian December 31, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Climb on Up--Just Watch for some Slippery Shingles

Another gem of musical film, "Fiddler" is my second favorite. Tevye's struggle to balance tradition with wanting to let their daughters follow their hearts is a good topic for family discussion, as are the issues raised by the deep faith, and treatment of, the Jews. (This is notable in part because one character respects his Jewish neighbors, yet is pressured into persecuting them). Again, the song and dance numbers will bring you great delight, and the overarching message of faith and family in the face of adversity will, too. I recommend this for older children only, for several reasons. Length is an issue; know who is and isn't mature enough to sit through it. Moreover, younger kids may be confused at the social issues and traditions raised, and frightened by some scenes. (These include the violence at Tzeitel's wedding, a brief scene of revolutionaries being arrested, and the scary-for-youngsters Fruma Sarah scene). Also, parents will need to discuss Tevye's reaction to Chava's interfaith marriage. Even if your personal faith doesn't condone marriage outside its confines, please stress to young viewers that disowning a child for this or any reason--and moreover, in effect, saying that child is dead, is not acceptable. You may also need to discuss the slur "Christ-killers" with some kids. One scene features drinking and should be pointed out as negative as well. With this in mind, enjoy, and la chaim.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 and 15 year old Written byGypsy101 December 20, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Discretion advised but a wonderful film

I have been watching this film for as long as I can remember, and I'm 38 now. As a child, all I really remember are the songs, which are catchy and very enjoyable. Now I'm older I of course understand the political messages, the religious intolerance and the various other messages. Living in the 21st century it's hard to imagine it being a big deal to choose ones own husband, or to marry someone of another faith, but I feel it's important to educate children on the past, present and future. Younger children won't understand much but will appreciate the songs and music. Older children can join discussions about the topics listed in the main review. Some drinking, mainly in celebration, and implied violence rather than actual.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written byJirah96 August 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Where can I download it?

I Like it but... the download .. where can I download it???
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old January 12, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

rated e for every one

Tevy is a old fashioned man in a changing world. good music.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bylil panda bear January 6, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

omg!!!!!

i love this movie!!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymoviemogul April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

Classic movie-making at its peak

Kid, 10 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

A touching, wonderful movie!

This movie is touching at times, joyful at others, and even sometimes sad. It's a wonderful movie, that you can't stop watching. Alchohol and violence are a small issue, but besides that this is a must-see movie.
Teen, 15 years old Written byDVS Cable Polenin April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

good movie this is

This movie is pretty good i thought. its suitable for all ages however a young kid might find it a little boring. its long but enjoyable. the music is great
Kid, 12 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

GREAT MOVIE!!!!!!

This movie shows Jewish life and family. It shows how family goes beyond tradition. It has a lot of drinking and some violence from the Russians, and is very sad. It shows how matchmakers choose daughters to some random man, and how they only want who they love. I loved this movie. Under 8 might not know what's going on.